We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Steak House

Sahara Steak House
413 East Happy Valley Road, Cave City, KY 42127
(270)-773-3450
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Cave City
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lancaster
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ate here after a long day of exploring Mammoth Cave. We weren't sure what to expect but thought we would give Sahara a try. The food and service were both quite good and we definitely will go back the next time we are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This steakhouse was pretty good. The cut of meat I had was had a lot of fat, but it was delicious. Of the three of us that went not a one of us disliked our meal. The salad bar that comes with the dinners was a bit limited but was still good. However it was a bit pricey. Not outrageous but I've seen steaks be cheaper. All in all well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Casual & Friendly Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

There are not a lot of options in Cave City. We gave this a go since it was rated #2 here on Trip Advisor. The atmosphere is clean but casual. All the staff were very friendly & attentive. Our food was served in a timely manner & was hot & fresh. We all had Rib Eye Steaks. My son & I both thought the seasoning was rather salty but the steaks were cooked to our liking (medium). I was disappointed that the sautéed mushrooms with onions had canned mushrooms. We did not partake in dessert but I oogled another customer's peanut butter pie & it looked amazing. If you dine here without high expectations you'll be satisfied.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food tasted great, but expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The restaurant is family friendly and the decor is very plain. I had a rib eye, my son had a filet, and his friend had a rib eye sandwich. We also had appetizers. They split mozzarella sticks and I had fried pickles. We split dessert: a delicious slice of peanut butter pie. I have absolutely no complaints about the food. It was great. But the total, including sodas and tip, came to about $100. Food is excellent, value is lacking.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucasville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stopped here on our family vacation for Father's Day. The area doesn't offer many choices of dining. After reading reviews of fresh steaks; we chose this restaurant. The restaurant offers a nice salad bar to go along with the steaks. My husband tried the "Filet"(tenderloin) the steak could melt in your mouth. The steak price about $22 which is not bad for a good steak. Everyone enjoyed their meals at this family ran restaurant. I would visit this place again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sahara Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.