We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very private and a bit annoying” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellevue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
319 Poplar St., Bellevue, KY 41073   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bellevue B&B and Inns
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not very private and a bit annoying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this bed and breakfast a few weeks ago. We had the Steeple Room. First I would say the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The large jacuzzi was very nice. However, the first thing you face when renting this room is having to walk through the kitchen where the breakfasts are made and where the owner apparently makes their own meals and where her daughter, mother, and grandchild sit in the day and in the evenings. Then you face an extroidinarily steep narrow set of stairs that are made more hazardous because the treads of the steps are not deep. You have to almost place your feet parallel to the risers, any adult's heel will definately be hanging off each step as you climb these very steep stairs. Do it with a heavy suitcase and you will find it very difficult. Also, the grandchild (and in our case, his friends) were a bit noisy as they played on the hardwood floors directly down from your room. At these prices any adult would expect peace and quiet and that was not the case. There is little on the breakfast menu and you must have your order in the kitchen by 8pm the night before and the breakfasts are fixed in time increments during the morning. I didn't feel the owner was very hospitalble at all. I have stayed in two other B&B's in northern Kentucky in the last few years and I would not recommend this one nor would I stay here again. It takes a certain kind of person to run a B&B - graciousness is required and I sure didn't find that here - plus the intrusion of the family into the facility made it uncomfortable. Maybe a room in the second house where the family is not located would be better, don't know. I just know that for the price and the claim of wonderful food, this is not where you want to be.

Room Tip: Not in the main house, check that out. There are two houses in the B&B, you want to stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellerHaus, Owner at Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We'd like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to visit our property as well as to let us know about your visit. We take our guests comments seriously and will address each of your concerns in this public forum so that all other potential guests will have an opportunity to understand our business and our property.

BREAKFAST--I would think that someone making a conscious choice to comment about the quality of food at our property would have at least eaten breakfast here. During this guests stay, she did not elect to have breakfast any of the three days, so I'm not quite sure how there can be a complaint about our food? The traveling partner had breakfast the day prior to this guests arrival, and I quite clearly recall that 90% of the meal was eaten-- as he sat in our kitchen, dined and kept me company. But, that being said, as a small bed and breakfast, 5 rooms, the ONLY claim that we make for our breakfast is that we can offer you a choice for your breakfast meal, (6 different items), we can offer breakfast in every room and that we can offer you a choice of time for your breakfast service. Beyond that, we make no claim to "gourmet breakfasts".....that would be a complete falsehood as I am not a gourmet cook! I do not post comments anywhere that we have wonderful food--any comments out there are by our customers. We are the only bed and breakfast in Northern Kentucky or Cincinnati that offers 6 entree choices for breakfast. We are not considered a restaurant and therefore your choices are going to be limited to what one person can prepare and get out in a timely manner to the guests. We do offer choices for every guest and have always accommodated special requests for vegan, vegetarian, allergy-issues, etc. We do like to have guests menus in by 8 pm the evening before breakfast. This allows us some advance preparation time and allows us to run out to the store to get items in case the customer with a special request failed to advise us at the time of the reservation. Better to be prepared in advance than to let the customer know when I deliver their breakfast that we were not able to accommodate their request for" turkey or vegan sausage". That could be perceived as "bad service" and "lack of caring" by some.

OUR FAMILY AT THE PROPERTY: We work very hard to insure that family members present at our property when guests are here keep the noise level to a minimum. And there are times when it takes a reminder. We understand that guests are looking for peace and quiet, but we ask that guests also understand they have made a choice to stay at a facility where an owner and/or family resides and that we also still have a business to run. Guests that have made a conscious choice to stay up until 1 or 2 in the morning (yes, we too can hear through walls and ceilings--but we accept that as owner of a BB) and choose to sleep past noon are going to be faced with noise in the morning and throughout the day. We still have a kitchen to clean up, our housekeeping staff is in doing their job, we are checking out guests and we are sometimes checking in guests early. And yes, there may be some family members in and out--but once breakfast is over, we must get on with our day and "mouse quiet" is not an option. Had this guest chosen to mention they were not happy with the room location or surroundings, I would have gladly moved them to another room with the equivalent amenities--we have two other suites with jacuzzi's for two, both in the other house. I cannot attempt to fix an issue that is not brought to my attention during your stay.

STAIRS--Our houses were built in 1885 and are two story properties---the building code back in 1885 was drastically different than it is today and therefore, stairs are extremely steep and narrow. Stair treads were added as a safety feature and in fact the treads that are on those stairs today are the upgraded version of what was required by the insurance company when they did their inspection of our property. We want to insure our guests are safe.

OUR KITCHEN--As for the fact that our one and only kitchen is at the entry point to the stairs to this suite (which has it's own door, by the way, and considered to be a private entrance) I'm not quite sure what to say about that--it is the design of the property. We do cook our meals in there and yes, we sometimes eat in that kitchen, whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner. So yes, you will find us in that area. The person that was mentioned as "my mother" was in fact a guest here on a 10-day stay who chose to meet our family, get to know us and spend some of her free time with us while she was staying at our property--she was NOT my mother. All guests are welcome in any area of our B&B except our personal space.

OUR PROPERTY DESIGN: Every bed and breakfast is unique in it's design and set up. Many B&B's have just one house for guests, with everything located in one facility. Others have a main house with additional cottages, some have two houses (like ours). In the majority of B&B's across the U.S., guests are entering an owner's private residence--as they are required to live on the property--and therefore will be interacting with the owner's and any family members that may be present on the property. While I would LOVE to have our quarters separate from these two buildings, that is not an option in our set up...and is the case for many B&B's. You take the hand your are dealt with your property and you do the best to make the set up work for you and the guests.

We treat every guest at our property with respect and dignity, welcome them into our home gracefully and are thankful for their business. We speak to every guest when we run into them, even those that may seem like they are not in the talking mood. We accommodate as many requests as we can and try to help guests get where they're going. If you call and ask us to get in touch with a guest, if they are on the property, we will do it. If they are not on the property at the time, we'll let you know, but will call them or text them to let them know someone is looking for them. Again, we try to resolve any issues that come up for those who make a choice to speak with us during their stay. Some can be remedied immediately, others may require some maneuvering--but we will ALWAYS do what we can to fix a problem when it is brought to our attention. No owner or manager can be expected to correct an unknown issue--in any business.

We do apologize that you didn't get the peace and quiet you were looking for, didn't enjoy your stay and felt our accommodations did not meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a wonderful experience. The room was decorated with beautiful furniture and accessories. We were upgraded when we got there to a bigger room. The room was very clean as were the towels and Jacuzzi. The gardens were beautiful. The location was easy access to where we wanted to go near the Ohio River. The owner was very nice and available. There were drinks and snacks in the community kitchen right outside our room. There were many movies available for free if you needed entertainment. The breakfast was served in our room and was over the top delicious. She has done a great job with this and I would love to stay there again. They also do weddings and it would be a beautiful garden to get married in. I was concerned about parking on the street but the neighborhood was quiet and safe and we had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellerHaus, Owner at Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property--thank you for extremely positive comments. Hopefully, we'll see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I always wanted to stay in a B&B and I'm so glad Weller Haus was my first. LeAnn has such an eye for detail. We stayed in the Dream Suite and it was very comfortable and clean. It was nice to have snacks waiting for us when we arrived. We walked in and the windows were open in our room with a nice breeze blowing in. The room is bright with lots of windows, which is nice during the day but does proove a problem if you want to sleep in also there is a bright uplight outside that shines right into one of the bedroom windows but the bed was so comfortable that I slept great anyway. The large jacuzzi tub was a great way to relax and the shower is fabulous! Plenty of water pressure and we never ran out of hot water. We had our breakfast served to our room each morning and it was fresh, hot and delicious both mornings. The location is fabulous for going to anything in Newport or Cincinnati. We had dinner at Virgil's on the main street in Bellevue at the recommendation of LeAnn and it was Fabulous! Have the hotbrown if you go and definately make a reservation. Long story short, we will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellerHaus, Owner at Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for the overwhelmingly positive comments about your stay at Weller Haus. We are always thrilled to get "first-timers" --- because we're convinced that it takes only one great experience at a bed and breakfast to make a customer a convert from hotels! I certainly hope this is the case with you two. And thank you for choosing Weller Haus. We know you have many choices when it comes to accommodations in our area, and we're grateful you placed your trust and hard earned $$$$ in Weller Haus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Where to begin? We stayed at the Weller Haus just before Halloween. The buildings were festively decorated and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in Martha's Porch a beautiful suite with a large jacuzzi tub, extremely comfortable four post bed and even a separate sink outside the bathroom. All sorts of amenities and special touches complimented the suite. And the breakfast....brought to our room, was amazing. My wife and I each ordered something different so we could share, and glad we did.

The B&B is located just a few blocks from the main street of Bellevue and views of the river.

We met a couple who comes a couple times a year. I can see why. Can't imagine staying in a hotel if you have the option of coming here.

Thanks LeAnn!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

A little two-night trip for our 5th anniversary and it could not have been more perfect. Weller Haus is gorgeous, and with Halloween being our favorite holiday, we especially appreciated the festive decor throughout the property. Our room was exceptionally clean (and we are extremely picky about this!) And the breakfast was delicious. The location is absolutely perfect...peaceful neighborhood with plenty to do in the surrounding areas. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Weller Haus was perfect for our couples get-away. The room we stayed in was updated with new furnishings and decorations. It had a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, Jacuzzi tub in a huge bathroom, and very nice, welcoming owners. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. The surrounding area is questionable...safe, but not very nice...but the inn itself was gorgeous. Beautiful grounds and gardens.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellerHaus, Owner at Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you so much for you positive comments regarding your visit to our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Weller Haus is located in a historic district in the urban river town of Bellevue, Kentucky. As with all historic districts in towns across america, especially those where houses have been built in the late 1800's, there are homes that are being saved and renovated--and those that are not yet in that mode. You will find pockets of development, pockets waiting to be developed and you will find landlords and residents who may not maintain their property to the standard that we maintain ours. Our property is located across the street from a church and we are surrounded by residential neighbors on both sides. Bellevue is a very safe community where everyone knows your name if you live here, businesses are friendly, and kids are safe to walk the street day and night with no fear.

We love when our guests choose to walk to their destination--whether it be our historic shopping and restaurant district or to Newport on the Levee with the Aquarium, bowling, comedy clubs, movie theatres and restaurants. These walks give guests the true flavor of our community, it's history and the changes that have been made and those being undertaken today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We chose the Rendevous Room (Ikea room), it was perfect. Fresh, modern, everything from Ikea, has a separate room for TV or reading. Has it's own entrance and the walk through the garden is wonderful, especially the beautiful pond. Leann is a perfect hostess and breakfast was awesome.....our favorite was pancakes with fresh blueberries. This was a treat and so much better than just a hotel room.

Room Tip: We loved the private entrance and the modern feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 319 Poplar St., Bellevue, KY 41073
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bellevue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bellevue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two side-by-side historic homes located within 1 mile of downtown Cincinnati and Newport Aquarium. Walking distance to historic shops. Properties surround gardens with water features, patio, decks. Walk to Bengals and Reds stadiums. Close to museums, zoo, conservatory and many other cultural attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati's Weller Haus Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.