We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the hot brown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Talbott Tavern

Old Talbott Tavern
107 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
502-348-3494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 62 restaurants in Bardstown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Historic Restaurant, Bar and Inn continuously in operation since 1779. Located in the heart of Bourbon Country. Proudly serving locally inspired food and drink. Try the best top shelf bourbons with our bourbon sampler. Dine in unique surroundings where the famous and infamous visited during their historic setting ventures.
Lexington, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try the hot brown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are traveling through Kentucky, your visit wouldn't be complete if you didn't stop in Bardstown. There are numerous things to do, but make sure you stop in for a meal at the Old Talbott Tavern. The fried green tomatoes are a great way to start off. Then get a Kentucky original the "hot brown." Wash it all down with a Kentucky Bourbon Ale. Lots of history and if you are lucky (you might think unlucky) maybe you'll even see a ghost or two!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    54
    114
    69
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Old Historic Tavern/Good Food/Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Even if your not much of a history buff, you get wonderful look into American History while dining at the Old Talbott Tavern.This place has the "comfort food" feeling, generous portions, straightforward and traditional fare. Our service was quite good, very accommodating and friendly.
Worth a visit when in beautiful and historic Bardstown!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch @ Old Talbott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food and service. Wife says it was the best Bread Pudding she ever ate. I liked it a lot, but it did not have the whiskey sauce I like. Unique setting. Worth a stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stopped By for Some Kentucky Ameriana Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

By the time we arrived it was lunch and the GPS was programmed to take us straight to The Old Talbott Tavern. This tavern has been in operation since 1779!! It was a stagecoach stop and Daniel Boone stayed here when in 1792 he was summoned to give a court deposition.

It’s fantastic looking with the stone walls and open beams. But we weren’t there for the history and architecture. We were there for lunch… a very specific “Kentucky” meal.

That would be a “Hot Brown” and some Kentucky Burgoo.

My husband opted for the pot roast… but he did try the Hot Brown and burgoo.

It was all very good, with good service too. My only negative is that they charge you .80c to have a very normal biscuit to go with your meal. It should come with the meal! (Corn bread was offered free but seriously… even Cracker Barrel gives a choice of breads!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our backup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited Old Talbott Tavern with a group of people on a Monday afternoon for a late lunch. Our first choice in downtown Bardstown was Mammy's but they close early on Monday. A member of our group had been to OTT before and said the service was slow, but because we were already near, we decided to give it a try.

The service was fine this time. We were seated promptly, our drink orders taken and served in a timely manner, and the food was served quickly too. I had the BLT sandwich with a fried green tomato - a twist on the typical which I loved - and they were generous with the bacon, but the lettuce was limp and tasteless. Also had the Kentucky burgoo - spicy and tasty - better than having fries. I did, however, taste the sweet potato fries and they were crunchy on the outside, soft in the middle, and just sweet enough. A couple of people tried the blackberry cobbler for dessert, stating that "it was good, but I've had better."

Beautiful, historic, rustic, Kentucky-flavor atmosphere. I ended up buying a Daniel Boone coonskin cap for my grandson in the gift shop. A nice departure from the usual T-shirt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Talbott Tavern also viewed

 
Bardstown, KY
 

Been to Old Talbott Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Talbott Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.