We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Mertua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rumah Mertua to your Saves list
Rumah Mertua
Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ngaglik
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A very clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

It's a very clean hotel. Look at the bathroom. I have never seen such a clean bathroom in the hotel for my entire life. Actually, I need to ask them later; what kind of liquid they use to remove stain, lime, mild dew, hard water, and rust? As they don't have them all in their bathrooms!!! Not a single one!! Amazing...

Other plus points:
1. the room is spacious (choose deluxe room, it's the largest one)
2. there is a porch in front of the room,
3. beautiful gardens, beautiful decoration,
4. the price is cheap (IDR 450,000 = USD 45. Normally, I have to pay USD 70 for the same quality in other hotels in Indonesia.)
5. the staffs are friendly,
6. they serve traditional snacks between meal time, and
7. the surrounding is calm.

Minus points:
1. Less noise because its location is nowhere but still accessible to downtown (only 10-15 minutes by taxi). For those who like to shop or go out at night by walking, this hotel is not the good option. Choose ones that are near Malioboro Street instead.
2. It has calm situation because the hotel rooms are also limited (only 11 rooms). So, book in advance to make sure the availability. It's one of the most favorite ones, especially for the expatriates.
3. Rijsttafel is pricey (IDR 79,000 = USD 8/person, minimum order 2 persons) while the taste is solala. Try it by your own so you can give other input. I'm too demanding if it comes to food though :)

If you want to know more, visit their site: www.rumahmertua.com

Room Tip: The rooms are very limited. If you want to stay at this hotel, you definitely have to book long befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    101
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
105
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was booked for us as a part of our tour in Java (Bromo-Ijen-Yogyakarta) and it was a pleasant surprise. Our double room was pristine, bathed in pleasant smells (may be this was even more so striking after a couple of days spent in the volcano/sulfur crater areas.) The staff go out of their way to accommodate your every wish. We have used the laundry service: perfect, the restaurant: perfect and the spa: great massage even if pressure was on the soft side. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK, Sabah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Were here on 8th & 9th July and we took 1 standard room & 1 superior room. The superior room is so super lovely (we like the private terrace and the bed) and the standard room isn't that bad either, with a very welcoming common area.
Breakfast was good with your pick of preferred meal, served with fruits, local kuih and coffee n tea. Staff are all friendly and professional, you can feel their warmth the moment you're in the property.
Location is slightly far from the town area but really, once you're in Rumah Mertua, it's fine to just stay in the whole day :) Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and loved every little bit about this property!

Room Tip: Stay in for 1 full day to enjoy the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samarinda
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

After a long journey from Borneo, at the first time We came to this small boutique hotel, yes, we did say 'ordinary'. But than we surprised with the inside of it. Neat and Beautiful. When we sat down at the restaurant to wait our Superior-room that was being cleaned, they serve us with Coffee/tea and some snack. I tried out their Spa (head Massage) that costs me only Rp70000.
In room wifi works well, but we need to ask them for each room ID & password first. The breakfast could be chosen at the night before, and they will serve it in front of your room in the next morning. The room was spotless clean! the bathroom was really basic (no fancy amenities and just a shower) but it was clean too..
I fell in love with the staffs' hospitality. The minus are only there was not a kettle in the room, and the pool was 1,5 meter depth (no children pool provided).
We used their airport shuttle too. It costs Rp80000/ride with an APV car that could fit to 5-7 people.
This hotel only have 11 rooms (Which the Superior room is only 2 rooms). We like the superior at most because it was located at the back of the hotel, so it was so quite and peace to relax (far enough from lobby and the pool). Whatever the type of room you choose, I suggest you to make a reservation 1-2 month in advance to make sure your stay here :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Awesome. Superb. Excellent. Heavenly. Wish all cities can have such a hotel.
There are so many ways to describe our experience at this hotel. But you really have to be there to feel it. Rumah Mertua is THE place to stay when you're in Jogja. Their hospitality is immeasurable. The room is truly a wonderful abode. The pool is so inviting. The food and ite presentation can never fail to please. If not for the many other wonderful and majestic attractions in Jogja, we can really just stay in the hotel for our whole trip of 4 days.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms; one family room and one standard room. Although the rooms are very near to the reception area and the restaurant, it was not noisy and tolerable. We looked forward to the breakfast which were so good & hearty, which is soo needed to start the day off and venturing out Jogja. The drivers were knowledgable and very pleasant. The greatest thing about Rumah Mertua is the exceptional customer services and the fact all actions by them are
driven by sincerety. Would rather be here rather than other commercialized hotels. Though a bit far from the main st malioboro, we had the daily services of transportation by Rumah mertua. We paid rp565000 per day - 10 hrs. All in all, it is indeed a Lovely place and such
lovely people. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Fantastic and beautiful hotel in Jogja perhaps..Simply loving it and the room is simply gorgeous..Polite staffs and nice interior...Everything seems to be PERFECT.. ;)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumah Mertua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Mertua

Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rumah Mertua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Mertua Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Mertua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.