We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, except get the rate quote in writing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7824 E 32nd St N, Wichita, KS 67226 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #41 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel, except get the rate quote in writing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel in May 2014 and July 2014. First I will say that all of the staff we had dealings with while at the hotel were helpful and great to work with. They really make you feel welcome while you are there. Some reviews have noted this is not a huge hotel. But we have found the rooms are more than adequate in size. There is a nice indoor pool. For this style of hotel we thought the breakfast was well presented and a good variety. Also we think this has a great location for Wichita. You are close to K-96 and Rock Road with good access to the area. Cookies and coffee are always available in the lobby.

All that said I would normally rate this property higher. However in our most recent visit we had an issue with the rate that has me questioning the hotel. For our July visit I made the reservation several months ago. This was for our sons baseball team. The team was allowed a block of rooms. When I called to reserve there were only a few rooms remaining in the block and they were a King with sofa sleeper. Normally we would not use that room. However the team rate was good so we decided to accept. Otherwise I would have searched for a hotel with two beds. I took a confirmation number but did not receive anything in writing. My wife checked us in for the visit and also did the check out. When we arrived home I noticed the rate was $30.00 more per night than I was told at the time of reservation. I called the next morning and was told that for some reason our room was not included in the team rate and that the sales manager (Trisha) had told the front desk that we would not receive the team rate! I believed the person I spoke with was just doing what she was told. So I left a detailed message for Trisha but I have not received a response. Very disappointed I would at least not receive a reply and explanation.

All that being said it is a good lesson. We took for granted that we were so well taken care of during our first visit in May that we assumed if there were problems things would be handled.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Defintely wouldn't pay the full price of $109 a night. First room had ants when we had a pizza and had only one piece left over in box and in morning got ants all in box. Then exhaust fan was hanging down in bathroom. Breakfast time was different during week versus weekend and didn't know so we didn't get to have breakfast in morning. Pool is on the small side and chlorine was high. The front desk was nice and gave us another room because of ants. We could have stayed somewhere nicer for the money. They did renovations but consisted of nicer lighting and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your response. I do Apologize for the ants that were in your room. I have addressed the housekeeping staff of this issue and I have also called our local pest control company to spray all rooms for ants. We definitely want to make sure ou guest feel welcome when they stay. We want to do everything we can to make sure you enjoy your stay. I am confident we can fix this problem and we hope you stay with us again. Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

Aaron Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very pleased with our stay. I had the bad experience of losing my diamond ring and not realizing it until we were gone. I called back and the staff looked for it. Then I received a call from them that they had found it and they would have it at the front desk for me. They went out of their way to look for it and return it to me. I can not THANK THEM enough for the kindness they showed and the extra effort they put into looking for it. When I was free from my meeting I returned to the hotel and got my ring. Our trip required staying a second night at the hotel which had not been planned, They were able to reserve a room for that night also. The staff went above and beyond what they had to do and it was very much appreciated. They were pleasant and helpful in all matters during our stay. The breakfast was good and the breakfast area was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this property on May 25th as a stopover on our way north on I135. The rooms were new and large. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was good. We will stay here again if our plans take us to Wichita.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We definitely appreciate you choosing the Country Inn and SUites in Wichita, KS. We desire to deliver the best customer service to all guests that stay with us. Our hotel is newly renovated and we are glad you had a great experience in our hotel. We would love to see you again. Thank you again for choosing Country Inn and Suites.

Aaron Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'd rate this as the equivalent of a Days Inn. Cramped room, cheaply furnished, loud refrigerator, stains on carpet and in bathtub plus other signs of wear and tear, sagging mattress, poor sound proofing. I had higher expectations based on the description and reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Mr Rodomontade,

I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations here at the Country Inn and Suites. We definitely strive to deliver the best customer service. Country Inn and Suites is a newly renovated hotel and the brand continuously strives for a fresh decor for this new brand of hotel. I do appreciate your feedback and will be sure to note these comments to our Brand Manager. Thank you for staying with us!

Aaron Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great hotel. Easy check-in. Very good price. Décor and room were good. Breakfast was good but lacking in fresh cut fruit, yogurt, microwave and individual oatmeal packets. The orange juice was not diluted down as so many hotels seem to do. Evening and morning front desk staff were great. Will definitely stay again when in the area. I didn't like being on the 3rd floor and the only ice machine was on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Ann,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn and Suites! I do appreciate the feedback. One thing we have implemented is a complete breakfast. Fresh Cuts Fruits, Instant Oatmeal Packets as well as Freshly Made Oatmeal. I definitely agree with you about finally having a Country Inn and Suites in Wichita, KS. More importantly we are very grateful for you choosing our hotel for your experience in WIchita. We hope to see you soon!

Aaron Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites on 4/11/14-4/13/14 when I came into Wichita for a funeral with my small son. The hotel was comfortable, rooms were kept clean, and housekeeping did a good job of providing new towels and linens. My son really enjoyed the pool as well as the hot breakfast in the mornings, especially the waffle station. We will definitely stay again when we return to Wichita.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Michelle,

What a priviledge it was to have you experience the Country Inn and Suites. In our efforts to increase customer service to the max we definitely hope to see you again soon!

Aaron Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast

Address: 7824 E 32nd St N, Wichita, KS 67226 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast Hotel offers all the comforts of home with our 69 beautifully appointed guest rooms. We are a 100% nonsmoking hotel with amenities including complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, an in room coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and full sized ironing board, complimentary USA Today and more. Relax after a long day in our indoor pool or work out in our Fitness Center. We offer a 24 hour business center with WiFi in all public areas. In the morning we will have your mouth watering at our complimentary Be Our Guest Hot Breakfast Bar. This Wichita, KS hotel is ideal whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. You will appreciate our central location near: Koch Industries, Raytheon/Flight Safety, Wichita State University, McConnell Air Force Base, McPherson, Town East Square, Greyhound Park and the Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Wichita Northeast Hotel Wichita
Holiday Inn Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Wichita Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.