We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falls short of its 3 star rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   668 West Fifth Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Covington
Noblesville, IN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Falls short of its 3 star rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel ahs all the amenities to make it a 3 star hotel, but it just seems to come up short. That being said, for the right rate I will stay here again.

The hotel is older and is showing its age. The hotel is round and that is neat for the kids. The rooms are also older and dont appear to have been updated anytime recently. Yes, there is road noise, but I dont like it to be completely silent, so this didnt bother me. The beds were not very comfortable and the pillows were small and went very flat very fast. They advertise sleep number beds, but I didnt see a controller to be able to change the setting.

The bathtub did not drain well during a shower, so you had several inches of water at your feet when your done. The faucet did not seem the correct size, so you bang your knuckles when trying wash your hands.

The pool and hot tub were nice and the area was kept up pretty well. The staff was friendly. They really seem to be just patching things until the hotel falls apart. if you get a great rate through hotwire or priceline, it is worth it. But I wouldnt pay rack rates.The area is a little iffy, but its mostly rednecks, so it is more of an appearance issue than a safety issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    91
    81
    44
    39
See reviews for
80
83
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice room, I had a king which was very roomy with a great view of downtown Cincy and the river. I also at in the restaurant downstairs and had a GREAT hamburger. I heard that the freeway facing rooms are noisy, but mine faced the river and was very quiet. Love the balcony. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you recall, he was unfamiliar with what a bed was, or simply preferred to sleep on the floor. He had no interest in using the bed in the fancy hotel suite. After a night on these crappy SleepNumber beds, you would also prefer the floor. I stayed here a few years ago on business and those beds weren't very good then. They are absolutely worthless now. Allegedly the hotel has plans to get rid of them and has replaced them in some rooms. Whatever plan they have for getting rid of these beds needs to be sped up RIGHT NOW!! The noise from the interstate was pretty loud as well. This is an older property, so maybe the cracks and gaps in doors, windows etc have gotten bigger. Nonetheless, having been there for a while means they have to be well aware that a lot of effort is needed to keep that noise out of the room. The only way to drown out the traffic noise was to turn up the room fan. Hey, guess what?? More noise!! But at least that was steady and predictable. The rest of the room was fine - clean and neat, but furnishings, doors and interior were definitely worn. Far, FAR better value for your money can probably be had at one of the major chains a few blocks north of here. Price will be comparable or cheaper, property will be decades newer, furnishings will be in better order (like a bed that can be slept in!) and you will get the usual free breakfast offered at those places. Hmmm... better surroundings, quieter, free meal, comfortable bed AND it's cheaper?? Decisions, decisions, decisions...The only reason we even stayed at this Radisson was because of a group event being held there. Unless I know that things are vastly improved, there won't be another visit for us. And if I was bringing a group here (it is a quasi-business class hotel) that had any clue at all about what a business-class hotel should be like, I would very quickly be out of the group event planning/meeting planning business.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side (it's a round building) which faces I-75. Pick one on the east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel sits between two very busy expressways and there was a lot of outside noise from the roads. We thought that there would have been better sound proofing on the sliding door to the balcony. The room was clean but nothing about it was very impressive. We were on the 12th floor and there were no vending machines on that flooor. Not really worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel shows recent renovations which markedly improved the room's feel. Check in occurred smoothly and I was impressed with the staff's friendly demeanor. Parking was free and close to the hotel entrance. With the interstate so closed the sound of traffic proved heavy. We stayed on 13th Floor and really enjoyed the view. What set this hotel apart from others nearby proved to be the 360 Restaurant located on the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We made reservations out of state, online through hotels.com. Promised two rooms that joined together. Upon arrival, it was all different. Rooms were initially going to be on different floors according to the front desk, but after inquiring about what we were promised, got two rooms on the same floor, not adjoining. That was fine. We paid a premium price and the room had NO hairdryer and the towel rack kept falling off the wall. The arrangement of the bathroom and vanity made it difficult for more than one person at a time to get ready. The rooms were small and had been somewhat renovated. Bright teal in the vanity area. The carpet was nasty...had not been shampooed for quite some time...had an odor to it. We were very disappointed in what we got for the price we paid. Also, it is NOT on the river front but you can see the river. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Room was on 10th floor. It was quiet. Would not recommend, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for the problems that you had during your stay. These are not typical comments that we here from guest and I assure you we will work hard to make sure we are providing the best service possible. I have shared your comments with our management team here at the hotel, and I thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is round so the room is sort of pie shaped. Although there are double pane doors and storm door on the balcony, the rooms facing the freeway will have road noise. +/- The room air conditioner/heater drowns out the road noise.

The room I was in had a sleep number bed.

There are some good restaurants about 3 blocks away.

The hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport and their van runs every half hour.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the freeway will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront

Address: 668 West Fifth Street, Covington, KY 41011
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cincinnati Riverfront
Radisson Hotel Covington
Radisson Covington
Covington Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.