We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so pet friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 South Florence, I-235 & US 54, Wichita, KS 67209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
FORT COLLINS
1 review
“Not so pet friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Anyone traveling with animals should definitely skip this place. Turns out they have 2, count 'em TWO, rooms and only allow one dog under thirty pounds in those rooms.Kind of like advertising that you have a pool but it's actually only filled and usable on the 4th of July. As were were staying there for 5 days for the National Rabbit and Guinea Pig show in Wichita this caused us quite a few problems. Our guinea pigs would not have barked at the neighbors, peed and pooped on the floor, nor slept on the bed as I'm sure most 30 pound dogs do. A simple explanation of what they considered "pet friendly" on their website would have saved me a lot of grief by staying elsewhere. There was the 1.5 hour screaming couple fight outside the first night we were there, the power washing the building outside our door for 30 minutes one evening and the cigarette smoke stench every time you walked in the room to complete the experience. You could barely get 2 words out of the desk staff either upon arrival or check out. As long as you wanted a waffle for breakfast you were in luck. There wasn't much else available. One morning I got the last little bit of coffee from the pot and no backup pot was immediately available. What there was of that was cold. Fortunately we didn't have to spend much time there.

Moral of the story, if you book online you have to still call them up and see what their policies are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwichitawest, Webmaster at Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Days Inn Wichita and your detailed review.

Please note that we have investigated the issue already and the needful has been done.

We understand our guests and what they look for and take their reviews seriously for improvement.

Visit us again and check our hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    27
    11
    15
See reviews for
45
15
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'm afraid we can't comment on the quality or the comfort of the room.

Fully a week before our planned arrival, we made a reservation for a king room, noting that under hotel amenities it clearly stated "Pets allowed.". Under comments, we noted that our dog would be traveling with us. Even as we speak, I am looking at our CONFIRMED RESERVATION.

Since Wichita is fully 1,500 miles from home, rest assured that more than two days before our arrival we were already a goodly distance from home,

We arrived on our planned schedule to be told that they had no room for us. Why in fact they had very thoughtfully called and left messages at our home two days before (or at least so they say) stating that despite our reservation we would have no room. Can't prove one way or the other that they called us, because (guess what) we were already traveling. Apparently a foreign concept to this motel management.

We had been home for 4-5 days after making and receiving conformation of our reservation.
Apparently they couldn't possibly tell us about the problem during this time.

So they tell us they have no room. Yet they do indeed have a king room, but not for us, traveling with a dog (the one I had mentioned in making the reservation). The desk clerk even called the manager who confirmed (insisted) we could not have that room.

Then they asked how much the dog weighed. At which point we were advised we could not have stayed there under any circumstances since they have a 20 pound limit! Say what??! That's not a dog, that's a cat. Or a large rat.

This place can take a flying leap. Leaves us wondering about future stays at Days Inn, to be sure. We have to wonder which side of this mess that the corporate management sides with.

Room Tip: If you want to be treated like a valued customer, go somewhere else, anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwichitawest, Webmaster at Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Days Inn, Wichita.

We have noted your review and observations.

Our apologies for all the inconvenience caused howsoever.

We have investigated the issue of pert friendly room availability.

It has been ensured that such confusion is never caused again.

Please consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we arrived early and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate us. the room was very clean and the staff gets a 5 star rating on their friendliness and their willingness to be of service. the location of the hotel was great close to shopping and all kinds of restaurants. we will definately stay there again.

tmd

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff was very friendly, and the room was more than suitable for my needs. I had a 1 king bedroom. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, and overall, the room was pretty clean. It seems like the hotel is being renovated, so there is some noise associated with that, but it isn't enough to ruin a stay. Very pleased; I'll most likely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The front desk staff was very customer service oriented. The accomodations were great for the price. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, and everything functioned well. They also had a nice expanded continental breakfast and newspaper-very nice touch. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing stay at a very fair price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport

Address: 550 South Florence, I-235 & US 54, Wichita, KS 67209
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your Wichita vacation at Days Inn Wichita West Near Airport hotel near McConnell Air Force Base. With access to Highway 54-400 and Highway 235, our Wichita, KS, hotel offers convenience and reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wichita
Wichita Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Wichita West-Near Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.