We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and grounds, rooms could use an update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) to your Saves list
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)
6371 State Park Road, Burkesville, KY 42717   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and grounds, rooms could use an update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here the end of June. We have stayed in other state park resorts, but never Dale Hollow, the large lake being the draw. The grounds are really beautiful and well kept. The room, although very clean, needed work. The bedspread was actually tattered, the sheets very thin with a few holes. We wanted our sheets changed only one of the nights to save water, but they did not change them just made the bed up with the dirty sheets. I could tell by the sames holes in the sheets:) It was hard to give an overall rating as other things about the park were very good. The pool was nice, clean, plenty of chairs. People were friendly. We stayed in a non view room, but really, all face the lake. The no view ones just have a ton of trees blocking the view.
We ate in the restaurant one breakfast and one dinner. I just got the salad/soup bar for dinner as there was too much fried food for my liking. Fresh salad and yummy soup!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nineteen family members spent a memorable weekend at this state park resort in a beautiful setting on a bluff overlooking the lake and viewing the surrounding Kentucky woodlands and the undeveloped hills of Tennessee. The lodge and convention center are impressively constructed of native limestone and timbers with rooms that are adequate and clean. All have balconies and many have views of the lake. The Island View Restaurant featured breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets that offered three or four meat selections and a variety of sides, salads, and desserts that were all deliciously prepared and in generous supply. We had a wonderful birthday celebration in a private meeting room in the conference center. This is a place where a family, ranging in age from seventy-one to three, all had a great time playing, swimming, eating, relaxing, and celebrating together. We left hoping for more times like this in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge closest to restaurant and convention center have the best views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The lake view is awesome to bad you can't get to it unless you drive to the marina, we didn't find time for that on this trip but will defiantly be back to site see. The people are friendly and the rooms were very clean but old. Take snacks with you because the lodge restaurant is the only hot food source within miles (during certain hours ONLY) and its not very good but the service was great. We did encounter a problem with the private dining room that was booked for our meeting in that we were not allowed to bring in our own beverages and that was a specific agreement at the time of booking. Our group will not stay at any other ky state parks in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our room was modest, but clean. The room could use updating and more pillows. We upgraded to a room with a view and it was worth it. We had a balcony that overlooked the lake and were able to enjoy a spectacular sunset and sunrise. The restaurant is very attractive. The food was good and reasonably priced for a place with no competition in the area. Overall, the lodge is a good value. We enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

You won't have many options for lodging in Kentucky on Dale Hollow Lake. This state park lodge is one of the few in the state that accomodates and allows boat trailer parking on the hotel grounds. The modest rooms are clean, with balconies (limited views in summer because of tree foliage) and the resort has a restaurant. The Lake is beautiful and though you can't walk along the water at the resort if you go down to the marina the parking lot on the right has access to trails skimming the lake and on to a cove that offers great swimming. If you aren't camping this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Their king bed rooms are all handicap rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed two nights and three days at Dale Hollow Lodge with beautiful weather. We had stayed in the lodge the first year it opened and were glad to see the additions to the property like the putt-putt, marina, etc. The lodge was clean and accommodating. Food in the dining room good as at all other state parks. My biggest beef was that we paid an upgrade for the lakeview rooms and could barely see the lake - we were on the second floor. Definitely not what I remembered from our visit in 1998. The view was perfect then and is what made me want to come back. I would suggest cutting down a few trees or at least trim them as the view is important to the ambiance of the lodge. There was actually a big dead tree directly behind the restaurant obstructing that view also. Also, dissappointed we didn't see any wildlife. We rode around the park several times and no deer in the fields or even raccoons behind the lodge as in previous trip. Additionally, we rode to the campgrounds to participate in one of the planned activities, waited and found no one showed up. Nevertheless, we had a fantastic time -- we rented a pontoon at the marina and spent an entire day of the lake. FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a trip with my husbands place of employment! We checked in on a Thursday. Loved the pool that afternoon and then headed to the lake the next day! We brought our pontoon boat with us and my husbands boss rented a ski boat for all the kids. Well needless to say, the kids loved the lake. Beautiful weather while we were there the first part of July. The rooms are spacious and I just fell in love with the bathroom storage. DIY here I come - I'm gonna do that at home!! We did not eat at the restaurant while we were there but others in our party said it was good! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)

Address: 6371 State Park Road, Burkesville, KY 42717
Location: United States > Kentucky > Burkesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) Hotel Burkesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.