We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel at Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel at Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 East First Street, Wichita, KS 67202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel is the perfect Boutique Hotel. Situated within steps of restaurants and fun bars. Staff was accommodating, hotel very pretty, and quiet with big, clean room and bathroom. Also, a little kitchenette, if you need one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    60
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
68
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel was clean, got put on first floor very noisy from outside bars. It was disappointing.Bed was not that great, No ice makers, poor concierge service. They should offer upgrade or make clear that price was for first floor and could be noisy. There was great people and bars and restaurants to go to but asked random people on street for best info. There is a trolly that looked like it would be a good way to see downtown but info for it was bad also. I really would have liked better help.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOldtownWichita, Manager at Hotel at Old Town, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and helping us to know where improvements need to be made. Since Old Town is a popular entertainment district, weekends tend to have more street noise. To help our guests be as comfortable as possible, we offer many different room types and locations. I apologize these options were not offered to you at check in and hope that in the future you might give us a chance to make this up to you. We are happy to take room placement requests at the time the reservation is made and do our best to accommodate everyone. Old Town is full of great entertainment and eating establishments and I am saddened to hear we were not of more assistance in helping you navigate the area. Thank you again for your review; we will certainly work hard to improve our concierge services so that you might consider us again for your future visits to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Hotel at Old Town is a beautiful facility retrofitted into the old Keen Kutter factory. The hotel is very nicely decorated with historic pieces from Keen Kutter and other items of the time when Keen Kutter was in its prime. There is a grand main lobby and the rooms are modern and comfortable. Parking is convenient in either surface lots or a parking ramp next door. Breakfast is available for purchase for an added fee. The biggest drawback of this hotel was the noise level at night. The Hotel at Old Town sits in the “Old Town” entertainment district where there is live music on outdoor patios, large groups of people walking and shouting, and the noisiest of all: souped up muscle cars and motorcycles revving up and down the streets.

Wifi: Easy to connect and reliable speeds
Shower: good height and pressure (although there were just a couple of hooks in the bathroom for hanging towels. A couple of towel bars could have improved the bathroom set-up).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellinwood, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Lovely facility with large, well appointed rooms. The furnishings are of very high qulity. High ceilings are most impressive. Although in a very active neighborhood, rooms are quiet and peaceful. The center court is quite majestic and the industrial décor is appropriate and muted enough to flavor, but not over-power the ambience

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel at Old Town is in the heart of a great entertainment area of Wichita. Room 417 was spacious, clean and comfortable. Had a refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, sink and dishwasher but I didn't use any of these on my two night stay for business. Bathroom large, shower only. Lots of towels and nice toiletries. Water pressure is okay--still not a fan of low flow shower heads but am all for being green. Great breakfasts. Free parking next door to hotel in covered parking garage, or can park in outdoor lot also. Hotel has nice historic flavor with historic displays from its days as a Keen Kutter factory in the early 1900s. Has an adjoining conference center where the staff was absolutely fantastic. One thing to note, it is in an entertainment district and rooms on the south side of the building are subject to some noise from a street that can be busy on the weekends at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Fair notice, I am a total Marriott person and wound up here because the organization paid for it even though I could see a Marriott property (Courtyard) from my window. The hotel is a total remake of an ancient manufacturing venue (Keen Kutter) which was a total wreck before it became a hotel. Whoever bought the old building and turned it into a hotel did a GREAT job! Decorations were expertly done. Check-in was friendly and flawless. Beautiful first floor. Their was a jazz band pumping away in the restaurant area. Free covered parking totally rocks. The room was immaculate and still had the original brick walls of the original Keen Kutter building. We had a minor issue with one of the lamps not lighting, but that was resolved. Lots of great entertainment within easy walking/stumbling distance. Room decor was very nice and the bed was comfy. There was a little kitchen area that you would probably never use. Bathroom was pristine and I loved the lace shower curtains. Nice tile work. Very hard water, though. Free TV, of course. Didn't use the wifi. Good sized fridge but, again, why so large. The breakfast was OK but not quite as good as you would get at a Res Inn for free, but much better than Clarion brands with those horrible little egg disks. I would definitely stay here again and suggest that, if you are visiting Wichita, you give this place serious consideration. Oh, by the way, the charge per night was excellent. You get a great stay at a really reasonable rate. Do it!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had some business in Wichita and the client suggested I stay at the Hotel at Old Town. What a great choice. The décor is charming and really brings you back to another era. I was completely taken by surprise with a kitchenette in the room with a refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishes, etc. The room was huge along with an equally large bathroom. The hotel and room was spotless. My only complaint is that the heating/cooling unit was fairly loud. The staff were very helpful and made check in and check out easy as could be. The hotel reserved a cab to take me to the airport. I received a car from a car service instead (which is fine) but was not prepared for the price (about double that of the actual taxi ride from the airport to the hotel). I recommend that you ask about pricing so you are prepared. The Old Town area around the hotel is full of shops of restaurants and be sure to stop at the Museum of World Treasures. It is a gem of a museum and has a little bit of everything you could imagine. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at Old Town

Address: 830 East First Street, Wichita, KS 67202
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wichita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#8 Family Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town. All rooms have plush bedding, fully equipped kitchens, free wired and wireless internet, voice mail, oversized desk, and TV. Amenities include a business center, Cupboard, free parking garage, and fitness center. The Old Town location provides over 40 restaurants, shops and museums, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Wichita
Hotel Motel Wichita Kansas Old Town
At Old Town Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.