We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Crescent Avenue, 3rd & Crescent, Covington, KY 41011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Columbus, United States
1 review
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great location! I brought my son to the Aquarium and the hotel is just 5 min drive from it. My son enjoyed the hotel pool. But I thought the smell of chlorine was overwhelming. You get used to it after 10 min and a glass of wine though. :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am so glad you and your son had a good time and enjoyed the Aquarium too. I really enjoyed your comment on the glass of wine :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    120
    52
    25
    12
See reviews for
128
56
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
xenia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was a nice place to stay. We would go back! The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty. The staff was knowledgable and friendly. The location was perfect, right across the river from downtown Cincinnati.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
WOW-thank you for the wonderful review! I appreciate the very kind comments on our hotel and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

breakfast was good, but had late check-in. rooms just seemed a little dirty/dated. definately not as great as some other reviews were. I'd rate it a 2. not close to anything really. have to drive everywhere

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I apologize the location was not convenient for you, we do have a city trolley that runs to Cincinnati/Newport for $1 each way and is 2 blocks to stop. Our property is 16 years old and we try to stay up on renovations, but I realize a new Hampton shows nicer than our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Tried to check in at 3pm; had to wait 55 minutes for a room to be cleaned. Staff was unattentive and did not care....spent a lot of their times on their Iphones rather than manage the situation at hand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I apologize you had to wait for check in and I agree it is unacceptable, I have also reimbursed your HHonors awards points used for this stay. I have discussed with my management team too, so we can avoid for future guests. It was a day when many guests requested late check outs and guest coming in were asking for early check ins and housekeeping was having a hard time keeping up the pace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The bedding is normally great at Hamptons, but this one had terrible blankets. They were scratchy and felt like sandpaper. Hopefully no one uses the hide a bed that needs to use the blanket. I did not open the bed but slept on the couch part. Very comfortable, but again, the blankets were terrible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review! I apologize for the blanket, it sounds like it was washed too many times and should have been discarded (it now has:) Thank you for letting me know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellent room quality, especially for the price range. Nice, clean pool and fitness area though both were under-sized. Good complimentary breakfast that will not leave you hungry though may be tough to find seating. My only complaint was the proximity of a few seedy liquor stores to the hotel, one practically in the parking lot and the other across the street. Depending on your point of view this is either bad or good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review - I am glad you had fun over your weekend get-a-away! I agree, the liquor store may be convenient for some guests and any eyesore for others :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Located right off of the interstate, this hotel was exactly what we wanted. A nice, quiet place to rest and eat a nice breakfast while in the Cincinnati/Newport area. The worst part of the entire stay was getting in and out of the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for great review! I am glad you enjoyed yourself, sorry about the heavy traffic pulling in and out. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)

Address: 200 Crescent Avenue, 3rd & Crescent, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront … situated along the scenic Ohio river near all the Cincinnati action and just minutes from the new Horseshoe Casino and always popular Newport on the Levee Entertainment District. Hampton Inn Cincinnati- Riverfront is within walking distance of many restaurants and a tourist favorite - MainStrasse Village; Minutes from two (2) major Convention Centers Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront is also the perfect location when visiting for Cincinnati Bengals’ and Reds’, BB Riverboats, The Banks Entertainment District, Cincinnati Zoo, Creation Museum, horse racing, multiple casinos,and all the most popular wedding venues in town. Start your day at the Hampton Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront with the most important meal — breakfast. All guestrooms now include a refrigerator and microwave, free internet access (throughout the hotel!) and 37'flat screen TV with expanded channels. We have a fitness room and indoor pool for you health and enjoyment. For business or pleasure visit us soon and often at the beautifully renovated Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) Hotel Covington
Hampton Inn Covington
Covington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.