We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, easy in, easy out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Covington
Tijeras, New Mexico
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great location, easy in, easy out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location across the river from downtown Cincinnati. Good selection of food nearby.

Friendly staff and clean rooms along with a good rate makes for a great stay! It seems like an older hotel but has been kept up well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    93
    38
    12
    11
See reviews for
33
46
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SE USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Courtyard, Embassy, Marriot all available in the area that are newer facilities. This HI is like many HI's ................ very old. I will say it is clean........... but just over all old. Skyline Chili and decent pizza place (Riverfront Pizza) right across the street, The Hotel says riverfront.......... which usually means located with a view or on a river............. but as you can see from the picture......... there river bank is viewable............but not the river. The Marriot and the Embassy are actually on the river. Just a few blocks from Main Street which has many nice places to drink and eat.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be the same size at this facility. Rooms on the riverside will have no road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff here are great and very helpful. The Greenery Restaurant/Bar on-site has a limited lunch/dinner menu but their breakfast buffet is very good.

I have stayed here multiple times and always have a great experience.

I didn't rate the spa because it was not open during this stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any where I please
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff was very helpful and nice. Nice room but bed linen was soiled, contacted maids and received clean bed linens immediately. Some restaurants in walking distance if you want fast food. Overall good stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Supriyah S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the bed linen upon your check-in. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fletcher
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I saw one review about the "sketchy" location but this is a big city. If you have ever stayed in NYC every hotel is in a sketchy location. If convenience and a huge variety of top notch eateries doesn't out way being savvy enough to walk around in a Big City, then don't stay here, stay south of town 10-15 miles in suburbia and enjoy your rush hour drive in and out of the city each day. I really enjoyed being able to get out and walk to world famous restaurants all within a few blocks, oh and yes I was not accosted nor even looked at crossly. I was able to eat at Skyline Chili, Bob,s Big Boy, White Castle, and many more all within walking distance. The staff are very helpful and nice and if you can get a top floor room facing north then you are high enough to see the river and downtown CVG skyline. If you wish to stay in and eat, the food is very tasty in house. Plenty of well lit parking and a nice stay. I really enjoyed the neighborhood myself, but as I have been to much much worse ares like NYC and DC I can handle it, this is a walk in the park compared to many large cities, oh and you can head down the river and Walk in the Park:)

Room Tip: Backside faces river but you have to be high up to see over levee
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I just wanted to say that this place is great and the staff is great! I had to stay there for 2 months for training for my job! Everyone there was very nice and made me feel special! I will stay there anytime I am in the area for an overnight trip! Bev the bartender is awesome!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire as one of the top secret deals. I was excited to get a riverfront hotel, but upon arriving we realized what a sketchy part of town it was in (there were two police officers across the street with someone when we got back from the concert we were seeing.) I've stayed in much nicer hotels or a cheaper price that provided more amenities, so I have a hard time rating this stay highly. It was just average. We had a room by the elevator and in the morning I thought I was waking to the pleasant sound of the birds chirping, but realized that it was the elevator doors opening and closing. Breakfast was free, which was nice, but it was not very good. The staff serving were excellent though! I would probably try and find somewhere else to stay if we ever come to this area again.

Room Tip: Don't choose one by the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MandM620,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation the food selection which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Address: 600 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.