We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo Lodge Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   807 Mammoth Cave Street, Cave City, KY 42127   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

There are several hotels in this area. It's got some activities to do in this area. Of all the hotels, this is the only one with an outdoor pool. It was really nice in the heat. It's within walking distance to the Dinosaurs, but with traffic, I'd drive it for safety. Walk across the street to the AW shop or any other place here. There's a Family Dollar just a stone's throw down the road. Behind this hotel is a mini golf course and game room, and next to that is a really small but cute go Kart track. This hotel is sort of in the middle of it all. The clerks were extremely friendly. The pool is smaller but good to swim in. Just a bit crowded, although everyone was friendly enough. They allowed smoking inside the gate which was really gross. It's about a 12-15 minute drive to the Caves. Jellystone is half that. Lots of activities on the way to the caves as well. Horseback riding, Zip line, etc. The rooms are small and dated. However, it is conveniently located.

Room Tip: Get a travel book from a rest stop and find a coupon for a room here. Also, if they say they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, we are very proud of our employees and will forward them your kind words. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sorry to say - that in this day and age where every penny counts - they just don't meet my standards. The only ice machine working was on the farthest side of the property, there was no decaf anything available, there was mildew in the tub/shower area and the outlet near the bed and the one near the tv sparked when I tried to use them. I will say that it was a comfortable bed and the pillows were real nice. But those two did not make up for all the rest and the very minimal, donut, bagel, juice or coffee, bran cereal breakfast. Good distance if you are visiting caves and attractions in the area!

Room Tip: If you like to use the pool ask for a room around the back, it's also quieter there at night. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are sorry that we did not live up to our standards. We will be looking into the proper departments and will be coming up with a solution. Thank you for notifying us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Surprisingly, the room was very clean. The staff were very nice as well. The beds were a bit stiff, but I prefer a softer mattress myself. The hotel is located close to places to eat and all the attractions in Cave City. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are extremely pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We take pride in our employees abilities to make our guests feel welcome and at home. See you again soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was initially very pleased, the price was right, it was reasonably clean, and breakfast was included.

Then, at 5 am, my son woke up screaming hysterically because a mouse was crawling on him.

We all woke up due to the screaming, turned on the lights, packed our things and headed out.

I contacted management by email at the address listed on our receipt, and never heard a thing. I at least expected an apology, this is poor business practice and really makes me rethink ever giving another econo lodge a chance.

Sometimes it's worth it to pay a little extra. We will stay in the wigwam hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are sorry for your experience here at our hotel. We had a professional come inspect our rooms and we did not find any mice activity, we again apologize for any inconvenience.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pros: clean, dust and mold free, quality mattress and pillows, quiet at night, nicer pool and breakfast is included with friendly staff. Cons: Worn fixtures and wallpaper frumpy bathroom. A good value for a quick over night stay. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your kind thoughts on our hotel. We are continuing to strive to meet all of our guests needs by renovating the hotel currently. Please stop by and see us soon. Thanks

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I love staynre,wr couldn't Imgine going anywhere els,staff awsome ,clean .and just a great place 2 stay.can't wait till next time.we love swimming in pool its always clean and water is clear.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we strive to fulfill all of our guests needs. We hope to see you soon in the future. Thanks again

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 807 Mammoth Cave Street, Cave City, KY 42127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cave City
Cave City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.