We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get a way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   668 West Fifth Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Dayton Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Weekend get a way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Radisson in Covington the weekend of 2/1-2/3. We booked a 12th floor suite for a celebration get away. We biked by phone. When I checked online to reconfirm later in the week there was no record of the reservation, bit I was able to reconfirm by phone. The rate I saw on line was not the rate originally offered on line. They did match that rate.

Check in was efficient and the young ladies working the counter were friendly and efficient. Underground parking in the winter was a nice option. The room was clean and ok. It is starting to show some signs of age but still is fine. The freezer compartment in the mini fridge needed to be deiced. The wood work and French doors to the bedroom are a nice touch. We did not know till the last morning that the whirlpool tube would take hours to drain. Since we were leaving we did not care enough to report it. There is road noise due to the interstate but this was not an issue for us. We always travel with foam ear plugs because you never know. The Sleep member beds did not work. They are old and need to be replaced.

Room service for dinner- we were told 20 minutes but it took 45. The food quality was excellent. A 20% gratuity is tacked on to the order. Room service for breakfast. We were told 20 minutes but it only took 10. I ordered a 3 egg owlet. It seemed like it was at least 4. Again, the food quality was excellent.

The covered heated pool and hot tub were nice touches.

Overall I would rate the hotel jut under 4 stars. I would recommend for a weekend getaway or for a place to stay while seeing the Newport attractions.

Room Tip: The suites are road side and a bit noisy 9road traffic). If you want river view it will need to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    127
    103
    66
    49
See reviews for
116
117
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Sleep number beds are amazing as well as balcony access for every room I stayed in. Jasmyn and Brady at the front desk were extremely friendly and more than willing to help with anything I needed. This is not my first stay but it is my first review, and I must say it was long overdue. This place definitely deserves the recognition!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel ahs all the amenities to make it a 3 star hotel, but it just seems to come up short. That being said, for the right rate I will stay here again.

The hotel is older and is showing its age. The hotel is round and that is neat for the kids. The rooms are also older and dont appear to have been updated anytime recently. Yes, there is road noise, but I dont like it to be completely silent, so this didnt bother me. The beds were not very comfortable and the pillows were small and went very flat very fast. They advertise sleep number beds, but I didnt see a controller to be able to change the setting.

The bathtub did not drain well during a shower, so you had several inches of water at your feet when your done. The faucet did not seem the correct size, so you bang your knuckles when trying wash your hands.

The pool and hot tub were nice and the area was kept up pretty well. The staff was friendly. They really seem to be just patching things until the hotel falls apart. if you get a great rate through hotwire or priceline, it is worth it. But I wouldnt pay rack rates.The area is a little iffy, but its mostly rednecks, so it is more of an appearance issue than a safety issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice room, I had a king which was very roomy with a great view of downtown Cincy and the river. I also at in the restaurant downstairs and had a GREAT hamburger. I heard that the freeway facing rooms are noisy, but mine faced the river and was very quiet. Love the balcony. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you recall, he was unfamiliar with what a bed was, or simply preferred to sleep on the floor. He had no interest in using the bed in the fancy hotel suite. After a night on these crappy SleepNumber beds, you would also prefer the floor. I stayed here a few years ago on business and those beds weren't very good then. They are absolutely worthless now. Allegedly the hotel has plans to get rid of them and has replaced them in some rooms. Whatever plan they have for getting rid of these beds needs to be sped up RIGHT NOW!! The noise from the interstate was pretty loud as well. This is an older property, so maybe the cracks and gaps in doors, windows etc have gotten bigger. Nonetheless, having been there for a while means they have to be well aware that a lot of effort is needed to keep that noise out of the room. The only way to drown out the traffic noise was to turn up the room fan. Hey, guess what?? More noise!! But at least that was steady and predictable. The rest of the room was fine - clean and neat, but furnishings, doors and interior were definitely worn. Far, FAR better value for your money can probably be had at one of the major chains a few blocks north of here. Price will be comparable or cheaper, property will be decades newer, furnishings will be in better order (like a bed that can be slept in!) and you will get the usual free breakfast offered at those places. Hmmm... better surroundings, quieter, free meal, comfortable bed AND it's cheaper?? Decisions, decisions, decisions...The only reason we even stayed at this Radisson was because of a group event being held there. Unless I know that things are vastly improved, there won't be another visit for us. And if I was bringing a group here (it is a quasi-business class hotel) that had any clue at all about what a business-class hotel should be like, I would very quickly be out of the group event planning/meeting planning business.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side (it's a round building) which faces I-75. Pick one on the east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel sits between two very busy expressways and there was a lot of outside noise from the roads. We thought that there would have been better sound proofing on the sliding door to the balcony. The room was clean but nothing about it was very impressive. We were on the 12th floor and there were no vending machines on that flooor. Not really worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel shows recent renovations which markedly improved the room's feel. Check in occurred smoothly and I was impressed with the staff's friendly demeanor. Parking was free and close to the hotel entrance. With the interstate so closed the sound of traffic proved heavy. We stayed on 13th Floor and really enjoyed the view. What set this hotel apart from others nearby proved to be the 360 Restaurant located on the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront

Address: 668 West Fifth Street, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cincinnati Riverfront
Radisson Hotel Covington
Radisson Covington
Covington Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.