We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy camping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Cabin Camping

Save Saved
You added Rock Cabin Camping to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Cabin Camping
5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fancy camping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

There were two of us staying for one night on our way to camp in Florida for spring break. We were on our way to Mammoth Cave before we left the next day, which was only about a 5-minute drive. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. I think the important thing to remember is that you are CAMPING.... it's not a hotel. Bathroom was tiny, shower didn't drain, sheets looked old, but it was clean. There was a fridge, TV, cable, and microwave. The space heater smelled dusty, but we got a good night's sleep. We had to turn off the heater because it got a little to hot and dusty, then woke up cold around 3 a.m.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunrobin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This isn't the Holiday Inn but it is fun. The cabins are small and cozy - just like in the pictures. Ralph is an interesting character with lots of stories to tell. Don't expect to have a lengthy shower. I got about 2 minutes of hot water for mine. Everything you need is in the room and you can get coffee in the morning at the office building. There's no wi-fi but the tv gets a bunch of stations. If you are up for an adventure and can put aside your need for amenities, you can have a lot of fun here. We arrived late and left in the morning but we'd come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in cabin 1, the largest of the cabins. It sleeps six and there were 5 of us. Although the cabin was a bit shabby, it was truly very comfortable and clean. Sort of like your great aunts summer home. The kitchen was realy fully equipped; there were even cookie sheets for the oven. It was a tight fit for 5 people, but we were inside really just to eat dinner and sleep, so we did not require or expect much space. The nights were getting cold and so we were happy the space was small and the electric heater had no trouble keeping us comfortable throughout the night. There was free internet available at the office, but we got spotty connection in the cabin as well. The owners were as nice and accomodating as other reviews mentioned, offering extra blankets as needed and supplying us with roasting forks so we could grill our dinner over wood fire. We enjoyed that the cabins were very close to the park and at the same time not in the touristy parts of the road. We would be happy to stay here again if we go visiting the cave again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great experience. The cabins were built in the 1920's or 1930's and the owners are trying to keep the exteriors true to that era while modernizing the interiors. The owners were fantastic and made our stay very enjoyable. Ralph was so pleasant to talk to. We looked forward to seeing him in the evening while he and Shadow the cat were walking about checking to see if everyone had what they needed. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe cabin as it has a more room than some of the smaller units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went there for my son's birthday. The owner was wonderful in making it a birthday for my son to remember. He was really nice and my son said meeting Mr. Ralph was the best part of his trip. That says something especially since we took him to caves, go-karts and the little amusement park. We will probably going back next year. We stayed at Cabin 1 which has a bedroom with two beds and the couch in the living room has a pull out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What a cute little place and the price was right. The owners were so welcoming and accommodating, helping us put together a fire, offering fresh coffee in the morning and making sure their sign wished our birthday boy a happy day! We were all smiles and we had privacy and closeness to Mammoth Cave! We felt very welcome and cared for. We will be back here for sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent one night - very close to Visitor Center of Mammoth Cave. Four of us stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin - cozy but comfortable. Very clean/ good air conditioning and nice shower. Beds were excellent. The owner , Ralph, was very helpful and attentive. He made certain we received an item we accidently left behind. The price was worth it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Cabin Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Cabin Camping

Address: 5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy stone cabins and a campground just outside Mmammoth Cave National Park. Built in 1928, these historic cabins have been restored to offer a comfortable place to stay on your visit to the Mammoth Cave area. If you're driving an RV, we can also accommodate you with full hookups in our campground. We have many tent sites as well. Our campsites have 50 amp service and access to full restroom/Shower facilities. Our cabins range in size from three rooms, complete with kitchen and room for 6 adults to a cozy one double bed cabin, prefect for a couple. All cabins have air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator and DISH Network TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rock Cabin Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Cabin Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.