We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the 9th floor suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Wichita East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Wichita East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wichita East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   549 S. Rock Rd., Wichita, KS 67207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try the 9th floor suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My room was a typical hotel room: adequate, comfortable, and clean. The check-in process went smoothly and the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We had a business function in one of the 9th floor suites though, and I was impressed. These two-floor suites have a kitchenette, 1.5 baths, a huge dining room table, and a good-sized living room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for the review Kristen. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I agree the Master Suites are incredible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
20
7
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip for 4 nights. Room was comfortable, didn't try the food but the restaruant/bar was busy with people. They had a small convention and the noise from the dance floor came thru into my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel while you were in town for business. I know how hard it is to travel for business and not get a good nights sleep. We normally try and book guests not with the convention further away from the ballroom if there will be a dance. I am sorry and will meet with my front desk team regarding this. BTW Thanks for the 5 stars on cleanliness I will let Elda our Executive Housekeeper know you appreciated their hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on second floor and for the two days we were there the hallway smelt like a sewer. Front desk had maintenance spray hallway, but it did not help. We also called front desk because my wife is sensitive to dust and was told housekeeping would be to our room shortly, she never came. My wife kept having problems and I went to plug in my laptop charger and pulled out bed and there were chip bags on floor and dust was on carpet and wall. Behond bed looked like it had never been cleaned. The plumbing was also horrible, it would take about twenty minutes for toilet to fill up and tub does not drain. It was like standing in a baby pool to take a shower. We also ate at Green Mill Restaurant and ordered one of those "AWARD WINNING" pizzas and when we got it, it was dripping with grease and was not a good pizza. We were told good things about this hotel and we were very disappointed. We will not return EVER!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I heard of no complaints from other guests on any odors or plumbing issues. I am meeting with our maintenance and housekeeping teams today to find what could have been the cause of your problems. With regard to Green Mill I again am sorry you did not enjoy your pizza, we have a great culinary crew and I will mention your comments to them. Green Mill wins awards year after year for their pizza and wings. If you visit Wichita again I hope you will give us another try so you can see the great service we normally deliver. Please feel free to contact me directly to make your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the jacuzzi suite for this trip which was fantastic. Between the living room, kitchen, dining area, huge bedroom, seperate bath, and jacuzzi area we had all the comforts of home and nice area to relax in after a long day. When I arrived there was a covered area for me to park so I could check in and take up my luggage which was great since it was raining buckets. The desk clerk was very friendly and super fast so I was checked in within minutes. I wish they would have had someone available to help with luggage but they did have luggage racks guests could use by the door which really came in handy. As a smoker I would have appreciated a covered smoking area in the courtyard so I didn't have to sit at the loading area when I went outside but in this non-smoking world I know that is unrealistic. The room was big, clean, and set up perfectly. The kitchen had basic dishes (which I used for the carryout I picked up), plenty of towels for all the various areas...and let's be honest, usually there are never enough towels. The bed had soft and firm pillows.....perfect for picky travelers! My wakeup call was a bit unorthodox. There was a childrens beauty pageant on the groundfloor so there were kids yelling and carrying on up and down the halls by 6am. I can understand out of town pageant people staying in the same hotel that is hosting the pageant but it would have been great if the hotel could have given some sort of warning when I checked in. Check out was fast and painless. Overall a very clean and nice hotel with everything you could need or want for a business or leisure trip!

Room Tip: The back facing room I was given didn't have any traffic noise which was a concern since it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us the next time you are in Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, MO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice now.

Each time the check in is incredibly slow!!! I travel often for business and stay in 2 to 5 star hotels. This has to be the slowest check in of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Both times I was checked in by the same clerk at the desk, so perhaps she is just slower then normal. She is very friendly.

The rooms are each time were very nice and comfortable. there is a coffee pot in the room which is better then most coffee pots that only fix a cup at a time. I wish they had a free mini fridge and microwave.

I visited the bar down stairs and actually had one of the best margarittas I have ever had in my life. The bartender was very busy and doing her best to keep up do to a large crowd, it would have been nice had she had some help behind the counter. However as I said, she made a mean drink which I needed at the end of a long day. I wish I would have caught her name, all I can do is describe her as having dark hair with blonde highlights.

My major complaint with this hotel was that I had NO hot water in the shower. I was there for 2 days, so both mornings I took an ice cold shower which sure woke me up.
As I was in the lobby one morning, I heard several others say they had nothing but hot water. Apparently there was some sort of malfunction resulting in this. I was very disappointed in this.

I travel to the area several times a year and will probably stay here again because of the location however upon checkin and going to my room, I will first thing turn on the water and make sure that I can take a warm shower in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I agree Green Mill has awesome Margaritas. I am very sorry for your slow check-in. Also we made some upgrades to our water system during your stay which caused a few unforeseen hiccups the next morning. It was corrected later that morning but unfortunately not before your shower! Thanks again for the comments and we look forward to having you stay with in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on July 19 - 20, 2012.

Upon arrival, I checked in and received my keys. Unfortunately, I was not recognized as a Platinum member of the Priority Club.

My room was located across from the guest laundry room on the 6th floor. The room was your typical Holdiay Inn, The furnishings were comfortable, complete with a chair/ottoman. Great AC, and water pressure in the shower.

The hotel has a great swimming pool and exercise room. Both are well lit.

There is a bar and grill that serves ok food that is attached to the hotel. Unfortunately, as a guest, this Holiday Inn does not offer a free breakfast.

The location of this hotel is in a great place. It is easy to access from Kellogg, Rock Road, and the Turnpike. Town East Mall is straight to the north.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will stay with us in the future when traveling to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent hotel. I came up to Wichita yesterday with my mom, we both have to stay in separate rooms because I am such a light sleeper, so we were looking for something that would be comfortable yet affordable! We went to a few places before and left disappointed. We finally found this close to McConnell Air Force base, so we stopped in. Josh was wonderful! After driving around looking for a nearby hotel, we were very stressed! He was very patient and helpful as he assisted us. The rooms were very clean. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Definitely coming back! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiwichita, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wichita East, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. Josh does an amazing job at our front desk. I will pass along your comments to him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Wichita East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wichita East

Address: 549 S. Rock Rd., Wichita, KS 67207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wichita East 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Wichita East I-35 offers an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and an updated fitness room. Facility 100% non-smoking. Free business center. Free Wireless Internet. ATM. The hotel is on the east side of Wichita, at the corner of Rock & Kellogg (US 54/400). Across from Towne East Mall, the largest mall in Kansas, many restaurants are within a 1 mile area, .5 miles to Interstate I-35. 5 miles to downtown, 5.5 miles Wichita State University and 11 miles to airport. Businesses Nearby: Boeing, Bombardier Aerospace Learjet, Koch Industries,York International, Hawker Beechcraft, Yingling, Koch Industries, T-Mobile, Textron, Cargill-Excel, Mcconnell AFB, Dillon Food Stores, Wesley Medical Center, York International, AT&T Communications, Coleman Co, Mid Continent Cabinetry, Engenio Information Technologies, CNH Manufacturing, Westar Energy, Vulcan Chemicals, Burlington Northern & Santa Fe Railway, Wescon Products, Spirit, and Flight Safety International. Hotel does not allow pets, trained/certified service animals exempt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Wichita East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Wichita East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.