We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown food, good prices and a great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welch's Riverside Restaurant

Welch's Riverside Restaurant
505 Main St, Ste 1, Carrollton, KY 41008-2051
502-732-9118
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 restaurants in Carrollton
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hometown food, good prices and a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate a Welch's on a Saturday morning for breakfast. It is a hometown, local joint. Nothing fancy here. Lots of senior citizens that looked like they meet every Saturday (possibly everyday) for coffee before they're off to run the plows.

I had an omelette, and it was excellent. Home fries were very good too. Pancake....good too. Yummy.

Service was prompt and polite. Again, nothing fancy here.

The facility is again, just plain Jane. The best part of the facility is that it has a wonderful view of the ohio river.

I'd definitely eat here again. Especially for the western omelette.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    9
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in this small town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We always look for some good home home cooking while away from home and this spot did not disappoint! We went for a late breakfast-which is served all day, by the way. We parked on the square and walked over. It looked small from the outside but it was quite large inside and had an old timey feel to it. Upon entering we were told to sit anywhere we wanted. (They are also smoke free which was perfect for us!) They have an AMAZING view of the river so we chose a table close the back. The waitress was super nice and chatted with our kids. Our food came fast and every single thing was fantastic, just like mom would make! As we were leaving the lunch crowd was coming in. When we visit Carrollton again we will for sure go back to Welch's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Country Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I enjoyed my dinner and the view and the waitress was very nice. Good food, Good service, and a nice view. Pretty awesome if you ask me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meal,, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Laid back,,great food and service.. Wonderful view of the river.. Local dinners.. A hit.. We are new to the are and as empty nesters we eat out a lot and this is on our top 5 list

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good service, good quality food, good serving size. I would go back again when I am in town. It appeared to be clean everywhere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welch's Riverside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Welch's Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welch's Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.