We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa

Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa
Road 44A | Dat Do District, Phuoc Hai, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Phuoc Hai
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked the hotel right before the Tet Holiday (Chinese New Year) which it turned out may have been the vest time of year. With the exception of one other couple I had noticed, we had the entire resort to ourselves. Despite the snow in my Philadelphia, the weather here was warm, the sky clear. The resort is located right on the beach where the water was a comfortable 80 degrees. The staff is very friendly. I booked one of the rooms that have a balcony. The extra dollars are worth the view and evening sea breezes. The location is rather secluded, not within walking distance to anything except beach. Fortunately, the food in the resort was excellent and reasonably priced, breakfast complimentary. a weight, room, game room and two pools with Jacuzzi along with miles of beach, provided ample recreation,. As we left, the day before Tet, the resort was quickly filling up. Our timing was perfect.

The town has many small shops with good bargains, but you will need a cab to get there. Taxis in Viet Nam are cheap, but the cost will start to accrue and is time consuming. There is a Buddhist temple within walking distance (about 1 mile) which was under construction and nearly completed that is worth seeing.

Be advised that anywhere you go in south Viet Nam, bring insect repellent, mosquitoes are small, barely visible and relentless in their appetite for those of us with sweet blood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A beautiful and not expensive resort with a good restaurant and helpful staff should be rated "very good" but a few details stopped my mouse on "average":
1. Breakfast completely conceived for local customers. No cakes at all and I was under the impression that a horde of Vandals ransacked the buffet just before me spilling coffee and seizing cutlery
2. The tiny TV set in the "chalet de luxe" C8 could be exposed in a museum
3. WIFI works poorly
4. Recent floods and rough sea have swallowed the beach that is now sitting six feet below the access and is only a few yards wide
5. Ants at the restaurant
Not a train smash; just some room to improve

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hochiminh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stay 2 nights with family there . Expect more than what we could get. Not well maintained and service is poor. Not recommended to come back again . Mosquitos are huge and the beach is not nice. Nha trang would be better. For eating need to go to Vung Tau center for good and cheap food

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Had a short break from the buzz of Ho Chi Minh City. The hotel is a couple of hours away from HCMC and that included bits and pieces of traffic jams in some areas. The hotel was nice and spacious and had an open plan entry although can do with a brighter lighting everywhere. We were taken to our room and we booked a beachfront villa which was nice, again, the room lighting was quite dim. The room facilities was good and had everything we would see in a 5* hotel. We ended up having dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was average for Vietnamese food standard but sufficient. It was not busy when we got there so we were given a full service during our visit. We enjoyed the pool and the spa and the spa rates are amazingly very cheap by hotel standard without compromising quality. The only downside for us is the beach. It's not clear so we did not swim at the beach and the surroundings of the beach needs improvement. Rubbish everywhere. But pool was good and still we had a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Based on other travellers reviews, I went to this resort with both my vietnamese relatives including a disabled old person and 3 french young chidren. We stayed at ocean view "villas". Old rooms were clean, sea and beach were there... That's all !

Beach and sea : At low tide, in addition to various wastes (glass, plastics), guests will notice an interesting water flow raising out of the sand and arriving, into the sea, just coming from the hotel area. This puts serious doubts on management of water wastes by the resort. Advice swimmers to care about significant lateral stream. It is better to avoid high tide when swimming, especially for any swimmer not well experienced.

Staff : This is unusual enough in Vietnam to be mentioned: staff was more concerned by administrative tasks (making papers to be signed, requesting coupons) than to make sure the old people feel confortable. The hotel manager was quite difficult to reach for a talk and unable to solve some problems that occured at arrival and during the stay in a standard professional way.

Food : do not expect any kind of fresh seafood there. We had in addition several "interesting" experiences with various dishes ordered. It would be better to avoid eating at the resort... but there is not much alternatives....

Location : Forgot dining or discovering outside if you don't have you own mean of transportation during the whole stay. Vung Tau is 30 km from the place (45 minutes). This is not so much.... But the hotel has only one car -unavailable- and there is only one taxi around. It is however possible to find alternative restaurants in the small village 10 km from the place. Do not even try to bring some food from the market. We did it one time and were charged an equivalent of 2 dinners (50 USD) by the resort to make some 2 kg of shrimps grilled...

Billing : Check carefully your bill when leaving the hotel. It is quite unpleasant to discover at home that you were charged for several things you didn't ordered.

I've been in vietnam for 4 years and experienced a wide range of hotels as my professional commitments make me travelling more than 100 nights per year.

I definitly do not advice the place. It has too much to improve for even a 3 stars... starting by changing the management staff.

There are many much better hotel for the same price in Vietnam....

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Although the staff are hepfull the hotel is very much 2 stars on the best day. Beach has a lot of glass and the sea is polluted so the main selling point of this hotel is poor. We stayed at a villa which was functional but nothing special. So, yes it's not far from HCMC but better to go to Mui Ne for beach and sea.

Room Tip: haggle for room price as the hotel dring the week is empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I took part of my staff to this hotel for a company outing. The greeting we received when we arrived was nothing short of fabulous. The staff were literally falling over themselves to welcome us. Four staff greeted the coach and helped with the luggage, others handed out welcome drinks and the manager even came out to say hello. A large sign was placed at the top of the stairs to the lobby welcoming us. Of course, they wouldn't do this for individuals, but it was quite nice.

The grounds are not spacious, but they make the best possible use of the one plus hectare they have. The beach was very nice the day we were there and the pool is good size and situated right above the beach. I was in a bungalow, which is very nice. The only negative is that it takes the air-con some time to cool it down as it is quite good sized. The regular rooms in the main building where my staff stayed are rather small, so if you can, take a bungalow.

We had lunch in the restaurant and the food was very good. It was Vietnamese, so I can't comment on the western cuisine. But for Vietnamese food, it was well prepared, nicely presented and the service was excellent.

There is not much to do near by the resort, but the cities of Ba Ria and Vung Tau are just a few minutes drive down the coast. For a nice weekend getaway or a short resort stay, this place is really quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Road 44A | Dat Do District, Phuoc Hai, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Phuoc Hai
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Phuoc Hai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Beach Resort And Spa
Tropicana Beach Hotel Vung Tau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.