We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Butler State Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added General Butler State Resort to your Saves list
General Butler State Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Canton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great staff! Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The views were spectacular. Enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant on site. Hard to beat the price and easy to reach from the freeway. Our second stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool on the second floor. There are terraces you can sit on just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
23
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family has been going here for almost 25 years and it hasn't been updated much in that time. The bed was comfortable and the linens smelled fresh and clean. The shower head was a tad too low for my above average height but the water was good and hot! We had breakfast in the Two Rivers dining area. The buffet breakfast isn't anything to write home about: scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, bacon, grits, etc. There were no fresh fruits or anything healthy to place on our plates.

Room Tip: There are multiple hiking trails just outside the rooms for outdoors persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned home from a weekend camping at General Butler campgrounds. The park is wooded and shady which we loved. Even saw a Piliated Woodpecker upon our arrival which was a treat.

The reservation system provided incorrect information as we only needed primitive camping, but was informed there was none at this park, so paid for two nights with electric and water we did not need. Discovered primitive camping on day 2, for half the price in a really nice area of the park, that was only reservable upon arrival.

Yes, the bathrooms were not very clean on day one, although on day 2 the smell of Clorox filled the air....thank goodness, but still there were old bugs and dirt in the windowsills and broken light fixtures. I

n the middle of the campgrounds, the children seemed to be enjoying the playground equipment along with riding lots of bikes which was great to see them playing outside.

If you are in a RV, I would really ask about the sites as many were not level. The full service area only had one site my husband thought was good if we returned with our Big Rig. Train and traffic noise was notable in the back area of the grounds.

We ate at the lodge restaurant about 2 pm at the Buffet, which was a grave mistake. I guess we should have ordered of the menu, but the food had looked fine, but it was not.

We would stay here again, despite some of the negatives. We loved all the trees, birds, squirrels, and deer along with all the shade and distance between sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We traveled to the park to meet up with niece flying from Colorado into Louisville for her class reunion in Louisville. It was great to see her. We (my husband & I) decided to make a weekend out of it. We really enjoyed spending the night at the Lodge it was so peaceful. We also ate at the Buffet they have their at the Lodge. They have camping/ cabins/ miniature golf, large golf course and pool outdoors. Water chilly when you first get in, but very relaxing. Thoroughly, enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. Also as you drive in they have a War Memorial with different Monuments, just a wonderful layout if you are military or retired.

Room Tip: We stayed with a Senior Discount, the room looked nothing like what they advertise on internet, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We rented 4 cabins this past weekend for a family gathering. Two of the cabins were 2-bedroom, and the other two were 3-bedroom.

The 2-bedroom units were ok. About what you'd expect from a state park. Somewhat dated. Leaky bath in one. Not much updating done in the recent past.

The 3-bedroom units were a little nicer. Possibly remodeled with the past decade.

The park itself is nice. We have a very good time.

We had two gripes while there. First, none of our cabins had an outdoor charcoal grill. Some other cabins had them, just not any of ours. We called and asked why.....we were told that "they rot, so we just remove them and don't replace them." Really? It's called amenities. Geez.....

The other gripe is that we asked for a late checkout at check-in and basically were told to call at checkout time to see if it was possible. Lack of systems...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just returned home from a trip to General Butler State Park,we stayed 3 nights in a cottage/cabin that was excellent. The staff at the front desk are the nicest anywhere,they go out of their way to make you happy,always smiling,My husbands birthday was the day we arrived and they gave us a very nice platter with fruit and cookies.
Our cabin was very nice,we always try to get 536,it has a screened in porch in which we enjoy,the cabin was very fresh and clean,the AC worked great The cabin was stocked with utensils,beds were nice and comfy,We also stayed the first night in cabin 511 which was very nice also.
The restaurant was fabulous! ,Nice buffet for the price and the breakfast burrito was so delicious! Hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to go somewhere for the weekend but not drive for hours and hours. With a little Internet research we chose Gen. Butler State Resort Lodge. We have a toy poodle so I called first and made sure they were pet friendly-which they were. We drove up and upon turning in we were excited. The road leading to the lodge was beautiful, crossing over the river we got to see the paddle boaters, then on to the golf course where we stopped right in the middle of the road to gawk at the deer who were eating peacefully. It was beautiful, peaceful. We immediately knew we had made a good choice for a relaxing weekend. The lodge was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. We were given information about pet expectations and lots of info on things to do at the resort.
We checked in our room which had 2 double beds. It was nice enough. The room looked like it had not been stayed in for a little while and had a few spiders in it (we are in the wild outdoors) but other than that was clean and met our expectations. The pool was gigantic and right outside our door! It's open 9a to 9p so as not to disturb sleep. They had lots of activities. We picnicked went on the little train ride, hiked, had Hawaiian shaved ice and swam. We had a great time and WILL go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008
Location: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — General Butler State Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Butler State Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.