We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coforxtable and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn
1476 S US Hwy 25 E, Barbourville, KY 40906   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barbourville
Columbia, IL
1 review
“Coforxtable and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Visited family member at Union College. Warm welcome, with a staff that was very friendly and accommodating. A very good value. The facility was clean. It is a convenient hotel to Union College and the beautiful natural attractions of the Cumberland region. Would return when next in Barbourville, KY..



  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdbrucie1, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Patron:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your kind words are greatly appreciated.
Our staff takes pride in their work. We try to make each and every guest's stay as pleasant
as possible.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
2
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I frequent this hotel when visiting Union College. The staff is always polite and the hotel and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It is also cycle friendly and the rates are quite reasonable. I never consider staying anywhere else when I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdbrucie1, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Patron:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your remarks make our job so
worthwhile. Hope you will be returning soon.

Thank you again.

TDB
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is convenient to Union College and is the only chain hotel in Barbourville. That being said, the local owners take pride in their facilities and are genuinely friendly and helpful. The room looked newly renovated and the beds were very comfortable. Each room had a recliner which was night. Upon our late arrival, we were in search of coffee, and the front desk actually made a fresh pot for us. I will continue to stay here when I visit Barbourville.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdbrucie1, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Patron:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your kind words.
Both owners and staff do take great pride in their work and their customer satisfaction.
We hope you have a chance to visit again soon. There will always be coffee
waiting or just minutes away from being brewed.

Thank you again.

Tammy Bruce,
Front Desk Manager
BW Wilderness Trail Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive when I booked a room here being that it is the only place in town. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to help us. The pool is nice, but the water was a bit milky looking. I liked the chairs all around the building so you have a place to sit other than your room. The breakfast area is way too small, but the breakfast itself was nice. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdbrucie1, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Patron:

Thank you for taking the time for a review of our property. We are so glad we surprised you. We try very hard to make each and every guest's stay as pleasant as possible. I apologize for the
milky pool. Although all chemicals checked out, the clarifier just wasn't doing it's job. Hopefully,
on your visit next season, we will have no problems with such. We look forward to your return.

Thankyou again.

TDB
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stay here every year during our family reunion. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodates all reasonable requests. The rooms are clean and well cared for. The included breakfast is a nice feature, and is standard fare for such a hotel (waffle maker, donuts, pastries, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, etc). The location is excellent for the area. They are located on the main road through town, and are close to all of the fast food restaurants, gas stations, supermarket, Walmart, and other stores. The rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel don't get as much traffic noise as rooms to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdbrucie1, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Patron:

Sorry for the delay in responding to your review of our property in August.
Thank you for taking the time. We greatly appreciate you kind remarks.
We hope you will get a chance for a return visit soon.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

My family has stayed here twice. The area is a small town, so there are not any other options in the area. That being said, the hotel serves its purpose. The room was clean, beds comfortable, and staff were very friendly. It was also nice to have a continental breakfast included. our first stay was on the back side of the hotel. Our most recent stay was in the front and in close proximity to the front office. So if there is a car idling nearby, the noise comes right in. But that is just a lesson learned to ask for a room in the back next time. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My family has stayed in this hotel before, but it had been about 7 yrs since we had. Since this is a small town, we knew this was really the only hotel we could book. The location was good because it was about 10 mins to where we needed to be. The hotel has many surrounding fast food places.
The overall look of the hotel shocked me, compared to what I was expecting. It looks like it has been reprinted here lately. You enter your rooms from the outside.
Once we got to our room, it was clean inside but had an overpowering, unpleasant odor coming from the room. That was disgusting; good thing I brought my air spray! It was a nonsmoking room, but also smelt very old & like cat urine.
Our room had 2 full beds, a desk, tv, & mini microwave & fridge. The bathroom was very small, but the sink area was outside of it.
Also, the swimming pool wasn't open for the season, & this is May!
The cont. breakfast was ok: it had juice, milk, donuts, oatmeal, fruit, & frozen waffles.
If we ever need to stay in this town again, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdbrucie1, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Patron:

So sorry that we did not meet all your expectations during your last visit. This is the first time
I heard about your problem with a smell in the room. If you had let someone know, we would
have done whatever possible to correct the matter. As far as the pool is concerned, it is always
after Memorial Weekend before it is opened. The weather here will not accommodate an outside pool any earlier.

We look forward to your next stay so that we have another chance to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you for your patronage.

TDB
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn

Address: 1476 S US Hwy 25 E, Barbourville, KY 40906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Barbourville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barbourville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wilderness Trail Hotel Barbourville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Wilderness Trail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.