We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonner Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sonner Motor Inn to your Saves list
Sonner Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1812 Main St, Winfield, KS 67156   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Winfield
Oklahoma city
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I found the accommodations here were average at BEST. I don't have a problem with retro décor or small rooms, but the floor coverings were pretty decrepit and there was old messy duct tape holding down the edges between the room and bath. The sink fixtures were REALLY dirty. The water temp was difficult to set and maintain. The toilet and furniture appeared to be clean, but one has to wonder how deep it goes. I don't see an even marginally germaphobic person being comfortable in this room. We didn't do the free breakfast but it looked to be minimal. When we checked in the person on the desk spoke NO english and I had to review a series of confirmation slips to tell him which person I was. There is free wi-fi but it is AGONIZINGLY SLOOOOW. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable enough and the bedding smelled sweet and clean. The big flat-screen TV, bath heat-lamp, fridge and microwave are nice amenities. I probably would pay a little more to stay somewhere else the next time I'm in Winfield.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent one night here on our way home to CO from visiting family in AL. I love the "retro" feel, decor of the place. The price was certainly right. The room was small, but we did not need a suite to just crash in for a night. It was clean (and that is a priority for us). The bed was comfortable. We did not eat the breakfast - chose instead to visit a local place. But this was a fine place to spend the night - will return when we make the AL trip again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This motel was one of the finest ever on my trip. Reasonable rates for what they offer. Free breakfast and high speed Internet. I stayed with my family and the kids enjoyed it. The staff was very kind and polite to us. House Keeping when you need it. Next time we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This motel was older and needed some updating and it looked liek they were doing just that! But the front desk was helpful and friendly. The only real problem I had was the shower curtain. I think they need htose plastic liners with the magnets to hold against the shower wall! Otherwise it was clean and the beds were comfy and the price was right!

Room Tip: We noticed it was very quiet cosnidering it was on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a good place to stay if all you're looking for is a "jumping off" point. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the rooms they're just older, very basic and a bit on the small side. The free breakfast is pretty minimal. The family who runs the place was very accomodating and nice. They are pet friendly and charge a small fee (one person told me $10 but they only charged $5 when I got there). The one downside about the pet friendly is there's almost no place for your pet to relieve themselves. There is a 12 inch border around the back parking lot with dirt but that's about it. For the price I'd stay there again if I was only sleeping and not planning to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonner Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonner Motor Inn

Address: 1812 Main St, Winfield, KS 67156
Location: United States > Kansas > Winfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Winfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonner Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sonner Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonner Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.