We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel at Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel at Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 East First Street, Wichita, KS 67202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was going to be overnighting in Wichita as part of my Thanksgiving Holiday travels and wanted to stay somewhere other than a "chain" hotel. The Hotel at Old Town provided everything I could have wished for.
The room was large clean, comfortable, quiet, and appointed with everything a traveler might need. The hotel is also located in the center of an area in Wichita that is succeeding in revitalization.
The best rating I can give: I'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 430 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notsluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What was good is the service was helpful, the place was clean and the rooms were tastefully done. The fitness room was clean but could benefit from some lighter weights. The pool is closed in November.
The live jazz music was set next to the bar and the bartender was loud; there was plenty of room to put the musicians away from that but the mgmt didn't seem to consider someone might actually want to listen to the music.
It was in a good location to walk to restaurants and just 2 blocks from the Museum of World Treasures so for a short stay, it is a good pick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I travel extensively and this is one of the bests hotels I have stayed at. It is a turn of the century hotel with tons of charm located in the heart of Old Town. Old Town has tons of restaurants and bars and there is a great convention center right across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the baconey on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a horrible experience at the Hotel at Old Town, which involved a meeting with the GM of the hotel. I waited about a month to hear back, and then my concerns were completely minimized and even misunderstood. To make matters worse, bullying tactics were used.

I cannot recommend this hotel because of the way things were handled (or not handled). If you believe in good customer service, give your hard-earned money to a company that deserves to stay in business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiddlywinkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
405 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful spot! Old town has really come to life! And this hotel is in the heart of it. Great rooms great service and near wonderful restaurants and nightlife. If you are coming to Wichita check this out. Kitchenette and laundry as well

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is located in an old tool factory/warehouse, which adds some charm. It is modern with all the facilities you would expect.
Staff were helpful and friendly, although they were in the middle of a software upgrade when we checked in and were tearing their hair out.
Parking is free in the car park next door. The top floors are reserved hotel guests - you use your room key for access.
Room was spacious and clean. Great HDTV and free wifi.
The hotel is decorated in an old style and 1930s music plays in the elevator etc. There is a large atrium with a lounge on the ground floor. Good fitness room upstairs and there is a guest laundry.
The bar had a nice feel and the bartender made up great cocktails.
The breakfast buffet was great. Plenty of choice and helpful staff.
Good location in Old Town. Although Old Town is a bit down market compared to Bricktown in Oklahoma City. Too many sports bars. But we would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great location for eating, museums, shopping. Very clean, rooms are spacious and comfy. Our room had a great view of the Museum of world treasures (go visit!!) Love the decor and the feeling of this hotel. Each room has a full kitchen which is great save money on breakfast. Will stay again!! Staff very friendly!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerbreadGrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview - Wichita
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#6 of 84 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#9 of 84 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at Old Town

Address: 830 East First Street, Wichita, KS 67202
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wichita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#8 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town. All rooms have plush bedding, fully equipped kitchens, free wired and wireless internet, voice mail, oversized desk, and TV. Amenities include a business center, Cupboard, free parking garage, and fitness center. The Old Town location provides over 40 restaurants, shops and museums, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Wichita
Hotel Motel Wichita Kansas Old Town
At Old Town Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing