We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for the area and sub-par for a Marriott-family hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Wichita East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Wichita East to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Wichita East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S Webb Road, Wichita, KS 67207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Wichita
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overpriced for the area and sub-par for a Marriott-family hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Will not stay here again. Not a terrible experience but definitely not what I'd expect from a Fairfield Inn and very sub-par for any Marriott family hotel. My room and the whole building I was in was run down (I went into 3 other rooms in addition to mine). Bathroom was old with some minor mold in the shower. TV was old, bedspreads/sheets were old, furniture was run down. Shower/bath splitter didn't work well, sink was very worn and tired looking. Heater was so loud that it woke me up every time it turned on/off. Heaters and bathroom fans in the adjoining rooms were so loud that it was a nuisance every time people staying next to me went to the bathroom or when their heat kicked on.

This is more like a cheap Motel 6 and not worth the $80 I paid. I chose this hotel b/c I'm a gold level Marriott Rewards member and it was cheap for a Marriott. Check in staff didn't even recognize my Rewards status (first time ever that I was not thanked for being a loyal customer and given some sort of a perk).

There are many hotels on this block that are much nicer for the same price (Hampton Inn, Studio plus). There is also a full-fledged Marriott next door, which is where I should have stayed for a bit more money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
18
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

The hotel was fine and had been updated. The internet was spotty. There were no elevators in Bldg 2. I am all for walking up stairs unless I am lugging tons of luggage and its late at night.
No ice machine. And as a woman traveling alone, I hate hotels that only have one set of curtains on the windows. The shearness of the single set of curtains are disturbing to me.
Staff was great, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

In town for the National Forensic League National Speech and Debate Tournament, we speech coaches are experts on extended hotel stays.

The price is right at this hotel, and the group rate was $76.00 per room per night... a good value in a city of 300,000+ with scarce hotel space for the week.

The staff was very courteous, friendly, and as helpful as their training allowed. The continental breakfast was good, and the rooms were well-attended to (four pillows on each bed!). Location was convenient to basic shopping and dining, as well as downtown. The crosstown trip to the airport was no big deal. Pool and surrounding area was pleasant and kept my students happy.

That being said, there were some issues...

First, my total rate for the week was quoted incorrectly, to the tune of about $1,000. The clerk on duty also couldn't seem to figure out what "tax exempt" means and re-calculate the room rate accordingly.

The other major issue during the week was the high-speed internet. In a pinch, I had to order a script for a student - it was a real "speech emergency". The internet was off and on for over 3 DAYS during our stay, with no real resolution until Tuesday. This was completely unacceptable, especially when my school was dropping over $2,000 for the week's stay.

Musty smell in the hallways and rooms was evident.

All things considered, I would stay here again IF the staff could promise me that the internet would not be an issue for days at a time. Buyer beware, but a 4th star would be deserved if the property had delivered on the high speed internet. When it was up, the stay was wonderful.

  • Liked — Comfort and friendliness.
  • Disliked — Spotty internet access.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

I was a little disappointed in this hotel, since it is a Marriott property and they are usually in much better shape. The design of this hotel is one of its main issues. There are three buildings, two contain sleeping rooms, the middle building contains the office and breakfast area. These buildings do not connect so to do anything in the office/breakfast area requires a walk outside. No shelter from wind or bad weather.
The hotel has no elevators, so getting luggage and business materials to the second floor is difficult. Couple this with the key system that requires the key to be pushed in and left before you can open any doors makes moving anything a big problem. All the rooms have the old fashion heating/airconditioning system with the push button controls. The room never maintained a balanced temp. It was either too hot or too cool all the time and the system was VERY loud. There are no refrigerators available in this hotel. My guest room had been painted by someone apparently wearing sun glasses. There were strips along the ceiling and up and down each wall about three feet apart in a darker color than the rest of the room. Also, one wall had peeling sheet rock and stained ceiling from a leak.
The breakfast was also poor. A very tiny space for people to pick-up food, poor food quality and staff who could not speak english and understand when there was a problem. (for instance, one morning the milk was sour, but we had to notify the front desk because the person working in the breakfast area could not understand.) I received a fairly low rate as I was on a government rate, but what we paid was entirely too much for the service and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

Stopped in without a reservation just after Christmas. The service at this motel was outstanding. All of the desk personnel were very friendly and efficient. The property was well kept. My wife and I agreed that the room was as well maintained as any 4 to 5 star we have stayed at. The holiday rate was a pleasant surprise ($60 for three of us). The breakfast area was as clean as the room. We both agreed that Fairfield will go to the top of our list for places to stay when traveling.

  • Liked — Well maintained
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

Spent the night here last week. Very industrial looking. Strong smell of disinfectant when I entered the room. Free internet, free breakfast - a reasonable value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn on January 9, 2006. The hotel looks like it has been completely renovated since I last stayed there a year ago. My room was state of the art and even smelled like a brand new room. It was obvious that a lot of work has been done recently on that hotel.

The staff service was very friendly and recommended a nearby steakhouse, inside the Wichita Marriott, which is right near the hotel and we had a wonderful meal there. I liked the location too as it was nearby to most of my meetings.

I would recommend this hotel, especailly now that it looks brand new.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Wichita East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Wichita East

Address: 333 S Webb Road, Wichita, KS 67207
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Wichita East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita East- Wichita's original Fairfield Inn. Our courteous staff is ready to provide you with a warm Wichita welcome with superior guest service. Wichita being the Aircraft Manufacturing hub we are just minutes away from Beechcraft,and Spirit as well as other major business such as Koch Industries, McConnell AFB and Flight Safety. We are also conveniently located close to upscale shopping and dining options.Other hotel amenities include Complimentary Airport shuttle Monday though Friday and within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast. Continue your fitness routine in our new Exercise Room, and enjoy cooling off in our Outdoor Pool or relaxing in our heated whirlpool. As you can see, whether you are staying for business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita East is here to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Wichita East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Wichita East Hotel Wichita
Fairfield Wichita
Wichita Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Wichita East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.