We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Wichita
spain
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on our 9 state road trip. This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in, easy to find , easy to park. Very helpful and pleasant staff through out the hotel. We had a larger suite which was very nice and clean as was the whole hotel. Good pool and laundry room.
We had the complimentary dinner on of our nights and it was very good, wine on both nights for two hours if you want it served in glasses.
Breakfast was a typical Hilton affair and when you have been in a hotel room for 35 days straight any breakfast choice gets boring. We have no complaints on the breakfast choices.
The area of the hotel is new and the water setting is very nice.

I wish all of the Hiltons were to this standard, well done to the management and staff.

Room Tip: extra size king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. Even from the title of your review, it shows future guests who have not visted us what a great experience you had. We know it can be hard to be a road warrior like yourself. We appreicate you choosing our hotel to stay at. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our Dinner and Drinks as well as Suite Start Breakfast Buffet during your stay. We hope you were able to enjoy some of our other amenties while you were here, such as our Lakeside Landing Patio area or Complimentary DVD selections. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wichita. If you need any assistance with reservations please contact Justine.Ratcliffe@hilton.com. Thank you again for being a loyal guest to not only Hilton, but our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    47
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
145
86
19
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the first review I've ever written, but I just HAVE to write it. My husband and I received a complimentary one night stay at the Homewood Suites by HIlton on the Waterfront, so we took a quick trip to Wichita for New Year's Eve. It was WONDERFUL! Everybody was so friendly...from the front desk to the gals cleaning the rooms to the gals fixing the breakfast. Since it was New Year's Eve, it was obvious they had special events which were very nice. However, what impressed me the most was how comfortable and quaint everything was. I felt like I was in somebody's home. The front lobby was inviting enough to just sit and visit. The lounge area was so comfy, too. It had a couch, chairs, and was decorated for Christmas...it looked just like a family room in a private home. They even had DVD's we could borrow and watch - GREAT SELECTION, too! Our room was equally as nice. The bed felt like we were sleeping on a cloud -- SERIOUSLY! Since we had received a complimentary nights stay, I thought perhaps it was a new hotel, but we were told it's over six years old. It was snowy and cold, so we couldn't sit outside, but we decided we wanted to return sometime when we could sit out back and enjoy the outdoors. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. We know you lead a busy life and really appreciate you taking the time to let others know the great experience you received during your stay. We hope you got to take advantage of the Jazz band we had playing during New Years Eve. We do have them play one night a week, every week. During your next stay, hopefully it will be a little warmer for you to enjoy our lakeside landing area. There is a gazebo with comfortable seating, 2 BBQ grills, a .6 mile walking path and our Lakeside Landing Bar available to you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Everthing from the staff,Lawndscape,hotel,rooms was really awesome. I travel alot each year and stay in alot of different hotels, but after 3 1/2 months of stays at 2 different Homewood Suites, from now on I will try and locate one of these hotels in the area, The stay at the WaterFront was truly awesome and everyhting and everybody there made my stay great. Thank you all for makin my home away from home as plesant as possible

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our property. It was our pleasure to have you at our hotel for the lenth of time you were able to stay. You became like family. We were even able to set up the internet connection to be continuous for you during your next stay like you requested. Your ornament will hang on our Family Christmas Tree in our Walker Library for years to come. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were only passing through and just needed a room for the night, but I found myself wishing we had more time! From the point we turned into the Waterfront complex, we could tell we were in for a treat. Beautiful hotel. Beautiful lobby. Beautiful room...

We are a family of 5. Our room had a nice size living area with a pull-out sofa, work table (with PLENTY of outlets for all of our electronic devices!), and a nice TV with a DVD player (we rented a DVD from the lobby - good selection to choose from for adults and kids). The kitchen area was small but very adequate while charming and well stocked with a full-sized fridge, a 2 burner stove, dishwasher, microwave, and all the dishes/utensils you could need. As Hhonors members, they provided us with a few extra treats in the room (Milano cookies and bottled water). There was a note welcoming us to the room, and although it had the wrong name on it, we won't hold that against them. :)

The bedroom was quite impressive… two queen size beds with AMPLE room all around. It had another nice sized TV and DVD player and an armchair by the window. The furnishings/decor is absolutely beautiful... very cozy and warm. The beds are very comfortable with a variety of pillows to choose from and more blankets/linens in the closet. Ironing board and iron, hair dryer,

We peeked at the pool area (didn't have time to utilize it) and it is very nice and clean. Would've loved to have had the time to enjoy it. The bathrooms in the lobby (or "loos" as their signs from London depict) were very clean and lovely.

The free breakfast in the morning was well done. Scrambled eggs, sausage patties, potatoes & onions, biscuits & gravy, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, do-it-yourself waffles with toppings, pastries… plenty to satisfy your morning hunger. The dining area was lavishly decorated for Christmas - stunning.

This hotel certainly put some money into their decor, and it shows. I would be VERY comfortable there for an extended stay. We come through Wichita often during our travelling and we will definitely remember this hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the great response you posted about our hotel. We are glad you were able to enojoy many of the amenities we have to offer and see our beautiful Christmas decor. During the holiday season we also offer carriage ride in the Waterfront area complimentary. We give out hot chocolate and take photos to remember your special occasion. Hopefully next time you come you are able to enjoy this added amenity. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Wichita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really like this hotel nice rooms will all amenities. Staff is super! Breakfast spread is good. My only complaint is the super tiny work out room w no free weights!! They will give you a pass to the YMCA which is about a 5 min drive. They Y is pretty nice actually - but that's another review.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the review you posted on Nov. 12th. We were able to review your response about our fitness center that is stocked with top of the line Pre-Cor Equipment . We apologize the space is more limited than other hotels you may have visited. We are glad to hear you were told about our YMCA passes for an alternate option for your work-out routine. We also have other great amenities like our .6 mile walking/jogging path behind our hotel and yoga mats and options for In-Room work outs. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate your business! If you have any other questions or there is anything I can assist you with, please feel free to email me at Justine.Ratcliffe@hilton.com or call (316)260-8844.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

By far the nicest Homewood I have ever stayed in. Service and accomodations were all outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Missed the evening reception and dinner but the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review from your past stay with us. Customer service and quality of amenities is something we take very seriously. With the weather cooling off, we hope you were able to enjoy a cup of Hot Chocolate from our pantry area while you were here. We have officially put up our holiday decorations. Hopefully you can come back and join us during the holiday season. This year we have started a tradition for each guest to sign an ornament to be displayed for many years to come. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate your business. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was a fantastic surprise. We were traveling cross country with our elderly golden retriever and were delighted beyond our expectations with this exceptional hotel. The front desk personnel were simply wonderful. The property bordered a small lake and included an artificial putting green. The suite was absolutely immaculate. I can't say enough for this high quality property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you and your beloved golden retreiver stay with us. We are a very pet friendly hotel. We hope you enjoyed the "goodie bag" we had prepared for your golden retreiver as well as the pet certificate he/she received upon checkout. For a small fee, your beloved pet can enjoy all the great things you get to enjoy during your travels. We look forward to seeing both again during your next trip to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Address: 1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wichita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#1 Family Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exquisitely-appointed accommodations among Wichita hotels at the Homewood Suites by Hilton at The Waterfront. Guests may choose from a wide array of options at the complimentary daily expanded breakfast buffet and enjoy complimentary dinner and drinks Monday through Thursday. Enjoy wine tastings and live jazz, offered onsite, or take a stroll to the shops and restaurants nearby at the Waterfront retail and dining complex. This lakeside property features a range of residential-style or Presidential suites with thoughtful amenities, including full kitchens, living areas, flat screen HDTVs and executive workstations. Reserve your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton @ The Waterfront Hotel Wichita
Homewood Suites Wichita
Homewood Wichita
Hilton Wichita
Wichita Homewood Suites
Wichita Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.