We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Cave City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Cave City to your Saves list
Days Inn Cave City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Gardner Lane, Cave City, KY 42127   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Filthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Let me start by saying that the staff members at the desk were extremely nice and apologetic. The room had cobwebs from the ceiling to the wall around most of the perimeter of the room. The rugs were dark with grime. A dead bug awaited us on the floor when we entered. The shower curtain was covered with mold (not just on the bottom edge- all over it). There was years of grime build-up in the corners of the bathroom floor and the handle in the shower. The chairs in the breakfast area were quite dirty. I watched as the staff wiped the crumbs off of the tables and onto the chairs. The hotel looks new from the outside, but the room that I stayed in appeared to suffer from years of neglect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Cave City, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
The Days Inn in Cave City cares deeply about their guest. We the staff, are working to create a comfortable and enjoyable environment for our guest. I apologize if your experience was less than you would have hoped. I have discussed your concerns with our staff and I am sure we can make improvements. We hope you will stay with us in the future and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    45
    25
    47
See reviews for
76
50
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here using a traveling coupon. The customer service was pleasant and the room was clean. They may want to look into purchasing new air conditioners due to the fact that it took a few hours to cool our room down. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was loaded with carbs. They were an average hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Cave City, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Most of the air conditioners at the Days Inn Cave City are brand new. That being said we did have 110 degree tempetures in July and very high 90 degree temperatures in June. We want our guest to be as comfortable as possible, so they can enjoy their visit to the Mammoth Cave area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave City, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My daughter's wedding reception was to be held at the Cave City Day's Inn, booked well in advance. The night before the wedding we were told there were no tablecloths for the banquet tables. Upon booking the room we were told they were provided. The owner refused to accommodate us by using part of the $350 rental fee to go buy the linens. He only offered to buy plastic tablecloths for my daughter's formal reception. Tacky! He was rude, obnoxious, and called me and my daughter liars. At midnight we were refunded the total amount that was paid and had to come up with new arrangements for a reception. What kind of person does this? Where is customer service? This hotel does not deserve to be affiliated with the Day's Inn name.

Room Tip: Never stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Cave City, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Days Inn Cave City offers a spacious and newly renovated Conference Room. Freshly painted, new carpet, and all brand new large round tables and chairs are offered, as well as beautiful ambient lighting. The table cloths that were offered were white linen and while they didn't touch the floor, are very tasteful and lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

My recent stay was no real surprise. I payed $45 per night and got a room that was worth that. The non smoking room I was in had a blanket with cigarette burns in it. The lamp shades were stained from cigarette smoke. The mildew on the back of the shower curtian and stains on the comforter were very visible. After my visit to the dollar general for a can of Lysol it was time to spray down this 2nd room. I told the staff of these issues and they were able to move me in to a room that was the one I just described above. So you can guess the 1st room was not worth $45 a night. After I hose the room down with the entire can of Lysol I was camping indoors. All in all don't expect a lot but the staff will help in any way they can.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela w, Manager at Days Inn Cave City, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing Days Inn Cave City and thank you for your nice comments about the service. We are always willing to help our guest feel more comfortable. the Days Inn Cave City staff is dedicated to improvement and hospitality. We hope your next visit will be more pleasant and once again thank you for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in Cave City and at Days Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful and the our room clean and pretty comfortable. We stayed for 2 days to see Mammoth Cave. I will make this our stop when back to tour the rest of the attractions this summer.

Room Tip: I really liked having our room face the pool. It made it easier to walk out and enjoy the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

How you feel about this hotel is a function of your expectations. This is not the Hyatt. It's Days Inn. For that chain, this hotel is adequate. The room is clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff is friendly. Nothing fancy. But it's right across from McDomad's, Cracker Barrel and a Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Called ahead to see if there was availability, Sunny and Joe were able to meet our requests when we arrived with a smile and all that we had requested...refrigerator and microwave...we're snowbirds for six months in Florida and this is our little haven on the way home...the improvements were a pleasant surprise, the pool being open because of the unseasonably warm weather was a plus...but mostly, we felt the warmth and desire to meet our needs and the fact that they were pleased that we are regulars once a year...still feels like family...compliments to whoever does the hiring...all was well, even if we were too tired to take advantage of the pool...see you next April...room was clean...the breakfast was well stocked and the variety was wonderful...keep up the wonderful customer service...we were even able to get a one bed room and for 75 and 77 year olds who have only been married for 3 1/2 years it was just right, as was the price...2 thumbs up...and I love flat pillows, just bought 2 recently, helps with back problems...don't know how to do pictures and don't use facebook...sorry...golden diiva willa

Room Tip: First floor is a given at our age with a place to park our car outside which is loaded for the trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Cave City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Cave City

Address: 102 Gardner Lane, Cave City, KY 42127
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Cave City 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can count on our Cave City, KY, hotel for value and a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Our comfortable and spacious rooms help you get plenty of rest, while our free Wi-Fi Internet access keeps you connected. End the day with a relaxing dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool, and wake up in the morning to free Daybreak continental breakfast. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We are a pet-friendly, however, we charge $10 per pet/per night and unlike most hotels we do not have a weight restriction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Cave City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Cave City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.