We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS PROPERTY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bowling Green

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bowling Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bowling Green
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Three Springs Road, Bowling Green, KY 42104   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Bowling Green
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS PROPERTY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Returning from a holiday visit with our family we arranged to stop over in Bowling Green which, though not at a mid-point in our two day drive, features one of our favorite reataurants (the Montana Grill....see that review).

In the past we've stayed at the Drury Inn when we traveled with our dog (nice people but the facility is getting a bit tired), at the Courtyard by Marriott (reasonably well appointed, some rooms are clean, staff is a bit cold) and the Fairfield Inn (don't consider it). This time around....again having our puppy with us....we decided to try the Hampton Inn and, as a result, we now have a hotel to add to our favorites list.

For a very competitive price the Hampton in Bowling Green is first class. Parking is convenient to doors located on all four sides of the hotel (which, save for the lobby, are key coded for security). The lobby is very open, attractive and up-to-date and has a good set-up for both visiting and the morning breakfast (also very well done) that's included with your room. The front desk team members are great, efficient and make you feel very welcome. The elevators to the upper floors are located in the center of the hotel so access is easy from anyplace in the interior or from any entrance.

As noted we were traveling with our small dog. From what we can tell the hotel puts guests with pets in the rear half of the first floor thereby providing easy access to grassy areas in the rear of the property and keeping the pet owners and the non-pet owners in seperate parts of the facility. Great plan from our perspective.

The rooms are spacious and VERY CLEAN. Featuring white duvat bed covers there's no guessing if the top of the bed is clean or not (it is). Nice being in a hotel where you can flop down on the bed knowing it's immaculate. The bed itself featured a variety of pillows. Based on zero reaction from our dog there was no evidence than another pet had every been in the room and the room smelled great. Storage is super (end tables and a large dresser under the flat screen) in addition to shelves under the bathroom sink. The modern bathroom....with excellent lighting....contained additional shelves under the sink for your "stuff" so the sink area itself remained very workable. There was a lighted alcove OUTSIDE of the bathroom for the coffee pot, ice bucket, etc. Much to our surprise there was also a safe in the closet. You control the room temperature with a thermostat.

Net/net, we've stayed at some very first class facilities throughout the world and though we're not talking about the Four Seasons here, this was as well done and comfortable facility as we've stayed at for some time. If you're going to be in Bowling Green we recommend this facility be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    51
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
51
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Marys, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

The room was comfortable, clean and had an excellent bed. Nothing remarkable though. Checked in late and asked for late checkout. Housekeeping was knocking and unlocking the door at the regular checkout time. Had LCD screen, iron, Wifi, etc.

According to a sign in the breakfast area the county health department does not allow them to prepare the typical Hampton breakfast buffet. Hot items were in a glass freezer and you nuke them. They were good but not like many of the other Hampton hotels. You could make a fresh waffle though. The attendant was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Very nice place to stay. Extremely clean, super staff, roomy rooms, great wifi in rooms. Pool was closed for the season, but the fitness center was good. Morning breakfast had great waffles, rolls, and the usual cereal and muffins. No eggs or meat in a warmer, apparently the local health dept has an issue with that according to a sign at the breakfast area. We were very pleased with this hotel. Very quiet. A good value if you qualify for one of the discounted rates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed here for one night on business. Checked in early afternoon and when I walked in the room it smelled like cigarette smoke. Checked the door and it said it was a no smoking room. After turning on the AC the smell got much worse.

Not sure if this was a smoking room they converted to NS or what but it was not acceptable. The vent in the bathroom - see picture - had not been cleaned in a long time so maybe it is just the overall ventilation system that is dirty. They have a smoking floor below so maybe the smoke comes up. I went to the desk and they said there were no other King rooms, this with the parking lot empty!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I went to Bowling Green for the Super Chevy weekend at Beech Bend Raceway. It was a spur of the moment thing and we were traveling by the seat of our pants, as we usually do. We usually always look for a Hilton property so that we are never disappointed and it seems to work for us every time. The Hampton is located near the interstate, but it sits back far enough, you don't even realize the interstate is right there. It is in a great location, tons of restaurants to choose from, some of them within walking distance. The hotel itself is very accomodating, the staff is fantastic!! Our only complaint, even though I am an "outdoor" smoker, is that it does have a cigarette smoke smell in some areas. I am sure that this has to do with the fact that they still offer smoking rooms. I just bought a candle and lit it whenever we were in the room. The breakfast is fantastic and they have the sweetest women working the breakfast area. We were looking for a place to eat that offered fried pickles and they were very helpful in suggesting a place to go. We will definately be back!!! Don't overlook going downtown Bowling Green if you get the chance, it's a great place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnBG, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bowling Green, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Reviews like this make our day!
We strive daily to make sure our guests are comfortable and happy with their stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and if we can be of any assistance to you please give us a call! Have a great day and thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Bowling Green
Michael Nunn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

On the more developed west side of I-65, with plenty of fast food and other chain restaurants. The room smelled a bit musty and mildewed, but it was generally clean but quite plain, even for a Hampton Inn. Sparse furniture and small TV. The breakfast was typical, and the seating area way too small for the crowd. Even with AAA, I spent over a $100/night, which is way more than it was worth. At least I got some Hilton Honors points. I would not stay here again but instead back at the La Quinta on the east side of I-65. Both are very close to I-65, but the La Quinta is newer and feels just much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, MS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We decided to stop in Bowling Green while headed to Indiana. We read the great reviews on TripAdvisor and stopped here to see if they had any rooms. The staff was wonderful! Many times people just ask questions not wanting a response but not this staff. They were very friendly and interested in what we had to say. After checking in, we went to grab something to eat. Again, upon arrival back to the hotel, the staff was interested in how things went and if there was anything they could do; they even suggested places to eat the next day. Once up in our room we realized the water was not working in the sink. It worked in the shower and the toliet flushed but trickled out of the sink. The staff was quick to respond and came up to see if it could be fixed. They immediately offered us the night for free and an upgrade to another room. We even had a letter from the manager waiting on us in our mail box when we got home apoligizing for the inconvience. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend them to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bowling Green

Address: 233 Three Springs Road, Bowling Green, KY 42104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowling Green
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bowling Green 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the birthplace of American speed...welcome to the Hampton Inn Bowling GreenHere at the Hampton Inn® in Bowling Green, we bet you've heard of our town. You might know us for our quaint and historical downtown. Maybe you've heard our name from the alums of Western Kentucky University. Or perhaps, just maybe, you've heard of another little product made here...the Corvette.At our hotel in Bowling Green, we're proud that our town is the home of General Motor's Corvette Assembly Plant and the National Corvette Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Bowling Green Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bowling Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.