We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Covington
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were only here for a short stay after a concert in Aug 2012 but it was cute and clean. Nothing really special other than the service at the first desk was awesome and the lobby was really cute with coffee from Starbucks I believe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
28
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I'll start first with the good. Beautiful and modern lobby. Very clean pool and public areas. We had breakfast and dinner at The Bistro which had a large selection (including healthy food). The Bistro also included a bar. The prices were reasonable and you can take all food to go. I noticed most guests ate breakfast at The Bistro. I'm wondering if all Courtyards will eventually turn their "free breakfasts" into a Bistro of $. Maybe their way of getting away from the free breakfasts. At any rate, now there is an option for lunch and dinner as well. Staff was friendly! We were in town for a football game. Very convenient to the stadium. For $1, you can catch the trolly out font of the hotel and the trolly drops you off at the stadium. Leave your car parked for free at the hotel!

Now, onto the rooms: if only they were as modernized as the lobby. The rooms felt like what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. The mattress was as HARD as nails. I think I would have slept more comfortably on the floor (if I wasn't already sleeping on the railroad tracks!)

Unfortunately, we were on the 9th floor at the farthest corner right next to the train tracks. ALL NIGHT LONG (and I mean at least twice an hour) a train would roll through. Between the mattress and the trains.... I wouldn't stay here again if in town. I'm not sure, which came first, the hotel or the tracks.... If they build the hotel there aft the tracks - what an awful decision.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Living in central Ohio, I often travel to Cincinnati to attend sporting events and stay over night. I usually stay somewhere on the Ohio side, but my wife and I decided to stay in Covington on a recent trip to a Reds game. We did not have reservations anywhere, and just parked our car and started walking from hotel to hotel to check and room rates and availability. None of the "nice" hotels would offer us a room on a Wednesday night for less than $200.00 even with AARP or AAA discounts. We walked in to this beautiful Marriott and were greeted by Caitlin B. at the front desk. She treated us like we were her top corporate customers, got us a beautiful room overlooking the river, with a balcony, at a great AAA rate, and called my cell when our room was ready. This is by far and away the best hotel in the Cincy/Covington area, and just a short walk across the bridge to any venue in Cincy!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

At 1am, I woke up to a huge cockroach crawling across my bed. I was on the 9th floor. I did not expect this as the room appeared to be clean when I arrived. The staff switched me to a different room and I was given a room on the 7th floor. The staff was very friendly and nice, but that does not excuse the fact that I saw a cockroach in my bed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at this property for two nights. My room was on the top floor (9th), and there were 4 or 5 rooms between me and the elevator, but there was constant noise. I am a pretty heavy sleeper normally, but I didn't sleep at all my first night. AT ALL. The next day when I returned from working in Cincinnati all day, I mentioned this to the front desk clerk who told me "we get a lot of complaints on the 9th floor from the elevator motor being up there". I told him I got no sleep, and he moved me to the 7th floor, which was much quieter. I kind of thought he'd do a little something- maybe offer me some points, or a voucher for the convenience store- anything... No offer was attempted. This was surprising to me, as most Marriotts seem to pride themselves on providing excellent service. Regardless- the 7th floor was much quieter, and I did get a good sleep in.

The neighborhood is somewhat seedy- it's all fast food joints and liquor stores around the hotel. Easy to get to Cincy, though.

Room Tip: Avoid the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNVILLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were going to the Cincinnati Oktoberfest on relatively short notice, and found this nice option directly across the Ohio river. The rate was considerably less, and the distance was definitely walkable, and a shuttle (for $1 a ride) was available right outside the entrance on a 15 minute cycle. We stayed 3 nights and weren't bothered by the railroad noise. The whirlpool bath is really wonderful! It has two speeds, and at high speed it feels great! A breakfast is available, but boosts the cost of the room by $20. Based on the level of accommodations and compared to other similar facilities I've visited, I believe this breakfast should be included with no extra cost.

Room Tip: If available, request a room with a river view. While we were there, the mornings were very cool, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I just spent the weekend at this Courtyard by Marriott. It was a great value. The hotel is very quiet, the beds were very comfortable. It is very close to Cinncinati and all the attractions there. The on and off ramps for the highway are about 3 blocks away. The staff was very helpful and i would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cincinnati Covington Hotel Covington
Courtyard By Marriott Cincinnati Covington Hotel
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
Courtyard Covington
Covington Courtyard
Covington Marriott
Address: 500 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Cincinnati Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.