We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites at the Waterfront is always a stellar experience -- we prefer not to stay anyplace else in Wichita.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Wichita
Dodge City, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Homewood Suites at the Waterfront is always a stellar experience -- we prefer not to stay anyplace else in Wichita.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The room, the bed, the food, the experience are always excellent. The hotel is quiet, clean, welcoming and comfortable. We ALWAYS choose Homewood Suites at the Waterfront when we are in Wichita. There are wonderful restaurants within walking distance, and the general location of the hotel works for everything we need to do.

Room Tip: The presidential suites are wonderful, but every one of the other rooms we've stayed in has been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our property. We are so honored to be your hotel of choice when in Wichita. I have shared your great comments with our whole team. Hopefully during your next stay you will get to experience our Presidential Suites since they have been ugpraded. With Valentines Day approaching we do have some awesome specials running. Hopefully we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    52
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
100
21
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Clean, friendly beautifully decorated, and the food served is delicious. We stayed here for the 2nd year in a row checking in on Thanksgiving night. When we asked where there was a restaurant open, they quickly gave us the information, but then invited us to stay for drinks and Thanksgiving dinner "on the house". What a wonderful evening we had - including borrowing a free DVD movie from their extensive library to watch in our room. This place is several miles off of the freeway, but well worth the drive - trust me. We make it a point to stay her on every trip we take through the area. We talked with a couple who are staying there for 3 months because it's like a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
THank you for taking the time to post this great review of your stay! We are so pleased to hear your choose our hotel to stay at during your trips to Wichita. When away from home, having the Dinner and Drinks buffett included in your rate is a nice amenity and makes it feel more at home. We also have the complimentary passes to the YMCA, which is great during the summer to enjoy thier outdoor waterpark. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Wichita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at Homewood several times, and I've always chosen the "presidential suites," which have a jacuzzi tub. During my last stay, I noticed someone had their dog there and was thrilled, since I sometimes need to travel with my pet. When I called to reserve a room for my next trip with my VERY well-travelled Golden mix, I of course requested the suite I usually stay in. But no, they said, pets aren't allowed in the jacuzzi suites. So I chose to stay somewhere else, and have not been back.

I think only allowing pets in certain rooms is ridiculous. Either you are a "pet-friendly" hotel or you aren't. Yes, the jacuzzi suites have nicer bedding than the regular suites, but that's why I have a dog bed. And dog hair WILL vacuum, quite nicely in fact. And Rascal has stayed at properties MUCH nicer than the Homewood Suites: The Joule in Dallas and the Hotel Monaco in Denver are two examples. ALL of their rooms are "pet friendly." In my opinion, Homewood is Wichita's second-nicest hotel. The grounds are lovely, the hotel is well maintained and I love the Wellness Suite. But I won't stay there again because of their pet policy. I always look for rooms with a jacuzzi or soaking tub when I travel, so a "regular" room isn't an option for me. As far as I'm concerned, they are not a pet friendly hotel at all and it's silly to advertise as such. It's like saying you allow people to bring their kids, but only if they stay in your less expensive rooms. They are talking out of both sides of their mouth and they simply can't have it both ways. Sorry Homewood, but you've lost a customer. I'll stay at the Ambassador, the new hotel in town and hands-down the most luxurious. And they allow pets. Anywhere.

Room Tip: The Wellness Suite is gorgeous. IF you don't take your dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. Your feedback is a crucial tool we use in order to improve our customer service. As you mentioned, we are a very pet friendly hotel. We understand that pets are just as part of the family as children are and we want them to feel welcome when you travel. We also understand that some guests may not be as pet-friendly as we are. To ensure that all our guests feel at home while being away from home, we do have certain suites that are pet friendly with our normal pet policies of. You are a valued memeber to not only hilton but our hotel specifically. There are certain situations that we do make exceptions for. In the past, we have had a larger refunable deposit to accomodate your loved ones in our Presidential Suites. I would love to speak with you about this further. We do want to ensure we are your choice hotel while in Wichita. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a trip with an adult daughter and two young grandchildren. The property was immaculate, the staff was wonderful, and the amenities were greater than I expected. Even the stair wells and elevator smelled fresh and clean. The location is an advantage as well. This is on our "keeper" list!

Room Tip: If travelling with small children, request a room at the end of the corridor, as the kids' noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. It is good to hear that your had a great visit. We have many fun things to do with children on our Lakeside Landing area. Especially when traveling, we understand they have a lot of energy to burn. Hopefully they got to take advantage of our 6 hole putting green, sports court area and indoor swimming pool and hot tub. We look fowarad to seeing you again on your next weekend get-away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great everything. Great location (nice restaurants a very short walk). Great rooms. Spectacular weekend breakfast. Slept great, watched football on the huge bedroom TV while kids watched cartoons in the main room. No complaints or criticisms whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the great response about our hotel from your past stay. We are glad you found our One-Bedroom Suites to be accomodating for you and your family. It is nice to have that seperating wall and seperate TVs in both rooms. For even more space, we also have our Two-Bedroom Suites that have one suite with a king bed and one room with 2 queen beds, then they join in the middle with a living area and kitchene(like a 2 bedroom apartment). We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel many times. It raises the bar so effectively that any other Homewood Suites will have to work hard to compete. The location, food, service, decor and ambiance are superior as are the meeting facilities. I highly recommend this property for business or pleasure.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are honored by your words of recommendation for our property. Our goal is to provide more than just the "typical night's stay" you would find at other hotels. We are so pleased you found that here! With the amenities Homewood Suites around the country offer, such as Complimentary Suite Start Breakfast Buffet daily and Dinner and Drinks Mon-Thurs, Complimentary DVD Checkout and all of our suites include fully equiped kitchens; And our personal touches, such as Wine Tastings monthly, HHonors VIP nights, .6 mile Lakeside walking path and exceptional customer service, we find many of our guests call us thier home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We normally do not spend hotel nights in Wichita as we have family member living there and we stay with them. However we received a complementary one night stay and decided to take advantage of it. We were pleasantly surprised with the room and all the amenities. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast buffet was the best that we have seen with enough choices to please anyone. We regretted that we were not there on a weekday to take advantage of the evening meal as well. Our only disappointment was not finding a DVD that we wanted to see in their collection as we had already watched many of the movies. We will be on the lookout for other Homewood Suites when we travel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking advantage of our Night of Serenity give-away and coming to stay with us on your trip to Wichita. We are glad we were able to make your trip away from home relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you for letting me know you were unable to find the DVD you were looking for in our collection. They do get rented out fast. We do update our collection every month with 2 new arrivals. WHen you make your next reservation, if you let us know the movie you are looking for we would be happy to pre-reserve it to ensure we have it on hand for you. We look foward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your feedback. It is a crucial tool to help us improve our customer service and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
6.9 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview - Wichita
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#7 of 84 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#6 of 84 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 84 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Eastgate Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Address: 1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wichita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#2 Family Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exquisitely-appointed accommodations among Wichita hotels at the Homewood Suites by Hilton at The Waterfront. Guests may choose from a wide array of options at the complimentary daily expanded breakfast buffet and enjoy complimentary dinner and drinks Monday through Thursday. Enjoy wine tastings and live jazz, offered onsite, or take a stroll to the shops and restaurants nearby at the Waterfront retail and dining complex. This lakeside property features a range of residential-style or Presidential suites with thoughtful amenities, including full kitchens, living areas, flat screen HDTVs and executive workstations. Reserve your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton @ The Waterfront Hotel Wichita
Homewood Suites Wichita
Homewood Wichita
Hilton Wichita
Wichita Homewood Suites
Wichita Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.