We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive rates...poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   984 Frost Ave., Bardstown, KY 40004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive rates...poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I had 2 rooms at Comfort Inn, Bardstown, Memorial Day weekend 2013. I paid 376.60 for 2 suites. The bathrooms were below average, the breakfast food quality mediocre, and service almost nonexistent. There was no statement left under the door, no one at the inn desk when I attempted to check out, and no customer service when I attempted to talk about the price I was charged. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Mrs. Marsha,
Our hotel is located in a tourist area so our rate may be a little higher than in some other locations. Of course on holidays such as Memorial Day we are usually sold out and a hotel room is in high demand at that time. If you were unsatisfied with anything in your room at check in all you had to do would be to call the front desk by dialing (0) and we would have done what ever in our means to help you at that time. Our rooms are updated all the time that is something that we strive to keep up with all the time. We always have real good comments on our breakfast and our breakfast staff. As our Breakfast staff always says…..”We would never serve anything that we would not eat ourselves”. Our hotel only puts statements under the door if requested at check in. If not requested, check out can be done at the front desk. Our front desk staff does more than check persons in and out, they may have been in the back doing other duties, but they do have a monitor to show if someone is standing at the desk. If you were off to the right edge of the front desk under the camera it is possible that the front desk person did not see you….or if you were standing out in the lobby they may have thought you were waiting for a guest. We assure you there is always staff on duty to serve you to the best of our ability. Our hotel, like I said, is in a tourist area and on holidays the rooms are in high demand. Sorry at the time you made your reservation you were told the rate, also at check in if you felt your room was not up to the value of your cost, we could have checked you out at no charge at that time and then resold the room to someone else in need of a room. It is our policy to make sure all our guests are happy with their stay with us. We are sorry you may have had issues and hope that it doesn’t stop you from staying with us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
27
33
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite City, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staff--really couldn't be better. Were friendly, polite, helpful, acted like they were glad we came. Room--king bed, mini fridge, microwave, clean, well kept, and what I loved: double recliners! It was so nice to be able to put your feet up and relax to watch TV without having to try to get comfortable on the bed. Breakfast--pretty good for a hotel lobby. The lady who staffed it was extremely nice and did a great job of keeping the food supplied and wiping off the tables. My husband even looked for a tip jar for her! Pool--didn't use. Public areas--very clean and nice exterior. Only con: smaller than usual bed pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with recliners
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It was so wonderful having you stay with us. I will be sure the staff are aware of your great comments. thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again real soon.

thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for just a night is treat, if there was much more to do in Bardstown than the Bourbon trail then I would of stayed longer.
We checked in and were immediately impressed by the helpfulness of the reception staff, thy were informative, polite and genuinely seemed happy to be at work.
The room was large and spacious, but more importantly it was spotlessly clean and had a good shower (always a bonus).
The breakfast staff were the best. They made you feel like you were staying at in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was also good quality for an 'Inn', and we've stayed in a few.
The location dictates that you would need your own transport. The pool looks amazing, but we just didn't have time to use it.
If Bardstown suddenly becomes a place to visit again, this is the only place to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. In the summer there are always lots to do here, My Old Kentucky Home, Stephen Foster Musical, Civil War History and lots more! Hope to see you again when you can stay longer.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent staff, clean atmosphere, clean rooms, nice rooms with frig and microwave. How could you go wrong?? The pool was warm as a tub, clean and very inviting. Everything well cared for. Very nice breakfast, impeccable service from the staff. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators in two story motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your very nice comments about our staff to them. They are awesome! We hope that you return soon and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time past weekend at the comfort inn of Bardstown ,the staff was very polite and helpful, the breakfast and pool was a plus great customer service will definitely return whenever in area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will be sure to inform the staff of your good words. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay at in the Bardstown area. Rooms are clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good too. We will definitely stay here again. I highly recommend it. Thanks for a great stay and great service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It was so nice to have you stay with us on your travels. Thank you for the wonderful words and hope to see you again soon! I will be sure to let the staff know you liked there service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We needed a room while traveling on our way from mi to New Orleans. Room was very clean, staff was very professional and helpful...breakfast was good too! Loved the leather couch in our room.We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
So glad we could accommodate you on your trip. Thanks for the great comment and I will be sure to inform our staff of your comment too. Hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 984 Frost Ave., Bardstown, KY 40004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bardstown
Bardstown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.