We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Crossing Restaurant

Carriage Crossing Restaurant
10002 S Yoder Rd, Yoder, KS 67585
(620) 465-3612
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Yoder
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Rosa, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we enjoyed the restaurant very much because of the atmosphere the cleanliness the service the friendly people that took care of us and the very good prices i would recommend this restaurant to anyone who would enjoy delicious food at a very very good place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    5
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maricopa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mennonite-Amish Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Who would expect to find such a great restaurant in a small town mainly populated by Mennonite and Amish families amid the wheat and corn fields in rural Kansas?? We enjoyed several meals there. The food was plentiful, homemade and served by Amish and Mennonite women in their traditional garb. We discovered that the reputation of these two sects for making 'to be remembered' desserts was well deserved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We need to drive about half an hour from our house to this restaurant but i just feel worth the journey. The food there are just delicious. My favorite is the deep fried cat fish and the apple pie. My husband like the bread, pork chops and the cherry pie. The price is amazing you can get a big meal set from just $9. The waitress are very friendly too, we were happily tips them more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappoint with poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a favorite stop while in Hutch. It seems Carriage Crossing is resting on its laurels and is now nothing more than a tourist trap. The food was average but he service was poor. The waitress was gone for long periods, she did not check back with me. The bread, which is said baked fresh daily, was stale, it seemed left over from the weekend. By weekend I mean Saturday because Carriage Crossing is closed on Sunday. i normally eat the loaf because it is tasty but not this time.

I received my lemonade, which was good, in a dirty glass. I had the fried chicken. It was tasty. The mashed potatoes did not taste homemade nor did the brown jellied gravy that looked and tasted out of a can. The green beans were Ok. They were seasoned well. I ordered pie which has always been a hit here. Imagine my disappointment when my pecan peach pie was refrigerator cold with raw crust on the bottom. It was a fruit pie and the server did not offer an option to heat or ice cream. She just brought my cold, raw pie and left the check. Needless to say I did not feel gratuitous.

It was just bad this time. New management? I don't know but it is not what it use to be. I will not make the effort to stop next time I am in town. I will not recommend anymore either.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be one of my favorites,extremely disappointed. Won't be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Portion sizes have decreased horribly. Great snack. Unless your strictly vegetarian. Best thing there is the pie. Unless you just want to shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Crossing Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carriage Crossing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Crossing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.