We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMY FOOD, GREAT PLACE and AMAZING HOSTESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simple Haven B&B

Simple Haven B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simple Haven B&B
Save
You added Simple Haven B&B to your Saves list
615 27th Street, Wilson, KS 67490   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wilson B&B and Inns
Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“YUMMY FOOD, GREAT PLACE and AMAZING HOSTESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Over the years have tried many bnb's heading East from Colorado...Done...THIS IS IT.
Susan is like an extra bubbly Diane Keaton who aims to please. House is cute and room functional. Love the trains going by and walking around the tiny town. Most of all loved the attention to detail & innovative food...oh my...blackberrie brulee thiing, quiche with a wild rice crust, warm coffee cake, hot biscuits and jelly...oh my it was so good it makes me want to drive back 6 hours just to eat again. STAY THERE...you won't regret it!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Happened to stumble upon this place when looking for last-minute accommodations for a hunting trip. We had no idea what an amazing treat we were in for. We don't even call it "Simple Haven." We call it "Susan's" now. Above the door to the kitchen Susan has placed a plaque which reads "Enter as strangers, leave as friends." That is exactly what happened. She looked after us as a mother and was attune to our every desire before we had the chance to request it. Breakfast was amongst the best home cooking I've ever had and she even gave us some of her very creative recipes.

The bed and breakfast is the most quaint place in town, right next to the old wooden town water tower (which is now a sauna which you are free to use). It's a beautiful limestone structure from the 1800's and has an amazing story. The bedrooms were like something out of a movie. The beds were enormous and extremely comfortable. This would be the perfect place for a romantic weekend getaway or for a small group of friends to book out entirely. There is lots of joint living area for games and watching TV with friends.

All of that aside, the genuine goodness and care that Susan provides makes you feel, as the sign says, like she's looking after her own friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Staying at Simple Haven B&B was one of the highlights of our trip to Kansas. The breakfast was fabulous (home made apple and walnut pancakes, sausage patties, vegetable frittata's) and cooked with real soul by the super friendly owner and chef extraordinaire Susan. The house is old and full of character, the rooms are comfortable and there is a large communal area to relax in. All in all a special place that i recommend to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is probably the best B&B ever! Susan and Joe, the friendly couple who runs it, are just a pleasure to meet. They are fun to talk to and really sweet. The B&B itself is extremely beutiful! It is an old house with 5 rooms and each room is so perfectly pretty decorated you want to stay there forever! There are lots of antiques and old pictures which gives the place a taste of home! In front of the house thay have som outside patios, a hammock, swinging chairs, and even a sauna with ligting stars in the roof and a radio inside it! They cook the breakfast themselves which they serve at they time you wish, and belive me - it's goood!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simple Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Haven B&B

Address: 615 27th Street, Wilson, KS 67490
Location: United States > Kansas > Wilson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wilson
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simple Haven B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.