We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for fun or business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
1413 N Waterfront Pkwy, Wichita, KS 67206-6600
316-634-2230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 882 restaurants in Wichita
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for fun or business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I like good Mexican food, which can be tricky. We have found this to be the best place in Wichita. The fajitas are off the hook!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    48
    23
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Enjoyed a quick evening dinner. Promptly seated and served. Service and good were both very good and reasonably priced.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite hometown restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We eat at Abuelo's at least once a week. The food is always hot, tasty, and served in ample portions. Service is consistently good, with most servers being long time employees. Always a smile from the hostesses, fresh chips and a new salsa trio. The tea is one of our favorite blends. One of my favorite dishes is the soup and salad combo. Chicken tortilla soup and a small taco salad are plenty for me - my husband goes for burritos, tacos, enchiladas and papas con chile. It's the one restaurant we really miss when we're traveling!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“For a fancier venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our extended family loves Mexican food and we're never disappointed at Abuelo's. Chips and salsa are always good and I love the Papas con chile.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just stopped in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been here many times, sometimes the experience is better then others but this time was very good. Our bartender and server were funny and were quick to serve our needs. I came in for the Sangria Swirl, along with the chips which are a light, thin and crispy along with some of their nice salsas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.