We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Retreat at the End of the Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Columbia to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Columbia
710 Bomar Heights, Columbia, KY 42728   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Columbia
St. Croix, USVI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Welcome Retreat at the End of the Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spend one night while traveling the length of the 127 Yard Sale. The room was clean, new carpet, good bathroom. When we reserved a room, we were told that only smoking rooms were available, so that wasn't a surprise. The smoke smell in the room was evident, but not so bad that we couldn't stay. A/C was excellent. The manager was very helpful, recommending a very nice restaurant, Betty's OK Country Cooking, for dinner. Continental breakfast was available, but the hotel was full and the breakfast room was small, so we went back to Betty's for breakfast.

I would reccomend for both traveling and for a vacation. Nice location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
11
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Columbia last Thursday night while driving the "World's Longest Yard Sale." We've stayed before (August 2009) and were pleased to find that the rooms have been updated since our last stay--new carpet, bed linens, and a granite topped sink. It must have been done fairly recently as the room still had that "new" smell.

I used the pool which was a testament to how tired and hot I was. I think I haven't been swimming in a few years! The pool was nice--not overly clorinated although I wish the water had been cooler! They also had a hot tub, but I didn't use it.

The breakfast left a little to be desired. They had biscuits and gravy, cooked powedered eggs, a pancake machine, cereal, etc. Some meat would have been nice, but hey--it's a free breakfast. You can't argue with that.

The morning manager was super nice and conscientious as he checked us out, so points for him. He even handed us a Tripadvisor card and asked us to write a review, so that says to me that they are informed and are looking to improve.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always best and not too close to the central stair corridor or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baisden wv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we were very tired after a long day on our bikes and found that this motel was just what we needed , clean comfortable rooms a quite town a great pool and great service. my friends and i were very pleased with the staff who all to pleased to help us in every way. and let us park our bikes where we and they could keep an eye on them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Had 10 rooms reserved for a baseball team. 2 of us checked in and after less than a minute in our room, one kids socks were COVERED in jumping fleas and the other room's carpet was covered in pet hair... No amount of money is worth that nastiness!!! Checked out immediately!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Columbia, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
First let me apologize for any inconveniences you may have suffered. Then, Please allow me to respond.

1. Your comments are used to train our staff, encourage our staff to make your stay a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, dealing with public, once in a while we do get an unreasonable guest that cannot be pleased, despite all best efforts.

2. We do agree that you did bring a child’s sock with Fleas to the lobby to show to the staff. It was never determined where the fleas got on to his socks. The staff immediately offered you a different room, went with you and asked you to inspect the room before entering. You did do that and were satisfied and moved to it. A few minutes later, without any explanation you stated that you wanted to leave. Your wishes were honored and there was no charge to you. Our rates are what they are and we do not try to compete with cheaper hotels. Even though each room was booked individually, we did give you group rate.

3. Manager inspected the room and did not find fleas anywhere in the room except where you pointed the location of the sock was. Manager put the room out of service immediately and same day it was treated along with the second room where you stayed for a few minutes as well. We are regularly treated by a pest control company to prevent any pests in our hotel rooms.

4. There was no mention of Pet hair at all. We do offer pet friendly rooms. But, those rooms are designated room numbers. There have been times when we have turned away business when pet friendly rooms are all occupied and if there is request for one more. But, we never rent regular rooms to guests with pets and we have a strict policy of $150 charge if a pet or pet evidence is discovered in a room.

5. We support Little League and had placed an ad in the local newspaper supporting them. We work with the community locally and invite our guests to come and enjoy clean, comfortable and friendly place. Our Guests love our facility and our friendly staff. Manager tried to call all members of the team but could only reach one, who was very appreciative and willing to come stay with us except that the group had decided to stay together. So, she could not do so because of you.

6. We are new owners and have worked very hard and renovated the place during past 6 months. We have replaced most items including all fabric items such as bedding, drapes and custom made carpets. You can see the pictures at Bestwestern.com. We are told by our guests that the hotel looks newer and looks better than it has in past several years. Flat Screen TVs will be installed this year too.

7. We invite you to come flea free next time and come and stay with us again like our other happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews, I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are nicely redecorated and very clean. A no smoking rule is strictly enforced in non smoking rooms and my room was fresh and clean smelling. The employees are friendly and helpful. I had a room where the air conditioner had a condenser vibration so I was quickly moved and they offered to carry my luggage for me. Beds are comfy and have 4 pillows per bed. It is in a tourist area so a bit pricey for a budget motel. You would expect that. The breakfast features the usual pastries, waffles, fruit and cereal but also has scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy. The town closes down early but there are the usual fast food places within walking distance. The interstate is close but since the motel is above it on a hill, the rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

After reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are redecorated,, spotless and smell fresh. No dirt in the corners behind the doors or dust bunnies under the beds. Beds are good, 4 pillows per bed.The staff is very friendly and accomodating (no pun intended). My air conditioner had a hum so they quickly changed my room and offered to carry my luggage. The breakfast included eggs and biscuits and gravy as well as the usual assortment found at hotel breakfasts. It is in a tourist area so not the cheapest motel on the planet but worth the money. I would use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

To be in the middle of south central Kentucky, and not near an interstate, this hotel was overpriced. It was clean, and well staffed, but not worth what we had to pay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Columbia

Address: 710 Bomar Heights, Columbia, KY 42728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.