We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option for business travel in Wichita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase Rate!
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best option for business travel in Wichita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really like this hotel nice rooms will all amenities. Staff is super! Breakfast spread is good. My only complaint is the super tiny work out room w no free weights!! They will give you a pass to the YMCA which is about a 5 min drive. They Y is pretty nice actually - but that's another review.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the review you posted on Nov. 12th. We were able to review your response about our fitness center that is stocked with top of the line Pre-Cor Equipment . We apologize the space is more limited than other hotels you may have visited. We are glad to hear you were told about our YMCA passes for an alternate option for your work-out routine. We also have other great amenities like our .6 mile walking/jogging path behind our hotel and yoga mats and options for In-Room work outs. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate your business! If you have any other questions or there is anything I can assist you with, please feel free to email me at Justine.Ratcliffe@hilton.com or call (316)260-8844.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
60
18
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

By far the nicest Homewood I have ever stayed in. Service and accomodations were all outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Missed the evening reception and dinner but the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review from your past stay with us. Customer service and quality of amenities is something we take very seriously. With the weather cooling off, we hope you were able to enjoy a cup of Hot Chocolate from our pantry area while you were here. We have officially put up our holiday decorations. Hopefully you can come back and join us during the holiday season. This year we have started a tradition for each guest to sign an ornament to be displayed for many years to come. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate your business. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was a fantastic surprise. We were traveling cross country with our elderly golden retriever and were delighted beyond our expectations with this exceptional hotel. The front desk personnel were simply wonderful. The property bordered a small lake and included an artificial putting green. The suite was absolutely immaculate. I can't say enough for this high quality property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you and your beloved golden retreiver stay with us. We are a very pet friendly hotel. We hope you enjoyed the "goodie bag" we had prepared for your golden retreiver as well as the pet certificate he/she received upon checkout. For a small fee, your beloved pet can enjoy all the great things you get to enjoy during your travels. We look forward to seeing both again during your next trip to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I travel quite a bit for work, and this is my favorite hotel to stay at. There are times when I wish that I could actually stay longer (on a business trip, no less). The staff is absolutely fantastic - an A++ in customer service. The rooms have always been bright and clean and I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Presidential suite during my last visit - exquisite. The grounds are spectacular and the walking trail that surrounds the hotel is great for an evening or morning run. I usually take clients out for dinner, but the breakfast buffet was nicely presented with a large variety to choose from. Most important to me (for breakfast), they had tasty fresh brewed iced tea in the morning. Aces all around. I'd rank it higher, if it was possible.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review of our property. We know traveling can be rough and our goal is to make your stays as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. I'm so glad to hear you let us do the work for you of preparing breakfast and our team was able to upgrade you to one of our 5 designer themed Presidential Suites. As the season gets colder and the walking path gets less popular due to the change in tempurature, we also have complimentary passes to the YMCA for our guests to utilize. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Wichita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our group of approximately 40 people have met at this venue a couple of times for our bi-annual meeting. The hotel is nicely decorated, spatious, and has incredibly friendly and well-trained staff. The venue isn't too large, so it gives a nice, initmate feel. The way it's decorated, it's almost as if we're in someone's (very large) home, and not a sterile conference room. This venue has had the same staff since we started coming, and it's nice to work with the same people who understand our group's needs. Our members love the venue since there is a fantastic breakfast and a hot dinner provided in the room rates. There is a great dining room with lots of places for our group to meet and visit. The sleeping rooms are also very nice. There is a living room and bedroom. There are TVs in each room with a DVD player. There is a library off of the lobby where you can get DVDs to watch. My hubby was frustrated with the television because every time you change the channel, you have to wait a whole second before the picture catches up (he's a little spoiled with our home television... ha). On this visit, the maid service somehow missed our room. When I returned to my room and realized that we hadn't had any maid service, I went to the front desk to let them know. The maids had already left for the day, but when we returned from dinner, our trash had been removed, our towels had been exchanged, and there was a gift bag with bottles of water, chips and cookies and a note from the front desk staff... very sweet and unexpected. We were lucky enough to have beautiful fall weather while we were here, and most of our group took advantage of the lovely back patio area. It's nicely landscaped, lots of places to sit and visit, including a gazebo. The flower pots were overflowing with brightly-colored petunias, there is a great view of the man-made pond and fountain, and the trees are wrapped in tiny white lights. It made for a nice, relaxing environment to network with our members.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. We are glad you were able to mention that we do have many of the same staff that has been at the property since the hotel opened, myself included. As you mentioned, it is nice to be able to see the same faces and they are aware of your prefrences.

Many of our guests enjoy our 6 hole bi-level putting green or sports court during thier meeting breaks to allow them to get up and strech or team building exercises. We hope you got to enjoy our patio bar during the cooler fall weather or check-out a DVD from our large selection of DVDs.

We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Almost a perfect hotel. The good: Excellent hospitality from breakfast staff to dinner staff, they actually seem to care about the guest. Nice evening reception with food, wine, and beer.
They actually had a huge beer mug in my room upon check-in. I knew what that was for! Fill her up – your choice of Bud-Lite or Miller-Lite on tap from 5pm to 7pm, complimentary.

Rooms and overall hotel is clean and functional, and a great peaceful location away from noise – yet close enough to walk to P.F. Changs, Bonefish Grill, and other cool places.
Lovely view in the back of the hotel grounds, a putting green, open courtyard, and hay fields in the distance. Very peaceful, and even a walking track around the lake that is in the back.

The Bad: Shower curtain is hung way too low. Shower rod is at eye level, 6-feet up from bottom of the tub, too low!!. This means that the shower curtain hangs down into the tub, taking a slimy soap shower with you.
Engineering - Raise the shower rod so curtain isn’t dragging on bottom of tub. Can easily hear the people above you walking in their room – so ask for top floor.
Strangely enough – I had note on my door in the evening saying Engineering was alerted to a problem in my room relative to the living room window. Weird. I didn’t report anything. Wonder how they were alerted. Window looks fine.
Advised front desk to tell engineering to stay away – fix issues on their own time, not mine! No issue with the window anyway! Left me suspicious why they wanted in my room during the middle if the week.

With the complimentary and decent breakfast & dinner – the value for this hotel can’t be beat. Stay here when in Wichita!!

Room Tip: ask for top floor, else hear foot steps from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your past stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your shower curtain hanging lower than normal. We were able to correct the challenge immediatly.

The hotel grounds and suite maintenance is very important to us.Our engineering department does want to ensure your suite in the best condition possible for you. I can assure you we take safety and security very seriously. We would not want to disturb you during your stay if it not needed. Sometimes our housekeeping department might notice something while cleaning the suite and we want to get it correct as soon as possible for you. We do have cards we deliver to your suite to fill out and return to the front desk in order to judge the best time for our engineering to come if there is a challenge in your suite. If there is not a good time to enter, so you would not be disturbed, we are glad to wait.

We are truly value you as a guest and appreicate your business. We look forward to your next stay with us and will do everything we can to ensure your suite is in perfect condition before your arrival. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed two nights. One bedroom suite. Very clean. Beds were comfortable. Service was A plus from the front desk, housekeeping to the kitchen staff.
A terrific breakfast in the morning with lots of options. I wish though they had a decent Arabica strong coffee option. I ended up making the dreaded 20 min. Trip to Starbucks. (But--I have never known Hilton Hotels to exceed in the coffee or espresso dept. ) anyhow, it will be my go to hotel next visit to Wichita.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSCALLHOME, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the great review you have given our property. We are pleased to announce we do have many options other hotels may have for your coffee needs. We do offer a Robust coffee along with Regular and Decaf and multiple options and with your recommendation we now offer a Keurig machine with your choice of coffee to brew in our Suite Shop. We truly appreciate your feedback! We know traveling can be hard so we definitely want to do what we can to make your stays more enjoyable. We look foward to brewing you a cup of arabica coffee on your next trip to Wichita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Address: 1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wichita
#1 Family Hotel in Wichita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exquisitely-appointed accommodations among Wichita hotels at the Homewood Suites by Hilton at The Waterfront. Guests may choose from a wide array of options at the complimentary daily expanded breakfast buffet and enjoy complimentary dinner and drinks Monday through Thursday. Enjoy wine tastings and live jazz, offered onsite, or take a stroll to the shops and restaurants nearby at the Waterfront retail and dining complex. This lakeside property features a range of residential-style or Presidential suites with thoughtful amenities, including full kitchens, living areas, flat screen HDTVs and executive workstations. Reserve your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton @ The Waterfront Hotel Wichita
Homewood Suites Wichita
Homewood Wichita
Hilton Wichita
Wichita Homewood Suites
Wichita Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.