We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Cabin Camping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Cabin Camping

Save Saved
You added Rock Cabin Camping to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rock Cabin Camping
5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)   |  
Hotel amenities
nashville, tn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rock Cabin Camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went there for my son's birthday. The owner was wonderful in making it a birthday for my son to remember. He was really nice and my son said meeting Mr. Ralph was the best part of his trip. That says something especially since we took him to caves, go-karts and the little amusement park. We will probably going back next year. We stayed at Cabin 1 which has a bedroom with two beds and the couch in the living room has a pull out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What a cute little place and the price was right. The owners were so welcoming and accommodating, helping us put together a fire, offering fresh coffee in the morning and making sure their sign wished our birthday boy a happy day! We were all smiles and we had privacy and closeness to Mammoth Cave! We felt very welcome and cared for. We will be back here for sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent one night - very close to Visitor Center of Mammoth Cave. Four of us stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin - cozy but comfortable. Very clean/ good air conditioning and nice shower. Beds were excellent. The owner , Ralph, was very helpful and attentive. He made certain we received an item we accidently left behind. The price was worth it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trrenton, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The cabins are on the older side, but are clean, neat and bug free. We stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage, had a bathroom and kitchen. Sofa sleeper in the living room, 2 double beds in the bedroom. Close to the caves and area attractions. Ralph and his wife Lina have owned the cabins for a year or so, doing a lot of work to improve the place. No swimming pool, but with all the area attractions, you really don't miss one. Lots of wildlife in the area, seems the deer, turkeys, bobcats are not scared of people. Kitchen is fully stocked, but who the heck wants to do a lot of cooking, lol. Great place to stay, just don't expect the Ritz. If you choose one of the smaller cabins, don't expect a lot of room. If you want someplace to get a good nights sleep with no frills, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Vienna, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My sister and I stayed here, we had came down for a few days cause our mom had a recently past away and wanted to be spread at a certain place in cave city! We were able to visit places she when to and see lots a great sites! The rock Cabin was great the location was perfectly in the middle of everything we wanted to visit and the owners were sweet and VERY helpful!! The cottage though a little small, was great we didnt have to listen other peoples screaming kids or any other problems that occur at larger Hotels.... It was quite and peaceful and relaxing! Great for an adult get away for a few days! We will be back for sure! Thank you for such a great experience at such a sad time for out family!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to tent it here on our way to Florida. The reviews made this place look great, so we thought we'd give it a shot. When we arrived, it was raining. The owner was kind enough to let us back out of our reservation as it was impossible to set up our tent in the rain. We drove to the caves for a tour, and caught a break in the rain long enough to set up. While I was very impressed with the owners and their hospitality, but the place could use some work. I kinda felt like we had our tent in someone's back yard rather than a campground. The cabins are right on top of each other, and overall the area is small. The pictures were a bit deceiving. The showers/restrooms for the campers were clean. It did rain for our entire 2 day stay, so it was pretty flooded. We had to walk through a lot of water to get anywhere. No blame to the owners, you can't stop mother nature. Again, the owners were great, checked on us to make sure we were staying dry and appologized for the rain and water mess. There was a picnic table inthe tenting area, and 1 fire ring. You can put your tent wherever you want on the hill. You have to park in a designated area which is a bit of a walk from the tents. No electricity or water. If you like rustic, and don't mind feeling like your in someone's back yard (or even front yard as there was a house near by in the back too), then you can't beat the deal. Don't expect anything fancy, and you won't be disappointed. The people we saw in the cabins were fairly happy with their accomidations. Those in RV's seemed good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Charlotte, NC, US
We LOVE Rock Cabins. Our group of 7 was divided between those who wanted to sleep in the tent and those who didn't. So this was the perfect set-up. The small cabins were clean, affordable, quiet and SO many fun memories were made.
Thank you Ralph and Lina! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Cabin Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Cabin Camping

Address: 5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy stone cabins and a campground just outside Mmammoth Cave National Park. Built in 1928, these historic cabins have been restored to offer a comfortable place to stay on your visit to the Mammoth Cave area. If you're driving an RV, we can also accommodate you with full hookups in our campground. We have many tent sites as well. Our campsites have 50 amp service and access to full restroom/Shower facilities. Our cabins range in size from three rooms, complete with kitchen and room for 6 adults to a cozy one double bed cabin, prefect for a couple. All cabins have air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator and DISH Network TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Cabin Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Cabin Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.