We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated & Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Grill

Anchor Grill
438 Pike St, Covington, KY 41011-2190
859-431-9498
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 119 Restaurants in Covington
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overrated & Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Filthy interior and food that can only be described as greasy. I imagine this place makes the majority of its money from people too hammered to realize they are probably making only their second-worst mistake of the night. Their worst mistake? Getting drunk enough to think eating here is a good idea. Gross.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Goetta and some grumblings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Having heard about Goetta , I decided to seek it out for breakfast at a local non chain restaurant.
I chose the Anchor Grill due to the ratings on this site and others...and it was almost on my way back to Michigan...so....goetta it is.

The area seemed a bit run down but considering my early arrival I wasn't too concerned since most of the area riff raff were probably still sleeping at least until nine A.M.

I arrived on a Monday morning around 8, picked a table next to the entrance and was promptly served my beverage (coffee) and water.

The restaurant has an odor of cigarette smoke , since the establishment allows smoking most hours except btween 11 AM and 4 PM. Nothing wrong with that..but coming from Michigan where smoking has been banned in bars and restaurants for a few years I had to remember I was still on the KY side of the Ohio not the Ohio side and remember what a smoking establishment still smelled like..

I ordered a goetta omelette with cheese my first experience with that sausage.
The restaurant was pretty uncrowded save for one guy in the booth directly ahead and what I can only guess was an owner sitting at the stool/counter area off to my right.

While waiting for the food to arrive (the waitress was also the chef) overheard conversations btwn the waitress and the owner at the counter about other staff not properly doing their job. Roasts not being cooked, sauces not being sauced etc..
No swearing like at MEGA in Fenton, MI but still conversations that possibly should be held in a more private atmosphere if you're gonna talk unkindly about your co workers and cook staff.. and keep it out of earshot of your customers.

The food arrived and it was ok, the goetta was interesting , frankly I wish I just would have ordered it simply with 2 eggs and toast instead of in the omelette...as the omelette is the type that's flat not fluffy and kinda over done with brown marks running around.

The toast not cut into points was drenched in butter or margarine...so get ready to get your hands oily.

But for a one woman show (waitstaff/cook) I'm not complaining too much...but next time goetta on the side. The cheese sort of overwhelms it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food in Quirky Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

24 hour little joint with local fare, especially Goetta cooked right. Goetta is a blend of pork, beef, and oats with spices. Similar to breakfast sausage but better for you. Biscuits and gravy are the best you will ever try, I usually dont like it, but this is great. Chili rates a solid 8. Will go back to try more. In the back room look for the mechanical band that performs whenever the jukebox in the front room is played.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A+ Atmosphere. Late Night Hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Great place to go after a late night of drinking. Great atmosphere. Food is typical greasy spoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Visiting Cincinnati we asked the bartender at a local estBlishment for a good late night spot and everyone at the bar agreed this was a gOod spot so we tried it. They were right, all 4 of us loved it. From the goetta omelette to the hash browns covered with sausage gravy (oh yea!). Definitely suggest if you enjoy local dive type places.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Grill also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.