We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green, KY 42103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Bowling Green
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's a good place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stay in Bowling Green pretty often because my wife has family nearby. We use the discount websites that don't let you see the hotel name and about two/thirds of the time we end up with this hotel. It is a big hotel meant for conferences so they are not often full. It is clean and the service is good. My only complaints are the mattress felt a little worn (felt the springs a little bit and they kind of tilted to the middle) and the showers are noisy. These details don't really bother me at the discounted price we pay but they might concern me a little bit more if I paid full price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    56
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
51
22
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our room was very nice and clean. The pool was clean and kept well stocked with towels. The inside of this hotel was very pretty and the night staff that checked me in was friendly as can be. I was disappointed there was not a spa in the pool area. And I don't like they have 2 bottles of $3 water they want to sell you in the room, I hate when hotels do that, and trying to explain to my little kids why they could not drink that water was not easy Overall we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our 6th floor room with two double beds was spacious with a work desk and roll-away chair, free Wi-Fi, and side chair with ottoman.

The bathroom was clean with large, snow-white hand and bath towels.

There was a bedside radio and a telephone plus a second phone on the work desk.

A choice of pillows covered the bed's duvet.

We thought this Holiday Inn was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my second time at this property and the staff is great and the hotel is very nice. The restaurant staff is very friendly as well. Y The rooms are great and the water fall in the lobby is very nice and creates a nice calming affect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! The beds are comfortable with down pillows. The indoor pool was great with the kids watching a storm while swimming! The rooms are spacious and spotless. Breakfast is amazing! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Let me start this off by saying I stayed at this hotel approx. one year ago. Last year when I went to take a shower I found dirty linen in the bath tub. This year booked this hotel for two nights as I was attending some meetings in town at the convention center. I went to take a shower and found the past guests dirty hairy soap still in the shower, makes me wonder how clean the shower actual was. I went ahead and shower, went to the front desk and told them about the issue, they agreed that was nasty and would make a note for housekeeping to take care of it. Later that same day I went back to my room after housekeeping had beeen in, what did I find but the same soap with the nasty hairs on it still in my shower. I went to the front desk and complained they said it would be taken care of, I went out for supper and was gone for a few hours. When I came back the dirty hairy soap was gone, but who knows if they cleaned the tub properyly or not.

Next day I was running a little behind and decided to just make some coffee in my room using the in room coffee maker, this was a mistake as I looked at the coffee pot I found old coffee stains and a pubic hair!! That was enough for me, I will not stay at this location again, if I have to be in Bowling Green again I will stay somewhere else.

I have attached a couple of pictures.

I should say the front desk staff was very nice and seemed to care, the housekeeping staff on the other hand needs to find another line of work or have some intensive training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Chris C -
Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience. We have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper and we will share the content of your review with our Housekeeping staff and utilize this as a training tool. You can rest assured that this was firmly addressed and won't happen again. That is not the standard of cleanliness we have for our hotel and we find it unacceptable. We believe this was an isolated occurrence and apologize to you for any inconvenience. It is our goal for every guest to have a great experience and we are embarrassed that we didn't accomplish that with you.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to the next time you are in Bowling Green. Should you grant us that opportunity, you can contact me directly, and I will personally make sure you're taken care of. Feel free to contact me at the hotel.
Best Regards ~ Brian ~ GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions. The indoor pool keeps the kids happy and the the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and their are some many restaurants nearby so dining is easy. Just one thing to know, breakfast is not free, so if that is important, this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Elevators are alittle slow, so if you are going to be in and out a lot, get a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Address: 1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green, KY 42103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Bowling Green, Kentucky is awaiting for you at the Holiday Inn University Plaza. This unique atrium style high rise hotel is surrounded by the links of CrossWinds Golf and adjacent to the Sloan Convention Center. Fabulous restaurants and shops are within a few short blocks. Bowling Greens unique attractions such as the National Corvette Museum, Beech Bend Amusement Park and Raceway, Ag Expo and Western Kentucky University are all within eight miles. Our convenient location is midway between Interstate 65 exit 22 and historic downtown Bowling Green. Nashville International Airport is just over an hour's drive from the hotel's front door. The interior garden atrium of the Holiday Inn University Plaza offers security and comfort to guests who find their room entry visible from the lobby and the public areas of the hotel. All the guest rooms and suites are extra large, tastefully decorated, and equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, and 40 cable television channels. For your relaxation, we invite you to take a dip in our indoor pool and whirlpool or get a work-out in our health club which features cardio machines and free weights. The Hartland Café offers a quiet atmosphere to meet with friends and business associates as you enjoy an abundant country breakfast buffet. The Atrium Lounge is open seven days a week at 4:30 and specializes in Kentucky small batch bourbons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Holiday Inn Bowling Green
Bowling Green Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.