We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hometown restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
1413 N Waterfront Pkwy, Wichita, KS 67206-6600
316-634-2230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 887 Restaurants in Wichita
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Abuelo's invites you to experience the incredible flavors of Mexico, combining homemade cooking with rich flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine.
Wichita
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite hometown restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We eat at Abuelo's at least once a week. The food is always hot, tasty, and served in ample portions. Service is consistently good, with most servers being long time employees. Always a smile from the hostesses, fresh chips and a new salsa trio. The tea is one of our favorite blends. One of my favorite dishes is the soup and salad combo. Chicken tortilla soup and a small taco salad are plenty for me - my husband goes for burritos, tacos, enchiladas and papas con chile. It's the one restaurant we really miss when we're traveling!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“For a fancier venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our extended family loves Mexican food and we're never disappointed at Abuelo's. Chips and salsa are always good and I love the Papas con chile.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just stopped in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been here many times, sometimes the experience is better then others but this time was very good. Our bartender and server were funny and were quick to serve our needs. I came in for the Sangria Swirl, along with the chips which are a light, thin and crispy along with some of their nice salsas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Girls night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The girls decided to go out to dinner for a friend's birthday dinner and we all had the margarita with the tiny Corona upside down inside of it. SO TASTY! We all loved the food as well, which is always expected. I don't think I've ever been here and the food wasn't good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a nice family dinner here while visiting Wichita. It has the feel of a family-run restaurant rather than a chain. The portions were huge--so watch out! The food is so tasty you many want to finish your plate rather that use prudently using a doggy bag. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly and our meal came out quickly making this an option for families with small children (or our grandchildren). The Sonora was nicely prepared and the tamale was especially good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.