We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted...mouse in the house” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) to your Saves list
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)
6371 State Park Road, Burkesville, KY 42717   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Madisonville, Tennessee
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disgusted...mouse in the house”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Came for a wedding this past summer. This place is a DUMP. Every room wreaked of mold and mildew. The furniture in the room was damp and clammy making it unusable. The day we checked out, I found a mouse and a giant beetle living behind our dresser. When I confronted the front desk about it, they acted like it was no big deal and that we were crazy for trying to complain about it. I would NEVER stay here again and will do everything in my power to keep people from wasting their money on this place. A mouse....really? Anyone who gave this place a good review was either paid by the staff or high on meth.

Room Tip: Pack a tent. It will be more comfortable, smell better, and probably not house any mice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredonia, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I went to the Dale Hollow Lake Resort to attend a wedding. It was somewhat nice. The area is beautiful being up in the Kentucky Hills and everything. There isn't really much charm to the place. They have a pool they close at night, and no lake access. The majority of the guests are from a 2 hour radius around the lake that come to bring their boats and jet skis. The lodge presents a place to get a good nights sleep and a good shower. I must say that the staff was the best part. My housekeepers name was kyna i believe, and she was awesome. Vaughn behind the desk was cool and Krystal took care of us as well. If i spelled these names wrong I apologize, but they were worth mentioning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clay aity, ky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This lodge has everything you could ask for - beautiful view - relaxing weekend - we also had great weather - The food at the lodge was wonderful and everyone from the front desk clerk to the housekeepers was friendly and very helpful. If you also want some "wonderful" food - take the short 15 minute drive into Burkesville and eat at Hamilton's BBQ - it is a rustic type place with the BEST BBQ you will ever experience anywhere. We did a little fishing down at the Marina - the front desk will even lend you fishing poles and equipment - there is a little island across the lake that is a summer camp run by the State Troopers for kids. At night it is lit up with beautiful lights that you can enjoy from your great balcony overlooking the lake. I would recommend this park to anyone - old and young.

Room Tip: We used the coupon for 2 nites - $100.00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This lodge in architecture and view could be a hidden gem in Ky for a destination, however the whole food experience at this place has gone down the toilet in the last few years leaving more than a bad taste from just horrible food.
Tucked on a bluff with breathaking view, a huge dining room does not even begin to hint at the total lack of professional food service. The servers are not to blame, as they are as attentive as possible, but in the depths of the kitchen and management lies a serious problem. After you make a long inconvenient trek on poor country roads, you are at the mercy of a kitchen staff that is so lacking in all that you expect in amenities of such a fine lodge.
1/food was ill prepared, served cold, without garnish,
2/food not as listed on the menu, many ad lib of horrible substitutes of ingredients in food on the menu
3/poorly prepared food slopped on the plates
4/menu items are an embarrassment of variety - most are fatty, overcooked, no alternative in "green" or Ky Proud natural ingredients
5/preparation and portions are so variable it was an embarrassment after we made a hour drive and took "guests' here to eat and relax
6/would not have been any value to food had it been FREE
There is no alternative in the closest town to any pleasureable food service alternative, so you are a captive audience or perhaps better a 'victim' of the food to be taken for your leisure dining money as well as to be seriously dissapointed in food that is inedible with no apology from the food service staff.
The desk, and table servers were attentive, but clearly uncomfortable with the situation of no professioalism or knowledge coming from the kitchen management or staff.
This is a travesty of a location and buildings that would be a gem for destination for weekend or longer stays, but unless you plan to subsist on snack vending food, or bring your own hot plate and cook, or arrive with your own camper or houseboat with your own kitchen, there is no reason to waste gas to drive or to plan a long term stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexilou412
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The rooms very very clean and well maintained...however, the bed was comparable to sleeping on a log. The food in the resturant was by far the most terrible...well below average at best....the service was the pits, servers were rude and they were slow. Buffet was not maintained at all and we sat at least 15 minuets with a very hungry small child before someone come and took our drink order and another 10 minuets before recieving drinks. I do not recommed this stay at all! TERRIBLE!

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Dale Hollow Lake is a good example of what State Parks can offer the traveller who just wants a peaceful retreat. However, boat hire (with 620 miles of shoreline there’s plenty to see) and golf are close by. Fireflies and racoons provide some entertainment!
There are various trails, although none are well marked from the lodge. Also, they tend to vanish then reappear again some distance further on. There is no access to the lake from the lodge or trails.
There appeared to be an excellent activity programme for children.
Rooms are classic good size motel style, clean and well presented. Lake view rooms are well worth the little extra they cost. Disabled facilities appeared to be good.
The restaurant was average at best, and for some reason the servers always steered you away from the main menu to the buffet. The much vaunted stone fireplace (see KY Parks web site) unfortunately blocked out much of the lake view.

  • Liked — The wonderful location
  • Disliked — Restaurant let it down a bit
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

accomidations were great, well maintained. Dining room service
was slow but food was average to good.

  • Liked — clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — no cellular phone service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)

Address: 6371 State Park Road, Burkesville, KY 42717
Location: United States > Kentucky > Burkesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) Hotel Burkesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.