We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in the glory of nature.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Barkley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Barkley Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Barkley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090   |  
Hotel amenities
DelrayBeach, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort in the glory of nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

No matter what your interests are, enjoying the beauty of the lake and surrounding landscape or acutally getting out on the water and enjoying all the water sports this is a beautiful place to enjoy your vacation. There is boating, water-skiing, rafting, swimming, fishing, biking, hiking, birdwatching, tennis, golf, picnicking, and more! And nearby is a waterpark and other historical sights to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    55
    41
    25
    9
See reviews for
67
37
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville,KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Barkley Lodge is a wonderful place to go. My children love it here. The staff are the best. The rooms are nice, and the view is to die for! We stay every chance we get.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We just returned from a "get away" trip to Lake Barkley State Resort Park. We had a wonderful, relaxing time! I would highly recommend the lodge if you are wanting a relaxing get away. We wanted to slow down,take it easy, and relax and this is the place to do that. If you go, make sure that you understand there are not alot of activities and things to do close by-it will involve a drive off the property. The state park does offer activities-none that we could participate in, tho.We enjoyed the antique stores in nearby Cadiz and took a day drive over to Land Between The Lakes. Our lodge room was wonderful-very clean and neat with a wonderful balcony view of the lake. We had a handicapped equipt room. Our only issue with the room was the first morning, we could hear the housekeeping staff talking VERY LOUDLY outside at about 7:30 am-normally we would have been up-but-we were wanting to sleep in a little...The housekeeping staff were all VERY friendly and they kept our room very clean. We enjoyed breakfast at the lodge dining room, and enjoyed the game room as well. The facilities could be a little more handicapped freindly- the elevator is a very tight fit for a wheelchair.Our last morning, they were washing the upper dining room windows, and it made the wheelchair ramp very wet. Our time at Lake Barkley lodge was wonderful, and we will return!

  • Disliked — it would be nice if at least 1 of the trails could be handicapped accessable!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

This is a state government owned and operated property which provides advantages as well as disadvantages to its visitors. In general, the facility has a similar ambience to lodges found in national parks - convenient, but with no frills.

In early October, 2008 my husband, my 85 year old mother who uses a wheelchair, and I stayed one night at the state resort on Lake Barkley, about 8 miles west of Cadiz, Kentucky. Signage in Kentucky is not always good, so check out a detailed map before you head for the lodge.

The state park area is tranquil, very beautiful, and the lake is a stone's throw from each guest room and all the facilities. The lodge portion consists of 2 wings, each having 2 stories, and wheelchairs can only be used on the upper floors. The accessible room given to my mother had not been cleaned after the last guest's stay. And although the manager gave us a generous discount on the rate, the ordeal of changing rooms was somewhat frustrating and very tiresome for my mother.

Internet connectivity at the lodge was virtually non-existent. And due to the remoteness of the area, our EVDO card did not work either. We had borderline cell phone reception in the parking lot.

The resort puts on a hearty “meat and potatoes” dinner buffet with a wide variety of offerings at a very reasonable price. Morning coffee can be made in the rooms. Just a note: a state law prohibits the sale or serving of alcohol anywhere, in any form, on Sundays. The restaurant’s wheelchair accessibility works, but the arrangements are not especially easy or well lighted.

The professionalism of the staff was so-so, and the level of cleanliness of the prepared rooms was about the same.

My biggest disappointment with the "resort" is that I feel that a government run facility should set an example and make a better than average effort to provide access to the public who happen to move about in wheelchairs. Nevertheless, my husband and I might someday return to enjoy the many trails, caves and the lakes in this area of Kentucky.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Handicap access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

For a special small family reunion, we chose Lake Barkley SP that was central to all.

We were there 3 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is a problem if an event is going on at their meeting center building. We had a good view of the lake and a large balcony. The rooms are very small but clean. At the rate paid I would of thought we'd had a small frig and or a microwave but there wasn't. The tile in the bathroom and decor was recently done and looked beautiful. The room had high ceilings and a rustic decor.

There is a nice playground for the kids. The game room, while dated, does have free pool table and ping pong (you pay for a reuseable ping pong ball) and the games played for a quarter. A newer game room would of had $1 games and not in our family's budget.

We were disappointed with the indoor pool area. Though its large, the water was salty. When an indoor pool's water is salty, its old water thats been treated and treated and needs replaced. Also there was a birthday pool party going on and it was irritating that our pool stuff we brought kept being mistaken for theirs and we had to keep retrieving it from the party (somoene from the party would gather toys and pile them over where their stuff was).

The fitness room is large and there's a yoga room too. However neither are open early in the morning. So my husband just jogged the parking lot for his early morning routine. An earlier open time would of been nice.

The only information we had in our room for the diningroom was a special flyer concerning a Chicken Dinner for Six and other kid's specials. So one evening we did a carryout order of the Chicken dinner and two kids burger meals and fed 4 adults and 4 kids on $30. The best meal was the cookout we had at one of the picnic areas.

If you need a town fairly close for a grocery, walmart, pharmacy etc, Murray was not too far. We went there for our cookout food.

We recommend Kaylee's restaurant. We had breakfast there one morning and wish so much we had gone back there the 2nd morning. Stay away from the Huddle House!

We went to the Marina and bought a 1 day fishing license for $10 ea. We fished down the hill from our rooms but wished we had gone elsewhere. Too much debris in the water.

The gift shop isn't as expensive as other State Park's we've been to.

Overall we had a good time. The area is beautiful. We didn't have to drive 5 miles up the lodge road to get to the lodge, like many state parks do. The area was quiet, clean and safe for kids. Family friendly. But Id have to have a lower rate to feel like its more worth it to stay there.

  • Liked — Family entertained, carryout specials from diningroom, the lake.
  • Disliked — Value of rate paid, indoor pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

The wife and I stayed here for two nights for a little in-state vacation and it wasn't bad. We had a coupon for a free night stay at KY state resort parks so we chose this and the Kentucky Dam Village SRP over other local hotels. The "lodge" (the motel-style rooms in contrast to stand-alone cabins) is in a nicely wooded area surrounded by a nice amount of wildlife. While the rate was around $90 a night even before Memorial Day, the level of the room was that of a two-star motel. The room had a decent view of the lake and the balcony outside the room was pleasant (except for the requisite mosquitoes). The room was clean and basically appointed, however there was no information in the room as to the hotel amenities, like the restaurant hours or on-site vending/laundry facilities. The double bed and pillows were small and uncomfortable and I believe very few rooms have queen or king beds. The Wi-Fi and cable TV did work fine, but there were no movie channels available. We ate at the restaurant one night and the buffet was reasonably priced with food about the level of your average Cracker Barrel. The on-site gameroom was rather outdated but it did have a free pool table and ping pong paddles available. Lake Barkley was a bit better than KY Dam Village when we stayed there two days prior, but I think that you can do much better for the price in the Land Between the Lakes area than the state resort parks.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

This is a really nice area (quiet, and relaxed). The lodge rooms are good, (not the best), but for a state park they are good. If you don't like a very soft bed you will not enjoy their beds. I had to sleep on the floor as the bed was so soft my back was hurting.

One thing that upset me was when I checked in about 1PM the desk clerk told me that the people in the room I was going in had not checked out yet. I asked about the checkout time and he said it was 12Noon, but that was it. He said to come back in about an hour. I came back about 2:30PM and was told the people were still in the room. So I asked why haven't you called and asked them to check out. Finally he called and the people were not in the room, (their stuff was still there but not the people). He then called housekeeping who said they had not seen the people since earlier in the morning. I finally asked them to put me in the other suite room. All in All it seems the hotel did nothing to ensure the people checked out on time. I would hope the hotel charged the people for another night since they were at least 21/2 hours late in checking out.

The hotel has a nice dinning room which is open from 7-10 for breakfast, 1130-4PM for Lunch and 5-8 for dinner. Food is nothing special but prices are good.

There are many hiking trails (nothing spectacular, but nice), an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a racketball court, weightroom, hot and dry sauna's and tennis and basketball courts. There is also a game room (small pool table and two ping pong tables with some outdated video games). The rooms (at least the suite we stayed in) has a nice TV 27", clean bathroom, a small kitchen with utensils and a small refrigerator.

There is a nice regulation 18 Hole golf course on the premises which runs about $38.00 with cart included.

Great place for family getaway and a nice golf course. Not much to do around the local area. A small town called Cadiz is about 10 miles away and Paducah is about 50 miles away. Fort Campbell and the town of Hopkinsville is about 30 miles from the lake area.

If you are looking for a nice quiet getaway, this is your place. IF you are looking for shopping and such, not the place for you.

I hope this helps everyone looking and thinking about Lake Barkley resort.

  • Liked — Nice rooms with good quality rooms and furniture.
  • Disliked — The bed was a little too soft and the front desk clerk was very lazy in his duties.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Barkley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Barkley Lodge

Address: 3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cadiz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Barkley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Barkley State Resort Park has accommodations for every kind of travelers, including the comfortable Barkley Lodge and a large camping site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Lake Barkley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Barkley Lodge
Barkley Hotel Cadiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Barkley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.