We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminded my of my Gramma's Sunday Dinners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watermill

Watermill
804 Mammoth Cave Road, Cave City, KY 42127
(270) 773-3186
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Cave City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hutchinson, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reminded my of my Gramma's Sunday Dinners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There is nothing fancy about this place, so keep driving if that is what you are after. If you want a real southern meal and very sweet folks to talk to - give it a chance and stop in! We did and were very happy! The food was excellent - really just like what we used to have at my Gramma's house for Sunday dinners. Fried catfish to die for, home style green beans, cornbread, homemade REAL mashed potatoes and gravy and REAL peach cobbler for dessert! THE BEST! And yes, they actually have a smoking section - don't sit by it if you have a problem with it - they have plenty of room far away. Our server was as sweet as could be, and we all really enjoyed ourselves! Would recommend and we will definitely visit again! As a family of four, our meals with a generous tip only cost $40, so it was also very affordable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    25
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best southern cooking I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here after a long day in the nearby Mammoth Cave and we were very hungry! You can order menu or have the buffet. Awesome buffet with delicious catfish and side dishes. The macaroni and cheese was amazing. Very good price and very friendly people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, KY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“This is real home cooking with buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you want "real" home cooking from "scratch", really you can taste the difference, this is the place. Real mashed potatoes were found! This is better than the homogenized chain down the street. Be honest with yourself, you can get the same meal every time no matter where you are at Cracker B. What is that? An adventure? Live a little, this a good choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice catfish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a very simple, a little bit run down, buffet-style diner. They have some traditional southern comfort food staples, like fried chicken, fried catfish, beans, corn bread, etc. They had lots of desserts too. Like all other reviewers, we tried the fried catfish and it was delicious. Yeah, it didn't look sparkling clean, but the food was tasty, it was cheap, the staff was very friendly, and I'm feeling fine after eating it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, In.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good southern home cooked meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Tasty catfish, sweet sweet corn, a wide variety of food. Friendly service and very clean. Great place to go when touring the Mammouth caves. Right on the way to.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermill also viewed

 

Been to Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.