We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, easy access to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Nebraska
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice, easy access to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rooms were nice. Nothing special. Quick check in service. Perfect for my son and I to catch a Reds game. Drove a few blocks east, parked the car, walked across the Civil War era Bailey Bridge. Awesome view of the downtown and stadiums. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    82
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
42
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenel, South Carolina
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to stay here after such awful reviews of the Drawbridge Hotel. Were very happy with our decision. They put us on the executive level and the rooms were very clean. The hotel needs a bit of a facelift as it is one of the older hotels, but we had no complaints with the facility at all.
We had breakfast in the rest every morning and our server was Darlene and she was terrefic! She helped us out when we had a problem with one of our breakfast vouchers. She greeted us each morning and made sure we were well taken care of.
I used the fitness room every morning and it had a very upscale treadmill which I loved. We had read in one of the reviews that it was noisy with the train tracks and interstate close by, but we never had any problems with noise at all and I am a very light sleeper.

Room Tip: executive level seems to be very quiet if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsio Viejo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a below average Holiday Inn and definitly not worth the price. We found the bathroom smelled of urine, the shower curtian was dirty, the windows were old and worn out.
While getting ready in the morning, the bathroom light burnt out and they told us that it would be 40 minutes before it could be fixed...they did let us borrow a room at the other end of the hotel to get ready - what a pain.

There are much better hotels in the area that are in the same price range... find'em and go there!

Room Tip: No city view for most of the year - only the winter time when the leaves are off the trees, and even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDruso, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experienced with your guestroom accommodations. This is definitely not a typical stay at our hotel. Please be assured, we work hard to meet and exceed customer expectations and we take it seriously when we fall short. We will use your feedback to fix this issue and make sure that this does not happen to another guest. We truly hope you will afford us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I traveled here from Virginia to attend a wedding. The hotel is conveniently located just across the Ohio River from Cincinnati, in Covington, KY. The hotel was obviously and older Holiday Inn but was nicely maintained and the staff was outstanding from check-in, to the lounge and restaurant and the catering.

Our bartender Jess was great. She's a huge Cincinnati Bengals fan for those of you who might follow the NFL.

The hotel rooms could use a bit of an upgrade to include thermostats to control the room temperature but the room was very comfortable, though a bit noisy. The hotel is nested between a motor vehicle bridge and a railroad bridge, both of which are quite busy.

There were a lot of utility trucks with cherry pickers parked in the parking lot which made it just a bit difficult to navigate the parking lot to enable you to stay away from trees, which contain lots of birds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend. We went to a Reds game (which I highly recommend) and the Bunbury music festival (also highly recommend). There is a shuttle from Covington to downtown Cincinnatti to Newport for $1 outside the hotel. The route is a bit confusing at first (one of the bus drivers told me I was not alone in thinking that) but after a ride or two it will most likely be your weekend transport.

The pool was almost vacant during our stay (mid July), very clean, plentiful towels, and just overall nice for a hotel close to the city.

I wish I knew the waitress's name in the morning for the buffet, she was wonderful. She made you feel at home, nice as could be, and If hotel mgmt sees this and wants info on her let me know because she is the most pleasant sight to see in the morning. That being said... The breakfast is worth the time. Buffet style and fresh from what I saw. (FYI They give out coupons for breakfast so don't pay for it.)

We stayed in a king non smoking. We enjoyed it; however, we found out on our last day someone peed the bed and we slept in it for few nights before realizing it. Gross for sure, but finding out about that just before you check out doesnt help much.



The bar was nice. Jess is the greatest bartender, period. We hoped she worked every night but unfortunately, she has time off. Typical hotel bar prices (tip your bartender, they can give you the best advice for city life).

Overall, the location of this hotel is where the price comes from. I look here (tripadvisor) before booking anywhere, so it's about time I posted something. There are a bunch of places to eat (walking distance) from the hotel.m Elevator is slow and didn't open on the 4th floors sometimes. I feel the price is a bit to high for where we stayed; but overall, I'd stay here again for a weekend. Anymore, I'd look for a better value..


Tips: free breakfast buffet. Free drink with reservation(check your email). Use google maps to check out restaurants and anywhere you plan to travel.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff were great! Darlene Tribble was our waitress in the hotel restaurant for breakfast on Saturday, and she was terrific - very personable and provided excellent service. Also of note was Jason Cambron, who provided us with wonderful customer service. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating as well.
The only negative note was the cleaning staff. Unfortunately our room (on the main floor) was not cleaned regularly (completely missed on the Saturday). Towels weren't replaced, and we ran out of both kleenex and toilet paper (in a room with 4 women! - NOT good). Overall, though, the hotel was very pleasant, and there were several places to grab a meal if the restaurant wasn't to one's taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our stay here was for 4 nights. When we first arrived we were slightly disappointed in our decision. Our room was kind of small with a small bathroom and our A/C didn't work very well (it was about 100 degrees every day we were there). Also, The view was not what we expected with "riverfront" in the name. However, by the end of the night we realized that the hotel is in a great location for everything we had planned in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area. The staff was very helpful with everything. Our room was kept very clean. And, the hotel staff were very accommodating to our requests. A bit pricey for the room, but the service and location make up for it.

Room Tip: A tip if you want a good view. Don't ask for a river view, because there really isnt one. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Address: 600 West 3rd Street, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;