We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   819 Sanders St, Cave City, KY 42127   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Cave City
aurora, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On the road again, we pulled in after 500 or so miles and got a nice room. We enjoyed breakfast, which included the usual cereals and carbs, but also yogurt & fruit. The scrambled egg patties looked like they might have been made from powder, but who knows? Also had sausage & waffles available. We were able to get on the road early because the breakfast was open at 6 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I'm glad our early breakfast suited your travel needs! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
61
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited on a late Sunday night. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for dinner options. Clean room. Roll away bed and pull out coach mattress need to be replaced, but the hotel provided extra blankets to help with the padding for the night. Good breakfast in the morning. Close to the Mammoth Caves which was worth the stay to not have to fight traffic and catch the early cave tour. Used AAA discount.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room close to an end of a hallway or on the first floor as not to distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our clean and comfortable hotel! Thank you for the review and I hope you'll stay with us again when you're in Cave City, Kentucky.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room appeared to be clean but there were baby roaches near the air conditioning unit. We also saw a bug at breakfast in the morning. They seem to be trying to get rid of them since we saw bug hotels in a few places. The staff was very nice and seemed concerned when they were told about the bugs. They are one of the nicest in the area. I would try this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm dissapointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please feel free to call me at 270-773-2030 to discuss the matter. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a suite with 2Q + sofa sleeper. Room was large enough for my family of 7 with room for bags and a kid sleeping on the floor. I've stayed in Embassy Suites that felt more cramped than this. We were on 2nd floor above the office. Next time I'd ask for the room above the fitness center, just because we always worry about our kids making too much noise just walking across the floor.

I dropped the rating to 4 because the kids complained about the sleeper sofa. They could feel the springs and you could tell when opening it that the mattress just wasn't supportive. We don't ask for much in a sleeper sofa, but this was NOT good. I often wonder if hotels thing no one uses the sleeper sofa. We did have linens available for the sofa on arrival, which is often not the case.

Also, there was some "mustiness" to the A/C but it worked and kept the room a nice temp without being too loud.

Breakfast on Wednesday AM was quiet, but at the same time on Thursday (8 - 9) it was quite busy. I would imagine it's extremely crowded on the weekends and finding a table would be impossible. Selection was good for a DIY breakfast. Typical bread and pastries (although the kids didn't like the thawed pastries so much). Eggs and some sausage patty available. Had Yoplait yogurt, cereal (Fruit Loops, Raisin Bran, Rice Krispies). Make your own waffles were the highlight. I could see this being a problem on the weekend, as each waffle cooks for 2 minutes. Impatient little ones may not be so happy to wait.

Pool was good for the kids, although way too loud for me. Typical hotel pool and they provide towels. Also a restroom right inside the pool area is convenient.

We reported a toilet clog and within 10 - 15 minutes a maintenance worker arrived and handled it pleasantly and neatly.

Front desk staff was pleasant.

Location is great, just off the interstate, but you won't get interstate noise. McDs, Cracker Barrel and few other restaurants within walking distance. (The McDs has an outdoor RedBox kiosk).

Room Tip: If you have little ones and need a larger room, ask for one above the office, lobby, or fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel. Please stay with us again if you're ever in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Internet didn't work, which they apparently have issues with when the hotel is full. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly. Breakfast didn't have anything hot besides the usual waffle machine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed our clean and well maintained hotel! Thank you for the review and rest assured we're working on that pesky internet issue.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spacious rooms and very clean. Large bathroom! Nice swimming pool and small fitness room. Located by restaurants and activities. Hot breakfast - sausage and eggs. Being near Mammoth Cave makes it a little expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed our large bathroom! Thank you for your feedback and please stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First room was filthy with bugs crawling on ceiling. Moved to another room and it was somewhat better. The hotel was not very clean overall nor well maintained. I can't believe the ratings it had been previously given!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky165, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. Please call me at 270-773-3335 to discuss this issue further.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 819 Sanders St, Cave City, KY 42127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Cave City
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Cave City
Cave City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.