We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same as last time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 West Kellogg Dr., Wichita, KS 67209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Dighton, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the same as last time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I had stayed here a couple of years ago and loved it so I booked again. It is close to the West Mall and lots of strip mall shopping is just a couple of minutes away. It is just off Kellogg so is easy to get to anywhere in the city. We go to visit family and play golf so we don't tend to spend a lot a time in our room. Check in was fast and the staff were very friendly. We were on the ground floor and I did wonder if it would be quiet as our room wasn't far from the pool but it was fine. The room was clean but had a slight musty smell to it but that could be due to the high humidity of Wichita. The bathroom has issues with tile coming away from the base of the wall but it was very clean if a little small. Two people in the bathroom at the same time would not have fit. Had a separate sink outside the bathroom which I thought was a bit strange but the bathroom only had one sink and like I said a little small so the outside one came in handy. Beds were clean and very comfortable. Have stayed before and I think the upper floor bedrooms have been updated. This one was a little dated. Breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles. Not what I was expecting but maybe next time I will read the 'Hotel Features' and realize it's not a hot breakfast as before. For the $ and proximity to shopping and restaurants I think it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
33
24
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. I had last stayed here many years ago when it was a Holiday Inn and also when it was between Hotel Chains.

The bed was very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and I would definately stay here again. They also have a comp breakfast that was ample....over all, I give it a good rating for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Nice hotel for the price. Others who complained above are definately wrong: 1 there are two elevators not one (one at each end) #2 there is no password for the internet (if you cannot get on its your own fault!) #3 staff is very helpful. The suites are definately a great deal for the room

Room Tip: ask the front desk where you want the room and wh
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Booked this La Quinta via Priceline. We bid on a 2-star and were "upgraded" to this PL 2/1/2 star rated property. Well, I doubt if PL has ever been here. Yes, this hotel has a good list of amenities, but the rooms and the service (especially housekeeping) are awful. Anyway, we know the area and didn't want to upgrade to this dump, but PL doesn't give you the chance to decline an "upgrade".

We were assigned a room with a "regular" sized bed...they called it a queen. This bed could not accommodate 2 normal sized adults comfortably. I got little sleep on night 1. Next day I asked for a room change. The manager told me I could "upgrade" to a double bed room (no kings available) for an extra charge. She told me the room we were first given was as required by their deal with Priceline. A downright LIE!

In addition to the sour note created by terrible customer service, our room had wet carpeting around the A/C which spread several feet. Window curtain was hanging down at one end. The room had a sink in the sleeping area...not in the bathroom. This sink had little or no shelving, so all toiletries had to be placed on the TV cabinet. Terrible design.

Housekeeping didn't clean up our coffee service area or leave soap, shampoo, cups for 2 days...they just made the bed and replaced the towels.

Breakfast was also poor. The served scrambled eggs each weekday (not on weekends) and they were COLD. Replenishment of supplies was very spotty.

There are a good number of 2-star hotels in the Wichita airport area that are a lot better than the La Quinta. Be careful with Priceline bidding because if you bid 2-star in this area you're likely to get "upgraded" to this 1-star establishment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeenta, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Price Line Traveler,

I apologize for you stay at my Hotel in April..That is not the typical experience here.We needed to upgrade you to a more comfortable room when the room assigned to you was not acceptable MY Fault!!! I would appreciate another opportunity to serve your lodging needs when your back in Wichita!!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

the first room they offered the air condition-heater was so noisy We could not stand it
the second room was better but the two sinks for getting ready was so old fashioned
We add troubles with the internet and nobody at the counter could help, good thing I had good notions about computers and that I guessed the name and code so we could get it
But every time we wanted to go back on it it was so long and add to do the complete process again.
I went in front to go and print my boarding pass, and the printer was flashing DRUM
so went to th teller and see said it was the paper and she came and then said "I don't know what they mean by DRUM". Again I used some of my experience with printers and was able to print my boarding passes.

They only thing good abour the experience was the KING size bed... it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

I recently stayed at the La Quinta Airport in Wichita after having endured the stay a year ago. All I can really say is WOW! I am really impressed by the changes that occured in that year. The rooms have been refurbished and are in excellent condition. The beds and flat scrren, wall-mounted TV's are a considerable step up from where the hotel stood in June of 2009.
The hotel has a number of amenities including a nice exercise room, indoor pool, laundry facilities and two computers for guest use in the business area.
The hotel staff is EXTREMELY helpful. the complementary breakfast is good and the staff ensures that they don't run out of the choices most often made by the guests.
I have two minor knocks on the place. The first is one that the hotel isn't going to be able to solve. You HAVE to WANT to get to the hotel. Heading west bound on US54/ 400 (also known to locals as Kellogg Street) you have to exit on Dugan Road, go up to the stoplight, make a U-turn and head back to the hotel. It is mildly inconvenient, but not a deal breaker.
The second minor gripe is that there are five floors but only one elevator which is located some distance from the front desk. The entrance to the elevator is rather narrow and you basically have to take turns coming out and getting into the elevator when people are changing positions.
My "tip" for guests traveling with children- go ahead and opt for one of the suites instead of a double occupancy room.. While one bed would end up being the fold out couch, there are two TV's and two bathrooms, complete with tub and showers in the suite. This makes it easy for people to get ready before heading out to hit the sights. It also allows the kids to watch their preferred programs while the parents can watch something else in the other room.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orting, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I give them credit for trying to remodel an older building, as it isn't "bad." They just didn't do well with the small things.

The TV's are AWFUL! I think it's as old as me...

The days of the windows 4 feet off the ground is long gone, it would have been nice to see that fixed up.

So, it was just "eh"!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport

Address: 5500 West Kellogg Dr., Wichita, KS 67209
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#19 Family Hotel in Wichita
#27 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located and newly renovated, La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita is just two miles from the Wichita Mid-Continent Airport and minutes from downtown, and area business, attractions, shopping and dining. Our 24/7 complimentary shuttle services areas within a three-mile radius of the hotel. While here, seal the deal in either of our 4 meeting rooms, stay connected with our full business center, pump it up in our fully-equipped fitness center, then go for a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, or mellow your senses in the bubbling Jacuzzi. In addition to free high-speed Internet access, each comfortable guest room features a microwave oven, refrigerator, recliner, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron with ironing board and other convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport Hotel Wichita
La Quinta Inn And Suites Wichita Airport
La Quinta Wichita
Wichita La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.