We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, crap service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Deli Catering & Imprtd

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Byblos Deli Catering & Imprtd
3088 W 13th St N, Wichita, KS 67203
(316) 943-3999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 915 Restaurants in Wichita
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, crap service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've gone here for several years now, and service has always been mediocre, but it has really gone downhill. The last two times I have gone there, I was given chipped dishes. The waitress said none of the unbroken ones were clean in the back. Well, wash them, honey! I am usually the only person in the place, but there are always at least 2-3 tables that remain full of dirty dishes. This last time I was given the last grape leaves they had, which were burned to a cinder. I won't be back. I prefer their food to any other Med restaurant in town (when it's not burned, anyway), but that is too many strikes against them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good authentic food, very poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The food at Byblos is and has always been excellent, traditional Lebanese favorite foods prepared by the owner and chef. Be prepared to wait: for your table to be cleaned from the group that ate there before you, for the waitress to not listen to what you say even though you are ordering 'the special' because she is finally doing you a favor by clearing off the table - then you can tell her you want the special, wait to pay, for many minutes, 10, 20, some people just leave, I have seen this.

The owner is very friendly and interested in your stories, and cooks well, however, upon my last and final visit, I heard the microwave door slamming over and over, maybe to heat up the daily special, not sure, but hearing the door and the characteristic beeping of the microwave, it just might be that machine heating my food, no thanks to that.

It's just too bad great and authentic food has to be treated this way and a shame better wait staff doesn't work there. The one blond-headed waitress has been there for a number of years, seems like she has everything figured out and is fine with seeing 5 people lined up waiting to pay, doesn't think she should call some to the front to take the money.

After last visit, we won't go back, can't afford a two-hour lunch with most of the time spent waiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beware of using gift certificate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Humus was the best and service consisted of a single wait person. The cook is also the cashier, so be patient while waiting to pay your bill. Includes a small store of cooking supplies.
We had received a gift certificate from friends and when trying to use it the cook/cashier insisted it was not valid because it was more than 90 days old.
CAVEAT--Wichita has many other Mediterrean restaurants that serve excellent food with efficient service and honor their gift certificates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mediterranean food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I first tried this restaurant on a recommendation of a family friend. We have moved away from Wichita so I dont get to eat there as much as I would like, we do however try and stop when in town. The tabolli is very good so is the garlic salad. Also you cant go wrong with any of the main courses. Also if you like humas you need to get some here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty authentic Lebanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I first stumbled across this humble joint since it was next to a laundry mat. It is easy to drive by and not see it. I am glad the washing machine broke which led me to the tastiest middle eastern food and mini market. I LOVE the grape leaves. So tart with lemon juice that no one else in the area makes as well. The chicken swarma has the perfect seasoning on it. The hummus has the hint of lemon I love also. The raspberry tea hits the spot. Sometimes the service is a bit slow but the owner is so nice and friendly and helpful. Its a definite place to hit in Wichita.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byblos Deli Catering & Imprtd also viewed

 

Been to Byblos Deli Catering & Imprtd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Deli Catering & Imprtd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.