We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchens' BBQ

Hutchens' BBQ
601 N. Main St., Benton, KY 42025-1236
(270) 527-9424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Benton
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The diner itself was a little run down, but that was part of it's charm (read the history of the place on the menu). Overall the BBQ was quite good, but the rest of it was just okay. The service was very good and when we visit the area again, I am sure we will stop here. Plenty of turkey on the sandwich, not so much on the pork. For the price, we kind of expected a bigger (thicker) sandwich.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were looking forward to checking out Hutchens, and were a little disappointed. BBQ was ok. Breakfast was ok, if you take away that canned gravy. Biscuit was excellent, though. Eggs not as I ordered, and my iced tea to go was supposed to be UNsweet, I guess that's outside the norm. The whole place does have that greasy spoon feel. Probably just happens to be where locals hang out, thus all the cars. Has to be the comraderie, it can't be for the food. Benton, you can do better...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast, it's a nice little place with very good prices! Food was good and well prepared. Great place to have a good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartonville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We happened on to Hutchen's while aimlessly driving around. On the outside, it looks like most ma and pa greasy spoons and that continued inside. After reading the story of it's history on the back of the menu, the fact that they are famous for their pulled pork and barbeque, I had some of the best barbeque ever. My daughter in law had a philly steak and cheese. It was literally a steak vs shaved meat. It was as good as it looked she claimed. It is worth the drive over if your on that side of Kentucky Lake. And Yes... get some corn nuggets, you will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvert City, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Corn Nuggets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I LOVE this place. I always get the small BBQ sandwich, corn nuggets, and mashed taters. Breakfast is good too. Don't go in expecting the ritz. This place knows that it is a local restaurant, and it is fine with that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutchens' BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hutchens' BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchens' BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.