We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Cabin Camping

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Rock Cabin Camping to your Saves list
Rock Cabin Camping
5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's a cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

These cabins have a great location between the caves and town. The cabins themselves do need a bit of updating but the owner had mentioned he was working on that while we were there. The bathroom was a bit small and hot water was a bit of an issue, but it says camping in the title not hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are grandparents taking 2 teens on a Spring Break trip. We were satisfied with our 3 day stay at Rock Cabins. The location was perfect for exploration of the area and even Louisville, 1 1/2 hours away. The girls had cabin 8 and my husband and I had cabin 1. If you will just be at the cabin to sleep, the small cabins would be adequate. We needed the larger cabin to cook some meals ad play cards in the evening. By the way, there is a Dollar General store about 4 miles toward Cave City that stays open late and has groceries. The cabins are old which is what you should expect from their web site so don't plan on anything modern except the plumbing and TV. They were, however, clean. The water heater in Cabin 8 is small so you must wait a little while between showers for it to recover. As others mentioned, the owners are very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've got to say they sure make the place look adorable online. We rented cabin 1, the largest and the only with a full kitchen.

I'll start with the good things, why I give it 2 stars rather than 1 star:
- Had a full kitchen (it was stocked, that was nice)
-Private (meaning not attached to another room)
-Separate bedroom (for my husband and I)
-Close to the caves

Why it deserves a 1 star
THE PLACE WAS A DUMP
-Paint chipping, carpet ripped in many spots, and so matted and musty and gross that we didn't dare put our bare feet on the floor.
-Pull out couch was unbearable to sleep on, thankfully with just 4 of us, we were able to pull the mattress from the 2nd bed in the bedroom out to put in the livingroom area.
-The couch and 2 chairs in the living room were old and broken, almost like they were found on the side of the road.
-One of the doors to the outside in the bedroom wasn't even on hinges, it was held up by just the lock on the right side, but both hinges were missing on the wall part.
-The furnace it once had no longer worked so electric heaters were placed throughout the place. It was comfortable, but where there once was a furnace vent is now just so gross with trash and it's not clean.

This place needs some TLC, that's really all. Paint, carpet (and covering up the vent that is no longer used) and newer furniture would do wonders for the place. It wouldn't even cost them much, maybe 2 weeks worth of rental, tops.

I'm sorry, I would NOT recommend this place to anyone until they fix it up. We also never saw the owners other than check in and check out. No checking on us at all and we were there 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

There were two of us staying for one night on our way to camp in Florida for spring break. We were on our way to Mammoth Cave before we left the next day, which was only about a 5-minute drive. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. I think the important thing to remember is that you are CAMPING.... it's not a hotel. Bathroom was tiny, shower didn't drain, sheets looked old, but it was clean. There was a fridge, TV, cable, and microwave. The space heater smelled dusty, but we got a good night's sleep. We had to turn off the heater because it got a little to hot and dusty, then woke up cold around 3 a.m.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunrobin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This isn't the Holiday Inn but it is fun. The cabins are small and cozy - just like in the pictures. Ralph is an interesting character with lots of stories to tell. Don't expect to have a lengthy shower. I got about 2 minutes of hot water for mine. Everything you need is in the room and you can get coffee in the morning at the office building. There's no wi-fi but the tv gets a bunch of stations. If you are up for an adventure and can put aside your need for amenities, you can have a lot of fun here. We arrived late and left in the morning but we'd come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in cabin 1, the largest of the cabins. It sleeps six and there were 5 of us. Although the cabin was a bit shabby, it was truly very comfortable and clean. Sort of like your great aunts summer home. The kitchen was realy fully equipped; there were even cookie sheets for the oven. It was a tight fit for 5 people, but we were inside really just to eat dinner and sleep, so we did not require or expect much space. The nights were getting cold and so we were happy the space was small and the electric heater had no trouble keeping us comfortable throughout the night. There was free internet available at the office, but we got spotty connection in the cabin as well. The owners were as nice and accomodating as other reviews mentioned, offering extra blankets as needed and supplying us with roasting forks so we could grill our dinner over wood fire. We enjoyed that the cabins were very close to the park and at the same time not in the touristy parts of the road. We would be happy to stay here again if we go visiting the cave again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great experience. The cabins were built in the 1920's or 1930's and the owners are trying to keep the exteriors true to that era while modernizing the interiors. The owners were fantastic and made our stay very enjoyable. Ralph was so pleasant to talk to. We looked forward to seeing him in the evening while he and Shadow the cat were walking about checking to see if everyone had what they needed. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe cabin as it has a more room than some of the smaller units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Cabin Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Cabin Camping

Address: 5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy stone cabins and a campground just outside Mmammoth Cave National Park. Built in 1928, these historic cabins have been restored to offer a comfortable place to stay on your visit to the Mammoth Cave area. If you're driving an RV, we can also accommodate you with full hookups in our campground. We have many tent sites as well. Our campsites have 50 amp service and access to full restroom/Shower facilities. Our cabins range in size from three rooms, complete with kitchen and room for 6 adults to a cozy one double bed cabin, prefect for a couple. All cabins have air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator and DISH Network TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Cabin Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Cabin Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.