We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but not free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernheim Arboretum & Forest

Bernheim Arboretum & Forest
2499 Hwy. 245, Clermont, KY 40110-013
502.955.8512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Clermont
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest is a private, non-profit educational and recreational nature preserve located 20 minutes from the Louisville airport in Kentucky. Bernheim, founded in 1929 by philanthropist Isaac Wolfe Bernheim, opened to the public in 1950. More than 200,000 annual visitors connect with nature by enjoying over 32 miles of hiking trails, a Canopy Tree Walk, a Children’s Play Garden, year-round educational programs and events. Bernheim, steward to 14,500 acres of natural lands, includes a nationally-recognized, 600-acre arboretum designed by the landscape architecture firm of Frederick Law Olmsted. The arboretum contains over 8,000 plant species including the renowned Hubbuch Holly Collection. Bernheim has won numerous awards on sustainability initiatives including LEED® Platinum for the Visitor Center, which was the first Platinum award in Kentucky and surrounding five-state region. Isaac Cafe is open from 11-4 daily and serves soups, sandwiches, salads and desserts.
Salt Lick, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went there to do some hiking. We first went to the visitor center. The gentlemen was very helpful. It has some unique art. He helped us with selecting a trail to take. Most trails are easy and short. You need a couple of days to do it all. I would go back. It cost 5.00 a car load. Not free. The playground is fantastic. The trail we took was rather narrow. Got my clothes caught on sticker bushes several times. We took our dogs so this made the walk rough.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artmuse1, Manager at Bernheim Arboretum & Forest, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Bernheim. We make every effort to ensure a relaxing and nature enriching experience. The following our hours and fee schedule.

Open daily 7:00 a.m. – near sunset (see the schedule below for details).

Free admission to all Monday – Friday.

Saturday, Sunday and Holiday* Environmental Impact Fee:

$5.00 per passenger car, minivan or motorcycle
$10.00 per passenger van, RV
Buses, please call (502) 955-8512 in advance

* Bernheim collects the environmental impact fee on the following holidays: Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just goes to show what can be accomplished when planners respond to the will of the people & have the foresight to preserve such God-given beauty. The grounds are magnificent & very well maintained. Breathtaking views & many spots to find quiet solitude. The trails & playgrounds are well designed & truly enjoyable. The cafe is nice & the staff was friendly. The gift shop is typical but had some nice stuff & the prices weren't too painful. If more people could see this place, I think more places like this could be saved.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We visit bernheim a few times a year. A few of us moms take our kids there and go on trails, picnic and go to the playground. It is free to get in during the week. It is beautiful and such a good time. It never seems to get old because there is always something to see or teach the kids as the seasons change or as you explore new trails.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Map was very confusing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited with husband and two year old. Extremely big place. Could not walk even a fraction of it. If visiting just pick one or two "trails" and focus on that.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artmuse1, visual arts coodinator at Bernheim Arboretum & Forest, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concern about the trail map. We encourage visitors to ask questions at the Visitor Center about appropriate trails for various levels of difficulty and length. Bernheim is large and there are many different areas and terrains to choose from in order to best meet your desired experience. We apologize if you were not directed to an appropriate trail. Please come visit Bernheim again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Absolute Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

FORGET THIS PLACE...unless you want to see nature at its finest. Beautiful throughout and extremely well-maintained. It offers drive-by scenery, wonderful and diverse hiking trails, educational opportunities, a nice little café and gift shop, and a very polite and available staff.
Outdoor sculpture is scattered throughout the more civilized areas. They welcome tourists and the local community equally. And on most weekdays, there is no usage fee. You can spend time in the more developed areas, be somewhat secluded on the back of the lake, or very isolated in the more remote areas as you drive deeper into the park and then hike even farther.
No matter what you choose, one thing is clear...nature is the top priority here. It truly is an absolute treasure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernheim Arboretum & Forest also viewed

 

Been to Bernheim Arboretum & Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernheim Arboretum & Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.