We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Nelson Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added General Nelson Inn to your Saves list
General Nelson Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Stephen Foster Ave., Bardstown, KY 40004 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

From check-in it was apparent the staff ran a tight ship - which is greatly appreciated. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was very good, and the location can't be beat. The only negative was a local tourist bureau lady was in the breakfast room taking a survey of how the area measures up. Ironic, isn't it? The survey was quite long, and became rather personal in asking travel preferences, income ranges, and amount spent in the area. It was conducted in the open dining room among tables with other guests listening in. The hotel was great and we would stay there again, BUT we did not appreciate this intrusion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    109
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
61
120
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an older property, but with an excellent staff, and clean rooms. The room was larger, and even though they are entry from the exterior, the property feels very safe in downtown Bardstown. A nice breakfast (included) at a separate building, but that gave us more room. Kids loved it, and they kept the pancakes and sausages and yogurt and everything else coming. We felt welcome. I didn't notice many dining options within walking distance, but "downtown" is a quick drive, or maybe a nice long walk.

Check in was great, with the nicest lady possible. It is an older property, but we had a nice time, and will stay here again when in Bardstown. Oh, and some great free cookies in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Older property. Well kept. Very courteous. Clean room. Good hot breakfast. All the staff were very pleasant. Good price for what is offered. Even called after checking in to see if everything was okay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

A very well-maintained older property staffed with helpful and friendly folks.

Rooms were clean, although bedding was a little on the hard side for me. Reasonably priced to boot.

Would recommend and return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good. The woman running it provided excellent service. I would stay here again if in bardstown and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent one night here in September as part of a coach party,we were invited for a welcoming drink while our room keys were sorted out after that many of the party took advantage of the pool as it was a very hot day and all enjoyed the experience.The rooms were clean with fridge and micro wave provided, the breakfast was excellent and for the evening meal there were many eating places within easy walking distance.Enjoyed my stay and would have liked to make it a base for further touring.

Room Tip: The rooms to the west of the pool are quieter if the pool is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was a clean hotel. Don't expect too much from this hotel either.
Saturday night was a kind of noisy since our room was near to cabana. Otherwise, I don't have anything to complain about this hotel other than the quality of breakfast. The lady who probably was a cook for guest breakfast. She seemed to be very nice to everyone come to the room. I heard my husband told me the water was nasty in the hotel room, so bring your own bottle of water to drink.

Room Tip: Stay away any room close to office or cabana area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgni411, General Manager at General Nelson Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We here, at the General Nelson, want to thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. I do admit that the night you stayed, we were completely full with three different groups and some were being loud and we had asked them to please keep it down. I do agree, the water is horrible. Since we have had very little rain in our town the water reserve is way down and that has caused the water to taste horrible all over the town. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to General Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Nelson Inn

Address: 411 West Stephen Foster Ave., Bardstown, KY 40004 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — General Nelson Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Commonwealth, Bardstown is the site of My Old Kentucky Home - the state shrine and subject of composer Stephen Foster's legendary song. Stephen Foster-The Musical, one of the longest running outdoor musicals in the United States, plays each summer.These are only two of the dozens of attractions and festivals that make the Bardstown area a first-class tourist destination..When visiting Bardstown you'll want to call the Best Western General Nelson Inn home. Conveniently nestled between the knobs of central Kentucky, Bardstown is located 35 miles south of Louisville, about 16 miles off Highway I-65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your General Nelson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardstown
Bardstown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Nelson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.