We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3160 Scottsville Road, Bowling Green, KY 42104 (Formerly News Inn of Bowling Green)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bowling Green
Coarsegold
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We had intended to stay at the Hampton, located across the street, but we thought it was over priced at $160. The Eono Lodge looked clean, had acceptable reviews on Tripadvisor, and was $60, We checked in and were plesantly surprised with the room. The room, bathroom, and bed were immaculately clean,. The bed was comfortable comfortable, The carpet was not worn, and the room did not have any offensive odors.
We had a restful night.

There was not the normal complimentary breakfast that is available at a Hampton, but a $100 savings was a pretty good alternative.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We've been traveling to Bowling Green quite a bit lately to visit family, and have needed to book motel rooms regularly. Our stay at the Hampton over Christmas was a bit underwhelming and we're trying to economize. So we looked into the Econolodge as an option. My wife has stayed there a couple of times on her own, but this was my first visit.
As noted, the Econolodge is an older, single-story motel right on Scottsville Road near the interstate. It is very nice to be able to pull your car right up to the door. Although it's a commercial area, it was relatively quiet (at least on the side facing away from the Speedway). The rooms are rather small, but functional. The furnishings are basic, but relatively new. The room was clean, and included a flat-screen TV (with cable), refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and iron. We had a king-sized bed, which was firmer than I prefer, but comfortable enough. There were only two towels and two washcloths, but they were new and of reasonably good quality. The handles on the shower controls were a bit stiff, but worked OK once we figured them out. We didn't try the continental breakfast.
For a basic, budget hotel, the Econolodge does everything right. They've raised the prices a bit recently. My wife paid about $50 back in January, and we paid about $64 (with tax) this time. (That could just be the difference between the single and the double's rate.) Still, it is about the low end for Bowling Green. And if your' not spending a lot of the time in your room anyway, the Econolodge gives you what you really need.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side facing the Red Roof Inn or in the back building. It's quieter ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel was updated a number of years ago but is very well maintained. It's pet friendly too. We have to carry an oxygen concentrator now, so being able to park right in front of the room is a plus for us. Linens are fresh, hot water and ac work well, a good $50 hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on business travel for over 25 years. What I love is very friendly and efficient front desk staff, clean rooms and quiet restful sleep. I carry lots of expensive trade samples in my car trunk and love the benefit of being able to park right at my room door without having to lug in all my sample cases nightly. Rooms now have been updated with good size flat screen tv's and they offer free WiFi. I love the fact I can get a king leisure room with efficient desktop for around $55.00 with travel book coupons located at rest stops on I65 north of Bowling Green. Owners are super nice people. Never had a bad experience at News Inn in all the years I've stayed here.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rooms are old but do have flat screen, microwave, fridge, hair dryer, coffee maker, high speed internet. Comfy beds; right on the main drag. We've stayed here 6-8 times over the years; not bad at all. Pool, too. The Olive Garden, our restaurant of choice last weekend, is a quick 2 minute walk over the parking lot. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup IA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the News Inn in March 2013. We had called several hotels and none of them had rooms at the last minute, so we were grateful to find a room at the News Inn.
The facilities are not the greatest and quite dated, but the staff couldn't have been friendlier. It was quiet with several options for dining nearby. If you are looking for a resort atmosphere this is not it, but if you are looking for a place to sleep, it is fine. Fruit, Juice, Coffee and rolls for breakfast were an added plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here the night of Feb. 23, 2013. We had trouble with the tv working in our first room and the lady at the desk changed rooms for us. The second room was fine. I;'m not sure what problems the earlier reviewers had, but we have stayed here 5 or 6 times and never had a problem that was not immediately addressed and corrected. The beds were comfortable. There was a mcirowave and refridgerator. It is not a fancy new place, but it is more than adequate for an overnight, especially when we only paid $55.12 including tax. There also is a pool for summer visits. It is right next to a convenience store for late night snack visits and Olive Garden, IHOP, and Outback across the street, as well as many more restaurants in the area. it is only one block off of I-65. We definitely will stay there again. Both ladies we delat with in the office were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3160 Scottsville Road, Bowling Green, KY 42104 (Formerly News Inn of Bowling Green)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.