We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammy's Kitchen

Mammy's Kitchen
114 N 3rd St, Bardstown, KY 40004-1542
502-350-1097
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Bardstown
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

real southern charm and service. good food and atmosphere. the coconut creme pie is to die for!! burbon chicken also was amazing! cute town as well to walk around and do a little shopping. make sure you check out four roses distillery too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    94
    27
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Down home cooking done right at a decent price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Told to have a seat anywhere gives you the feel of your own kitchen. Lunch was had be me and 2 companions. Catfish sandwich on a fresh bun. Tator tots! That's right on the menu and served a perfect golden crispy brown. My companions had the chicken strip basket and fries. High quality white meat an crispy fries - all served hot and fresh.
Fast friendly service an not over priced.
Will return. After lunch a walk around the home town Bardstown square is also highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We really wanted to like this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We really did want to like this place. The menu looked great and it was quaint. However, as it got busier it got very chaotic. our waitress was hurried and distracted. We were hoping the food would make up for the lack of flow. Unfortunately it did not. The appetizers (fried pickles and fried green tomatoes) were not fresh and were clearly frozen from a bag. The special sauces paired with each turned out to be nothing more than thousand island dressing. The entree came out wrong and we realized that it would just be easier and faster to take it as is rather than have it fixed. The food, especially for the cost, was average at best. That combined with the incredibly poor service made for unpleasant experience. They have an opportunity to be a really great place, but without a system in place for busy nights and frozen ingredients, they're missing the mark. Fried green tomatoes aren't meant to come from a freezer.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mammy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After a 15 minute wait, our group of 6 got a table. Sara promised that the food would be worth the wait and she was right. The staff was very welcoming and was willing to play along with our little jokes. The bourbon chicken sandwich was very good. One knock; the flooring was a mess and should be replaced. The thirty year old tables were kind of nostalgic though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, ky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I felt like I was back in my Momma's kirtchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The best coffee anywhere--& only $1.00 & it kept coming! Delicious Country breakfast...attentive & nurturing service--& Mammy comes out & chats with her customers--even though she's busy cooking!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammy's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mammy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammy's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.